We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Texarkana, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights before a cruise. We loved the location. The hammocks in the shade were so wonderful. We were so relaxed and rested before we left for our cruise. This hotel is not new but well maintained. Very nice staff. Walking distance to eating places. Would certainly stay here again. Pool bar had variety of things you could order and it was all good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    565
    209
    81
    52
See reviews for
383
503
59
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East New Market, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for several nights when we first landed in Puerto Rico. It's a very short cab ride from the airport and 10 minutes by cab to Old San Juan. We didn't eat at any of the onsite restaurants because friends had recommended specific restaurants in Old SJ. The beach was one of the best on the island and we hit all areas except the extreme east coast. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This Courtyard is located conveniently close to the airport, and I love that the hotel is actually on the beach. Towels and beach chairs are provided free of charge! The hotel restaurants are reasonable, the rooms are fine, and the valet staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Friendly staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Beautiful beach. Lovely views from balcony. Excellent room service—arrived quickly and hot. Everything one expects from a Courtyard property, but more, and at reasonable prices. Hard to match the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, GA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and had a wonderful time! The casino was not very big and a little stingy on payouts (lol), but it was nice to have a place to go spend all of my money in the evening after a long day at the beach. The rooms were clean and staff was very nice. The buffet breakfast was not so great..just not a lot to choose from through the week, though the weekend buffet seems to be larger. The best part of the stay was the beautiful beach! The beach was great for swimming and the hammocks hanging between the palms were very relaxing! Though a lot of people had problems with the sand fleas in the area, for some reason we had no problems at this beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, I was concerned about the airport noise, but this did not bother me at all whether I was in my room or at the beach. The hotel has some abandoned, graffitied, and run-down properties nearby, which can make one not feel safe walking along the beach. However, it is just a few doors down from the Ritz-Carlton. The room was clean except the bathroom vanity. Room had blackout curtains and a beautiful view of the beach from the balcony. Lots of restaurants and a Walgreens within walking distance. Concierge was helpful, although not always available (sometime in the back or talking on her cell phone). Hotel has a fun atmosphere on the weekends with the live salsa music and dancing. I ate at one of the restuarants and the food was fine...nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Let me start by mentioning that I am a front office manager for a big hotel chain, I know that working in this industry its not easy however you can never compromise customer service.

When I first arrived at the front desk I was greeted by a female agent ; who was not welcoming at all . She apeared to be in a hurry or on bad mood. I arrived after 3.30 pm , she told me that the room was not ready , therefore she was going to keep my luggage and do a pre-check in , I mention that I had a baby that needed a diaper change, and she said that she could not do anything about it. I then decided to ask her if due to the inconvinience , if I could get an upgrade of a better room , and she said that I had to pay for it. After that I heard that some other guest received a complimentary upgrade because of the low occupancy. I was appalled by the attitude and rudeness of the front office agent. As a note to the F.O manager; if she did this to me I am sure she has done this before to other guests.

Since I had to go to the bathroom to change my child's diaper, after a long trip and my room was not ready, my mom went for a second time to the front desk. This time she was greeted by another agent , a very nice and courteous young man who after explaining the situation said that the girl that attended me the first time , was not supposed to say that .He apologized for her behaviour and inmediately found us a room.

The pools and the beach were very nice as well as the pool attendants were quick and courteous at all times .

However , our last day we went to the restaurant to have our daily buffet breakfast. We sat at a table , waiting for a waiter to serve us the drinks and no one came.

It is very disrespectful specially since some waiters went by us without even asking us if we needed somenthing. We decided to leave without having any breaksfast and complained to the host the situation to which she replied that the waiter that was supposed to take care of our table was on a break. This was by far the worst customer service I have ever seen in all my years of experience. At check out my mother; who was very annoyed by the situation ;explained our overall experience to Nancy the F.O supervisor, and she was very apolegetic and even called the restaurant , to let them know that what they did was an unnaceptable behaviour.

In the hospitality business there is nothing worse than a negative word of mouth, in this case there is nothing positive to say about some of the services of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the service issues that affected your stay. We take pride on managing a first class resort and delivering service that exceeds the industry norms. It was disheartening to learn that this was not the case during your stay. I will personally discuss your comments with Mr. Eduardo Rivera, our Front Office Manager, and Mr. Jesus Pagan, our Food and Beverage Director.

I hope that you will return to Puerto Rico and that we at the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort will have the opportunity of serving you again. We look forward to welcoming you back so that we may extend our hospitality to you under more pleasant circumstances.

If I can be of any future help, please do not hesitate to contact me at 787-388-3043 or send me an e-mail at jpadin@sjcourtyard.com.

Sincerely,

José C. Padín
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Courtyard Carolina
Marriott Carolina
Carolina Courtyard
Carolina Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.