We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolute best hotel in San Juan, P.R.!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The absolute best hotel in San Juan, P.R.!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed one night post-cruise. Wish we had stayed longer. Fabulous beach--best in S.J. with hotels. Chair/umbrella/towel service is very nice. Great pool. High service level from the front desk, restaurants, door staff & the management make this hotel a wonderful place for a vacation stay. Free WiFi throughout the hotel was an added bonus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially for first time in San Juan. Having stayed in the Condado area pre-cruise, we were able to compare. Our pick for best value would definitely be Courtyard Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, Carolina.

Room Tip: Marriott Rewards gave us an automatic upgrade & we were very happy with the side & partial b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    677
    244
    96
    57
See reviews for
473
614
72
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cecilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Me and the fam,"wife and 2daughters", stayed at this marriott from 3/30-4/6 2012. We frequenly visit PR at least once a year. This was our 1st time lodging at Isla Verde. This hotel was great! The staff, the food, the pool and of course the beach! Entertainment was there for the weekend but, we couldnt party all night due to our small children 3 & 7. So once the kids were asleep we would chill on the balcony sippin on Cuba libres and puffin on the local Rum cigars looking at the beach listening to the waves crash. Awesome! My awesome house keeper Carmen, always made sure we had what we needed. She told me about a town called Pinones, wich is right down the road from the hotel. Make a right out of the hotel and drive for about 5 miles. You'll come to the town and there is all types of local food!!! Coco frio too!! Awesome! Thanks Carmen!
The valet parking crew was friendly, honest and outstanding!! I rented a SUV for the trip. Traveling with small kids the vehicle was always packed. Those guys were always helpful!.. many thanks to Alexis!!
When I visit PR I always travel abroad the island, so being close to the highway was a plus.
There also was a resturant called Mi Casita down the street me and the fam went to for breakfast, really good! The coffee!! Awesome!!
We did have dinner and breakfast at the hotel. One night we had there steak special wich was GREAT!.. We also had There special Good Friday breakfast buffett....GOOD! By the pool we ordered the chicken tenders w/ fries and the cheesebuger sliders. Thos sliders were so good!!
They had cilantro and onions in them, Oh man!!! Good!! I did order the mofonga with steak one night "roomservice", delicious! The food is pricy...but all hotels are like that you know.
Thats the good part about renting a vehicle, you can go out and eat.
The only little bug I had about the hotel was that you can hear the planes flying out of the airport. But after a Cuba Libre's, you won't even notice them.
So, would I stay here again?...I have to say yes!!
PS, I found out that you cannot bring your own Rum and cokes poolside, but you can on the beach!!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hacienda heights
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our daughter had her wedding ceremony here and it was more than we could have imagined. Despite the rain and winds...plan B was just as beautiful. Michelle and her staff were amazing in the service they provide to the Bride and our guests. The property was clean and very chic.
We will keep the Courtyard by Mariott Isla Verde Beach Resort as the next place to stay and plan our event while in San Juan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a wonderful week here in April. I've never been at a hotel with a better outdoor layout. The patio, pool, and beach are woven together seamlessly, there is plenty of seating, from tables, couches, and beach chairs, and no matter where you sit, you get food and drink service. The young men on the beach are great, they set you up with lounge chairs, a table, and dig a deep hole for your umbrella. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room is standard, nothing fancy but very clean and nice. The more expensive "ocean front" room has a great view, but the balcony is a bit small, we didn't spend much time out there. But honestly, you have no need to do anything in your room here besides sleep. The grounds are lovely and welcoming, you will want to spend every minute outside. If you like it less crowded, I highly recommend going during the week. We left on Friday, and the place was getting a bit crowded. Of course, the weekend apparently is quite hopping, with lots of music and dancing, so if you like a bit of a party, it seems like the place to be!

Please ignore the reviews about the plane noise. It is not an issue, period! You hear the jets when you are outside, a couple an hour, and for a few seconds. You hear nothing in your room with the door closed. Oh, and a tip, it took us a while to read the door sign -- when the balcony door is open, the AC won't turn on. Environmental!

