We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel Staff, Absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel Staff, Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I arrived with a friend, our rooms were upgraded. Kyeira and Marlene( Hope I spelled their names right) took care of my excursion reservations and gave me directions to all the attractions I wanted to see. Danny was so funny, he helped me at the front desk and made me laugh. My room was clean, pretty, had a great view and I did not want for anything. I found this hotel on a whim however every staff member made me feel like I was at home away from home. From the minute I arrived to the minute I left. I wish I could name everyone who I came in contact with to make my stay that much more enjoyable. Joseph made delicious drinks, Victor, Abraham smiles at the front desk, and another lady whose name I cannot remember. oops.

Room Tip: my room was on the 10th floor and the next floor (T) was the roof top which had the bar Mist and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review, we work hard to ensure that you are welcomed and wowed by everyone single team member. We would love to have you back to enjoy The WBC all over again. I will definitely pass along your kind words to Abraham, Danny, Marlene, Keyra, Joseph and Victor.
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    232
    53
    19
    14
See reviews for
65
409
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

What an eclectic, welcoming and fun hotel to stay! From the moment you walk in the hotel, you are treated like royalty. The restuarant staff went out of their way to make every meal a wonderful experience. I drink iced black coffee and from the second morning on our waitress greeted me with a glass of iced coffee she had made just for me. The beach staff was also impeccable. The beach chairs, umbrellas and towels were always waiting for us. The drink service was always timely and delightful. The roof top pool and bar were fun for all, even when it was raining. Finally, there is a "Wish" board in every room. You write your wish and they make it happen: I was sceptical at first, but our "Wish" for milk and cookies was granted by the house staff. Wow! We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent visit and this review--especially mentioning our “Tus Deseos” In-room Wish boards which were especially created for our guest’s wishes to come true. We are so happy you enjoyed your nightcap milk and cookies; you've pretty much covered the entire WBC Experience. Thank you again and hurry back!
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel pics are deceiving. The top deck looks washed out & the pool is small. There no place to hang your wet clothing. Windows are cracked, the lighting is dark in &out the room. Although the people seem nice watch out for sticky fingers, my chain went missing from the room.
The Manager was rude!!I I filed a police report he was more concerned about the hotels reputation than the fact that someone is stealing in the hotel. Good luck if u decide to take a chance. There are so many better hotels in P.R.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Clearly our reputation is based upon our great service and it is evident with many of our positive reviews. Our guests are always a priority to us and we take great pride in making their stay a memorable one. I would like to take this opportunity to address that our safes are strictly coded by the guests. A formal report was deducted in your presence and this isolated incident was handled in a very professional matter; we did all within our reach to resolve it amicably. Should you need further assistance our doors are always opened and we are more than willing to help you. We remain at your service.
Sincerely,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at The Water Club as it is called this June of 2013 celebrating our 30 YEAR ANNIVERSARY. It was a wonderful experience! The hotel is chic filled with blue lighting that is so relaxing. It is conveniently across from the beach ( two minute walk) literally.
The staff goes out of there way to make your experience memorable and very delightful. Our room was amazing overlooking the ocean. The food in the restaurant "Zest" was amazing, we recommend the short ribs of beef and the salmon both very great. Even though it's pricy it's worth it. Check out the chocolate lava cake with basil ice cream...yes you heard me basil ice cream it was wonderful! We had several meals at Zest . Upstairs on the roof was also nice for tapas (appetizers) we recommend the duck! On the beach you are treated to such delights as fruit skewers and a coconut freeze which I believe was made with ice cream, coconut and cinnamon.

We are hooked and will return to the Water Club. Must give a big shout out to Virna (Guest services manager) who made all our dreams come true, except that Moet but no worries it's always next year :)

