We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stay and another great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another stay and another great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It has been my second stay at the Water & Beach in over 3 months and I've got to stay that is was as good as the first one. I travel back and forth from NY to PR quite constantly and so far I've got no reason why not to keep staying at this hotel over and over again. Being very honest my wife and I where a little sad when we asked for Brian and we found out that he's no longer there. Still the other agents where very nice and helpful, I guess we became fans of him. The rooms are as nice as always, the people, the lounge and the food are also great. I will return once more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    309
    66
    24
    17
See reviews for
84
532
54
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel, in the Isla Verde area of San Juan is perfect for a lazy beach holiday.

Compared with the competition of the Intercontinental, the W&BC Hotel gives free Wifi, tea and coffee making facilities and great service.

A rooftop bar and pool are a great addition but the provision of beach chairs and towels on the beach just metres away makes for a tough choice between the two!

Their restaurant does a great breakfast but it is not included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We loved our stay at the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel. The staff is marvelous! Customer service at its best... Jose, the manager, is doing a great job motivating the staff. The hotel is absolutely charming and very well maintained. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent, and there are nice local restaurants within walking distance.

The beach, just out the front door, is great! I loved playing in the surf... The staff set us up with beach lounges, towels, and an umbrella and checked every so often to see if we needed anything. The pool on the hotel roof is small but provides a spectacular view of Isla Verde beach. We walked the beach daily...

Our room was very comfortable and the new decor is great - a water theme with unique lighting. My wife fell in love with the robes - so cozy! We highly recommend the Water and Beach Club Hotel...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, not all rooms have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

So...the El San Juan and the Intercontinental might be more resort-like but the San Juan Juan Water and Beach Club was great! The staff was personable and helpful. The fact that I could be in my beach chair in less than thirty steps was a huge PLUS! My one complaint? The in room air conditioning was just way too loud. A person should be able to sleep on vacation and that kept me awake until about 4:00am the first night. I turned it off and opened the windows but that meant that the room felt damp. The other reviews talked about the loud club on the roof. I was there during the week and had no problems with it. And the views from the roof reminded me to relax and enjoy myself. Stay and judge for yourself!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for this review. It was a pleasure to have you here and I hope you can make it back to the WBC very soon for another stay. I love it that you enjoyed our property and service.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The WBC provided one of our best hotel experience in years in terms of value, warmth, location, and overall quality. Kalia, the concierge, and everyone else from the front desk help and beach boy to those at the front door and hosts at the pool bar and restaurant were consistently smiling, friendly, and always helpful in a really sincere way. There was no charge for the beach umbrellas and chairs (a tip is expected, of course) and even the wait staff in the very lovely and comfortable roof top pool and bar area brought nice freebies while we were relaxing. The pool itself was too tiny to swim in but the lounge area, the view, and the bar and the food more than compensated.

The room was very modern, quite clean and very comfortable. The location is great. A 5-10 minute walk to the very nice casinos at the El San Juan and the Ritz, so you get to use their casinos and stay at a very nice place at less than half the cost. If you want to save money on food, there are lots of fast food places a few minutes away, but we preferred some of the nicer restaurants in the area in in Old San Juan (a 10 minute, $19 cab ride away). You can even take the bus to Old San Juan for 75 cents each way but the wait for the bus can be 30 minutes or so and it takes about 30 minutes to get there.

The only minor downsides to the experience: The rooms didn't have any place to hang your wet bathing suits to dry and the hotel restaurant didn't have decaf coffee. A small price to pay for a wonderful experience. We'll certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are happy to hear that you found "A real find" at the WBC. Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your review with us. As you point out, our friendly service combined with a beautiful setting delivers a memorable experience all around. I hope we can welcome you back very soon.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NEW YORK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and i have been vsiting Isla Verde Puerto Rico for over ten years and we finally found our our home the SAN JUAN WATER BEACH CLUB, it is the BEST RESORT that we have ever stayed at in ten years. The hotel and its grounds and staff are the best we have eve seen . The hotel is run by Jose Torres the GM and he makes this place work with his Hard work friendly greeting making this hotel guest friendly not like the other corparate hotels on the srip of Isla Verde, as we have stayed in all of them and this resort is the BEST I mean THE BEST. Vierna one of the asst managers is always by the front desk greeting you with hugs and smiles making sure that you stay is perfect. The pool is located on the roof with breathtaking views of Puerto Rico, There is a great bar and resturant also on the roof called Mist where they have the BEST chicken wings and steak sandwhiches with very inexpensive prices as the quality is superb. In the lobby is a another Great resturant for dinner called Zest the food is gourmet prepared with very inexpensive prices as you will be coming back to this resturant more than once as we had a great waiter Carlos Garcia whose friendliness and great knowledge of the menu made our visit a positive one. The rooms especially the oceanview rooms are amazing as you can see ans experince the wavesand ocean in fron of you.I can keep writting more about this great place but i am going to let you go so you can make that reservation for this resort as thats what we are going to do too, see you soon at the WBC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Michael & Carmen,
Thank you for this stella review. You basically said it all; it describes the way we strive to have every guest feel as they depart from the WBC as part of our family. Thanks again for sharing your experience so eloquent and so lovely. We greatly appreciate it. We can’t wait to welcome you back real soon...un beso y abrazo!
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

From the time I booked to the time I left San Juan Water & Beach Club was great. The service there was top notch. Everyone was friendly and personable. The view of the Atlantic was awesome and the beach was great. Joseph makes the best Mojito's and the food was awesome. This will not be my last time visiting. Every place they suggested was really nice. Unfortunately did not get a chance to do the kayate, so I that will be the first thing I do on my next visit.

I loved the service and the hotel, definitely a very hip vibe and if you love the beach you can't pass up San Juan Water& Beach Club. Everything you need is in walking distance and you must dine out at Platos the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Ocean view is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for detailing some guest favorites! We must agree…Joseph makes the best mojitos to complete a perfect evening at our rooftop “Mist”. It’s nice to see that you enjoyed our property and especially our family members. Hope to welcome you back real soon.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exclusive corner of famous Isla Verde beach, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is the ultimate playground for grownups and the local Mecca of hip, with music designed by international DJs, lively parties and celebrity stopovers. The perfect combination of comfort and luxury, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent Island-Italian-Spanish-fusion menu featuring Socializers—small plates you can share—prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients. The new restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique subaquatic atmosphere and a modern experiential cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Muñoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.