We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Dream and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

First time here, and we stayed for one night prior to a connecting flight. Great location for a night or two, very cool vibe, and décor. We had dinner at the rooftop restaurant and bar. Great tapas, and drinks. Would definitely stay again if only there for a night or two. Not a resort, and the only facility is the pool. Restaurant in lobby looks great as well, although we did not have time to try it. Rooms are functional but small.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking your time in writing this review. It is always a great feeling to hear positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please try and return real soon and let me know when you do; I want to try and get the fifth star on your next review!
Warm regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    273
    57
    22
    15
See reviews for
76
476
47
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Rooftop view and bar was perfect for sunsets and great drinks. Never overly crowded - even on the weekends. Unlike the larger hotels this establishment gives you a personal experience with wonderful staff. The beachfront location may be the best in San Juan. Drinks and breakfast were a bit on the expensive side but attentiveness of staff was top notch all the way.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for the great review and the 5 stars ***** It was a pleasure to have you here and I hope you can make it back to the WBC very soon for another stay. I love it that you enjoyed our property and service.
Many thanks,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a top notch hotel. The food is gourmet in quality. The service is excellent I would highly recommend it. Staff are friendly and eager to please. Rooftop bar (Mist) is very comfortable with a spectacular view. It's informal. They have a tapas menu at night. The restaurant on the ground level (Zest) is more formal. The theme throughout the hotel is water. It's very relaxing. The staff will serve you a drink on the beach. They give you free sticks of fresh fruit and coconut ice cream in the afternoon if you happen to be on the beach. It's close to the airport. Take a taxi to get around. Don't rent a car as parking can be hard to find.

Room Tip: The ocean view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent visit and this wonderful review; especially mentioning our committed staff as they are the ones who make the magic happen. You pretty much covered the entire WBC experience, see you soon!
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We just stayed at this hotel for the first two days of our honeymoon and I am not impressed. The first room they put us in had a bed covered in short curly hair and the phone did not work so they moved us to another one with an ocean view trying to give us an upgrade. This was nice however the bottom of the window was so dirty you could not enjoy the view from bed. I have read other reviews and management has told people that if they would have written their concerns on the dream board then they will fix it. Well I did that and nothing happened, it wasn't cleaned or responded to on the board. The overall feel of the hotel is modern new age I guess to me it was just trying to hard to be hip. The lighting throughout the hotel is blue to go with their water feel so it is very dark. I think it's to hide the the deterioration of the hotel. If they would just call this place what it is ( hotel and not a resort) I probably would not be as disappointed with my stay as I was. The holiday inn express was a much better stay than this save your money and aggravation. Other side notes phone in new room did not work was told to use hall phone (also did not work) finally told to use cell phone if we needed anything, had to wait on valet 20 min one night he was no where to be found. Once again not a resort.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Our guests are always our priority. My sincere apologies that your experience with us was less than perfect; we respect all feedback and find it helpful for the hotel to learn and grow in all aspects that is what this forum is for. I would like to take this opportunity to address some issues you mentioned: In reference to our star rating, we are a “Four Stars Boutique Hotel” and not a “Resort”. There are times where situations occur that are not in our control and unfortunately our telephone system had technical difficulties during your stay which it was solved as soon as possible. Also, being right in front of the beach, we do pressure wash our windows periodically, however this can only be done professionally due to the safety of our room attendants. WBC management prides itself on follow through and recovery of any given guest’s experience; without a doubt. I personally, as well as my colleagues would be happy to have the chance to deliver to you what a WBC experience has become known for. I’m happy to make myself personally available to you should your travels return you to Puerto Rico.
I remain at your service,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel while in San Juan. This is a beautiful boutique hotel with a very European flair with soft neon lights in the halls and rooms. The staff is super friendly and helpful - they always had smiles on their faces. There are water features everywhere - even in the elevator - which lends to the relaxing feel of the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and even have a small board with which to ask for special requests. The only negative is that we could've used more outlets to charge our phones, etc. The hotel is conveniently located and very close to the airport. Just walk out the door and across the street and you're on the beach. The rooftop terrace is a wonderful place to relax during the day and and enjoy some music at night. I can not wait to go back to San Juan and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
A smile says a million words…no more needs to be said. Thank you and see you soon/1
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The staff made our first trip to San Juan hassle free. Upon arrival the front desk attendants were super helpful with bags and even had our room available before actual check-in time. The rooftop is beautiful. Our room was great - perfect size for two girls. Everything looked as is via the website and I have no complaints. Definitely staying here any time I visit San Juan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Short and sweet! Thanks for the review. We are so glad you were able to experience it firsthand; so happy that LOVED US!
Truly,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My Fiance and I stayed here in December and were impressed. Service was excellent and the beach was perfect. They even had a guy walking around in the afternoon on the beach passing out fruit. Great location in isla verde. A little far from Old San Juan.

Our room was decent sized with a nice ocean view. And the restaurant at the hotel is certainly worth eating at.

We will be back next time we are in San Juan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Service Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you here and I hope you can make it back to the WBC very soon for another stay. I love it that you enjoyed our property, friendly staff and service.
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exclusive corner of famous Isla Verde beach, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is the ultimate playground for grownups and the local Mecca of hip, with music designed by international DJs, lively parties and celebrity stopovers. The perfect combination of comfort and luxury, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent Island-Italian-Spanish-fusion menu featuring Socializers—small plates you can share—prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients. The new restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique subaquatic atmosphere and a modern experiential cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Muñoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.