Also want to shout out Aisha in upstairs on "The Roof Top" who was truly a joy as a bartender and server. Cannot forget, Victor, front desk, Xavier door/car attendant, Joseph, Zest bartender and Sandra the lovely lady who made our room smell great and sparkle daily! For all others we missed thank you from the bottom of our hearts! WE WILL BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front with a great view it's worth it. Next time we will try a suite fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much! We loved having you both with us!
I’m so happy that you reach out prior to your arrival so that I could answer your questions. I can truly say that on behalf of everyone here, we loved having you stay with us. Hope to welcome you back real soon.
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Benito, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff was warm, welcoming and helpful. When we arrived, it was raining, and they came out with umbrellas to get us out of the rain and into the hotel. Our room had a spectacular view of the beach, and the hotel is literally steps from the beach. Concierge was very helpful with maps and reataurant reccommendations. The restaurant inside the hotel, Zest, was excellent! Delicious food in an intimate setting. My only complaint about our stay was the way we were treated one evening at Mist, their bar/nightclub. My husband and I had a drink at Mist on Thursday, and it was pretty empty. The mojitos were great, so we returned on Friday. When we tried to enter, an employee asked if we were hotel guests; we answered that we were. He then asked us if we had read our welcome letter describing the dress code at Mist. We hadn't, and the employee informed us that my husband could not enter because he was wearing shorts. We said we would go somewhere else, but then he said other customers wearing shorts had entered before he was on duty, so he was going to allow us to enter. Then he said, "Welcome to Mist." Feeling very unwelcome, we entered and noticed that 9 out of the 12 men inside Mist were wearing shorts. We had one drink and left. There was no need for the dress code lecture. I'll go back to the hotel and restaurant, but not the bar/nightclub.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Service is the cornerstone of WBC's success and we are driven to follow up relentlessly on service lapses. I have shared your review with the entire Mist team and have specifically addressed some of the items you detailed. In light of the inevitable improvements that will occur as a direct result of your review, I am grateful to you for taking the time to provide this important information. On the other we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again.
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is our 3rd time in PR this year ( lucky gal ) always try a new hotel this was our first time here. (6/24-27). Our check in staff ( Danny & Isis ) were great very friendly, there was the usual hesitation once they pull the reservation & realize it's through Priceline. This is nothing new to us so we thought nothing of it. Upon returning from dinner that night there was a nicely typed message telling that there would be a resort fee added to our bill. No mention of how much this would be, nicely told us to see the T&C`s of our 3rd party Booker.
We later found out it was 14% a day so not much, the issue is not the fee but the lack of being forthcoming about it when given the intro to the hotel & promo for the restaurant.
The room (408) was very well kept by Tamara (really friendly anything you need to make it extra special). The room does need some minor maintenance updates to make it a true 4star. The rainshower is great after a day of Sun but if the side panel was a few inches wider the floor wouldn't puddle up when you move the showerhead back. The bathroom (as-is) is not of that rating yet. Please fix the door, it's annoying to wake up your light sleeping BF as you slam the door to simply shut it (shave the bottom 2 inches it would help)…I understand the the design concept of the room but if your going to have blue lights & white drapery covered walls then the room should be sparkly brilliant.

Happy hour was great @Zest, the Arepa appetizer was scrumptious & the octupus one I will dream of til the next time we return. Sadly mist was closed while we were there.
The beach experience was awesome Juan rocks, very attentive & huge smile always. Yummy fruit skewers around 11.
If your like us & prefer a vacation free of screaming,crying & the general family atmosphere this the hotel for you it's sexy & perfect for couples. We only encountered one tyke. I hope this doesn't change because this why we will return here time after time. The pool is on the 10th floor & 5feet deep & small not really little one friendly.
Now if Jet Blue had child free flights -perfecto!

Room Tip: 14% daily resort fee if 3rd party booking we got a great same day reservation thru the Shatner. Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas of your stay where your expectations fell short regarding the 14% hotel tariff fee. All hotels in Puerto Rico do charge this service fee; some are higher than others depending on the services they offer. When booking your reservation through a 3rd party as you did; many of our guests miss reading the terms and conditions of their confirmation. It states “A mandatory fee will be charged to the guest directly upon check-out”. For a future reservation it would be great to contact us directly so that we may assist you with our special offers and travel inquires. On another note; thank you so much for the compliments on our staff members; they are truly our GEMS of the WBC. I will surely pass along your wonderful words. We hope to welcome you back again and capture our 5th star!
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here a few months ago, just haven't had time to write a review. Best thing about hotel was staff friendliness. Location is decent, down a alley looking type street from main road to the beach. Hotel is around the corner at the end of street. Food and drinks were good. The roof top pool is very small and has only 4 lounge chairs next to it, no room for anything else. The top floor lounges shown on pictures were ok if you could find one to sit at. Incredible view from up there.

The room definitely had cheap furnishings, blue florescent colored lights hidden by dirty shear drapes. Towels were on par with towels at my local gym. Beds were nothing to brag about.

They are trying very hard to be the trendy, boutique hotel but not anywhere close to that. I booked using Priceline "Name Your Own Price" and ended up here. I won't use Priceline again as long as this hotel is in the 4 star list.

Not a place I can say I would stay at again. I'd rate it a 3 star at best.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a room that isn't next to the elevator!! You will hear it all nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exclusive corner of famous Isla Verde beach, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is the ultimate playground for grownups and the local Mecca of hip, with music designed by international DJs, lively parties and celebrity stopovers. The perfect combination of comfort and luxury, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent Island-Italian-Spanish-fusion menu featuring Socializers—small plates you can share—prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients. The new restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique subaquatic atmosphere and a modern experiential cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Muñoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.