We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NICE!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I loved it! The food was great the staff were helpful. I went here with my boyfriend really enjoyed it. One of the highlights on our vacation. We didn't stay here were only visited. The decor was beautiful! Only downside was the pool was a bit dirty. Will provide pictures soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for this review! We love hearing comments as yours and to know that we were one of the highlights from your vacation. Please try to return as soon as you can and let me know when you do…I want to try and get that “5th star” on your next review.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've stayed here in December for 3 years in a row. First two times were great, overall it's a nice place, but this year it turns out they opened a nightclub on the roof and there is pounding club music throbbing throughout the building until 3 AM on both Fri and Sat night. Really too bad because otherwise it's a great place, but they've basically sacrificed any reasonable thought of being a decent hotel in favor of trying to be a hip night spot. Huge bummer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments, We respect all feedback “pros and cons” and find it useful to help the hotel learn and improve; being a boutique hotel destination with a rooftop lounge “Mist” the WBC remains one of the nightlife hotspots in San Juan. Our guests are always our priority. My sincere apologies that your experience with us was less than perfect. Please know that the WBC is here and would love to have you back again.
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. Ocean view rooms are a nice touch and the roof top pool has a great bar. Location is close to the airport, on a great beach with a sports bar a block down the street. Walk out the front door and hotel staff will help you with a taxi or providing towels and chairs for the beach. The staff has a great attitude and really enjoys helping guests enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimmySafehands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just spent four days at the Water & Beach Hotel and, overall, I enjoyed my experience here. This is an old hotel renovated to be 4-star with varying success. Its strengths are a friendly & attractive staff and great beachside location. Its negatives are that it lacks some hotel subtleties and can be cheesy in its efforts to be hip & modern.

The best thing about this hotel is its location--it's smack dab in the middle of Isla Verdes public beach. You walk out the front door, and you're literally on the beach. There is a hotel worker waiting to give you a towel, chair, and beach umbrella so you can relax, swim, and sun.

The hotel room was just OK. Clean, but not white-glove-inspection clean. I went through Priceline, so I was given a room on the lowest rung of the ladder--a city-view room that looked out onto an ugly building next door. Was told it'd be $60 a day to upgrade to beach view or $30 a day for a mixed view. Upon checkout, as is the rage with all hotels these days, there was also a bunch of resort fees and other nonsense tacked on to my bill that totalled to around $60 extra.

The room had a strange configuration---a huge king-sized bed cut across the room diagonally, taking up more space than it needed to. They spared no expense on the modern bed though, so that was nice. A small glass desk was attached to the back of the bed if you need to get some work done.

Bathroom was small but somewhat nice. Modern glass shower. Modern bowl-shaped sinks. 2 bathrobes. Several towels.

Room negatives: no refrigerator, ironing board, or clothes iron in the room. $3 if you drink the bottled water in the room. Blue overhead light is just unpleasant but is easily turned off. I left it off the whole time and used the abundant Puerto Rico sunlight and various white-light lamps in the room instead.

Hotel negatives: hallways are unpleasant, too dark in typical boutique-hotel style, illuminated with blue lights, with cheesy white-noise pumped in (the sound of the ocean) through a bad speaker system.

Other things to note: This hotel is basically an old concrete building that has been renovated, and the renovators went nuts with huge white curtains covering up the white concrete walls underneath everywhere--rooms and hallways alike. It's not unpleasant, but here and there you get a peak of an older cold-war era building that's not so nice underneath. Paid $14 for a Mahito served in a plastic cup on the beach. It was really good though. Loud music from rooftop party on Saturday night lasted until 11:00pm---not complaining, that's reasonable and this is a "hip" hotel. Gym is a small room in the basement with 4 cardio machines (with built-in TVs) and a rack of dumbbells that only goes up to 30 pounds. Small hotel, only 10 floors. Small pool on roof, only four beach chairs fit beside it. Walgreens a two-minute walk away. Not a lot of good local restaurants in the immediate area, but a lot fast food and expensive hotel restaurants nearby, including the hotel's own "Mist," which i didn't try. AC was a window unit, not particularly loud as others described, but does sound like a typical fan blowing. I liked it, as it blocked out other noise.

To sum up, I enjoyed staying at this hotel thanks to the location and friendly staff, there were no huge problems with the hotel. You can have a clean and safe stay here, which is what counts in the end. But I would hesitate to pay full price, as this is more of a 3-star hotel superficially dressed up to be 4-star.

Oh, and to reward you for reading this far....pssst, there are free water bottles in the gym in the basement.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicagoDude69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I checked out of this hotel on 12/1/12. We found the Hotel to be nice and clean and we loved our ocean view. The roof top terrace was a plus. The staff was always friendly, courteous and helpful. We especially liked Ramsey- front desk Rep and Danio the bartender. They were very attentive, friendly and informative.

I only wish that the food on this hotel would be more focus on Puerto Rican cuisine Let's talk about breakfast! why do people eat outside the hotel? people won't mind paying extra for anything aside the continental breakfast, but seriously $5.00 for "an egg" ? other than that i recommend the hotel base on cleanliness and location. overall, very charmin and romantic.

Room Tip: rooms by the elevator are noisy, you may want to stay in the mid-section away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It has been my second stay at the Water & Beach in over 3 months and I've got to stay that is was as good as the first one. I travel back and forth from NY to PR quite constantly and so far I've got no reason why not to keep staying at this hotel over and over again. Being very honest my wife and I where a little sad when we asked for Brian and we found out that he's no longer there. Still the other agents where very nice and helpful, I guess we became fans of him. The rooms are as nice as always, the people, the lounge and the food are also great. I will return once more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CooperBoston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel, in the Isla Verde area of San Juan is perfect for a lazy beach holiday.

Compared with the competition of the Intercontinental, the W&BC Hotel gives free Wifi, tea and coffee making facilities and great service.

A rooftop bar and pool are a great addition but the provision of beach chairs and towels on the beach just metres away makes for a tough choice between the two!

Their restaurant does a great breakfast but it is not included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
3.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
#1 of 44 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#5 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,555 reviews
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
3.5 mi away
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exclusive corner of famous Isla Verde beach, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is the ultimate playground for grownups and the local Mecca of hip, with music designed by international DJs, lively parties and celebrity stopovers. The perfect combination of comfort and luxury, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent Island-Italian-Spanish-fusion menu featuring Socializers—small plates you can share—prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients. The new restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique subaquatic atmosphere and a modern experiential cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Muñoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing