We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My daughter and I celebrated her 25th birthday here with a week at the WBC. The hotel is a welcome change from the mega hotels on the beach. The staff was incredibly friendly, the crisp white and blue decor was relaxing and a contrast to "busier" hotels in the area. The waterfall in the elevators was very funky. The rooftop lounge was a fabulous low key area to relax when we needed a break from the beautiful beach. The restaurant ZEST was a great treat. I hope to return to the Water and Beach Club soon

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are a must. However, pack lightly. Not much room for hanging clothes and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    440
    236
    53
    19
    14
See reviews for
66
421
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the Water Club for 10 days and they were incredible! Being a young-ish (early 40s) I loved the modern decor (lots of blue neon), amazingly friendly staff (Xavi, Daniel, Juan and many more), and general vibe of the place. The service at the beach was wonderful (congraz Victor for being promoted to Front Desk), and Virna the guest service manager was a delight! In fact, my companion decided to stay another week (the kite surfing was going to be excellent). We'd stayed in a ocean view king with a great view, but with brother coming they moved to a partial view two doubles (rm 909) and I was amazed at how wonderful the view was from there too! The Water Club isn't for everyone (I wouldn't recommend to my sister with young kids) but it was the perfect match for me!!! Don't miss the rooftop area or the coco frio while on the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a great hotel! My husband and I stayed here in July 2012 and really had a great time. It is such a great boutique hotel.The rooms are very modern with minimal furniture yet beautiful blue lights that make the rooms very relaxing and interesting! The rooftop lounge and rooftop pool was a plus! The beach was two steps from the hotel and the service on the beach was excellent. The hotel was walking distance from other restaurants in the area as well as casinos and nightlife. The food in the restaurant in the hotel was amazing!! Virna at the front desk was a pleasure to meet and she will assist you with anything you need! I definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Don't reserve the top floor because of the noise from the rooftop lounge. Two floors below it wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend just returned from a 4-night stay. Overall, we loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it to those looking for a beach getaway. We booked through the hotel website and the rate included complimentary continental breakfast and a $50 food and beverage credit.

We arrived on a Friday afternoon (10 min drive from airport) and our room was ready. The rooms are nice - basic but contemporary. It had everything we needed. We didnt care for the blue light but it was simple to turn off and use the other lights. While I was happy to have an ocean view room, the windows could use some washing from the outside. (The only negative about the room).

On the roof, there is a nice lounge area that we enjoyed several times. Drinks and food are served (lunch during the day and tapas at night). The food and drinks were excellent and we enjoyed the atmosphere and the great view.

There is also a restaurant on the main level...Zest. It was excellent for dinner, probably our best meal of the trip! I had the delicious linguine with crab and my boyfriend loved the pork cheek. One note, they have happy hour specials from 6-8 each night which is a good deal when drinks are normally $9-12.

The beach is right in front of the hotel. There are complimentary chairs and umbrellas as well as waitress service. This hotel made enjoying the beach so easy! We found the beach to never be crowded. It was also clean and we liked the water. Taking walks on the beach is also nice and a lot of others were walking or running as well.

We would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay! This is a very nice and slightly funky hotel that is just a very nice place. the staff were very friendy and helpful. would highly recommend and would love to come back.

Room Tip: get the oven view, when you open the windows you can hear the ocean. perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We recently celebrated our 39th Wedding Anniversary at the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel. From the moment we arrived everyone on staff was very friendly and treated us like family. Our suite was on the 10th floor overlooking the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. Our suite was very comfortable and the view was simply spectacular! On our Anniversary night we ate at the exquisite Zest Restaurant. The setting was very romantic and the ambiance was very modern. The food and service was excellent. If you're looking for a great up-scale Beach Hotel to stay in San Juan the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel is an excellent choice. Our sincere Thanks to everyone at the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel for a very memorable experience. Sincerely, Wilson & Amy Gonzalez

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beautiful beach are your best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were in San Juan briefly on either side of a longer stay in Fajardo, and so sought a place that was close to the airport. Our criteria were a) affordability and b) a boutiquey vibe. While the Water & Beach Club is a large hotel, it manages to feel like a little boutique joint. The service is personal and impeccable. The staff in the Mist lounge is incredible, and made the recommendations by which we planned the rest of our (completely perfect) trip.

The Downside: Odd blue lighting everywhere. In the lobby and halls, it's no big deal, but in the room, I felt that I looked like a martian until I was able to find the "off" switch for the blue lights, and the "on" switch for the white lights.

The Neutral Stuff: Caribbean hotels have the things that Caribbean hotels have: tile floors, the tiniest hint of mustiness, etc. This one was par for the course, in that regard.

The Great Parts: Bartender Danilo, everyone at the concierge desk, the incredibly friendly valet who gave tremendous travel advice, the very affordable room, the perfect Mojitos, the view of the ocean, and the convenient location, for our purposes.

The Net-Net: I've stayed on Isla Verde before. This one's best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. Pay for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mianicole, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your experience. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, but it is even more special when our team members makes such a great impression by the service they offer to our guests. I will definitely pass along your great comments to Danilo and the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exclusive corner of famous Isla Verde beach, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is the ultimate playground for grownups and the local Mecca of hip, with music designed by international DJs, lively parties and celebrity stopovers. The perfect combination of comfort and luxury, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent Island-Italian-Spanish-fusion menu featuring Socializers—small plates you can share—prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients. The new restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique subaquatic atmosphere and a modern experiential cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Muñoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, BookIt.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.