The area is a bit remote, but that makes for a great beach experience -- quiet and beautiful. You can walk to some nearby restaurants, and a Walgreens. We ate breakfast at the nearby Piu Bello, mainly because there is a "sister" Piu Bello in New York that is quite good. This place was bad. The food was tasteless, the restaurant was dirty, and service was awful. Not worth it.
If you want the best dinner around, though, take a taxi to Jose Enrique. It's located inland in a small house in a residential area. The menu changes nightly, the waiters bring it to you on dry erase boards. This was possibly the best meal both my boyfriend and I have ever eaten, from start to finish. The service was fantastic, also.

But I digress, this is a review of the hotel! Put simply, I rarely return to the same place, but will strongly consider coming back to the Isla Verde Marriott, and will recommend it far and wide!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just returned from a 7 night stay @ the Courtyard Marriot in Isla Verde with my Teenage Daughter and what a wonderful vacation it was.The staff are some of the most friendliest and helpful people I've ever interacted with,they will go out of the way for you during your stay.The restaraunts in the resort we're def overpriced and the food wasn't the greatest however that certianly didn't rain on our parade.There is a Grocery Store,Dennys,Chilis,Pizza Hut,Burger King,Taco Bell,Walgreens,Ponderosa and more all in walking distance.Not being familiar with the territory we would walk up the beach vs the Street and simply walk through a resort which would bring us out to the area where all these places we're located.The airplanes never bothered us once,we we're never woken up @ night from them either.There are busses for $0.75 that will take you to Old San Juan as well as other places,it may take longer than a taxi simply due to the stops in between but it is certianly well worth it.We did the taxi thing once for $24.00 though I prefer the buss mainly because taxi drivers are maniacs on the road. They are building a patio which will be a great addition to the aleady beautiful atmosphere that exists..Am def planning a return trip!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor,super comfy beds..On 1 side of the Marriot is a junky apartment building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, WV
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard one night before our Caribbean cruise began. The hotel was very easy to get to from the airport. Check-in was quick & easy. The staff were very helpful with any questions we had as this was our first visit to San Juan. The dinner we had at Sirena was very good. I had the breakfast buffet the next morning. I enjoyed the made-to-order omelet. The staff allowed us to check-out at the appointed time & held our bags until we were ready to leave for the cruise ship. Therefore, we enjoyed a beautiful morning on the beach. Taxis were right outside the front door to take us to port when we were ready. I also used the gym the morning we were there. It is small, but was not crowded. And there's a nice view of the beach from the tread mills & other machines. We didn't venture outside of the hotel. And we were unable to walk around Old San Juan. But the hotel worked very well for a short stay before our Spring Break cruise. I would recommend highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Harbors, MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here one night before a cruise and would recommend this hotel. We were originally booked at the Hampton Inn down the street, but at the last minute decided it was worth the extra $200 to start our vaction on the beach rather than feeling we were in transition - and I think that was a great choice. We arrived early evening and check in was a breeze. We dropped our bags off in our room and headed for the beach bar. The beach (all public) was busy but it was Saturday. Drinks were $6 (though we got 4 free rum punch coupons when we checked in) and service was slow - but that's par for the course in the Caribbean. Isla Verde beach is very nice and watching the sunset was enjoyable. We walked to La Playita restaurant later in the evening for a nice dinner on the water. The next morning was worth the extra cost - rather than sitting in our hotel room waiting for noon to roll around so we could go to the ship, we were on the beach by 8:30 with our complimentary coffee from the lobby (plus a fruit plate, 2 muffins and 3 bottled waters for $18), and spent 3 hours in the sun / ocean / pool. Beach chairs are plentiful and the beach/water is great. We grabbed some lunch from the pool bar ($20 for three huge hot dogs with fries and one soda). A late checkout wasn't available so we left the room right at noon. It was easy to get a cab to the pier for $20. As for the room, the view from the partial ocean view balcony was great if you didn't look directly down (to the roof of the lobby/casino), and though the room was showing some age if you looked really closely (at say the plaster in the corners in the bathroom) it was just fine and nicely appointed. Beds were comfortable and the free bottled water was a plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.9 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#4 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Courtyard Carolina
Marriott Carolina
Carolina Courtyard
Carolina Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.