We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Elmont, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last year and was so impressed that I decided to go back this year. I just got back and was amazed at how much better the hotel was this time around. The staff was great, the bartenders were very friendly and made the best drinks on the island, especially Danilo and Joseph. The managers went out of their way to make this experience even better. Jose, Nelson and Exan were completely attentive to all the guests needs. The restaurant was definitely a high end restaurant with reasonable prices. We ate dinner at the new restaurant almost every night. The rooftop bar was a nice addition that wasn't there last year. The location of the hotel is also ideal, it is located on the beach at the end of the strip (so it doesn't get as crowded) and it is walking distance to El San Juan Hotel and Casino. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your great review! I'm glad you were able to experience both venus "Zest" & "MIst" during your stay... While the dining here is unparalleled and the night life, "MIst" is amazing, I have to agree, the WBC is a must see and experience for any Puerto Rico traveler. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to seeing again very soon.

All The Best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    326
    70
    25
    17
See reviews for
92
566
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was our first trip to San Juan and we decided on this hotel. The location and the hotel was wonderful. The staff was A#1, You could not ask for anything more.
You will not be disappointed!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Wow! Short and sweet!! What are vacations for "RELAXATION"... Thank you for the very brief but great review. Looking forward to having you back!

Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Co
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Hi Travelers,
My name is Steve and I own a travel agency. Like you I'm an avid Trip Advisor user. And this is THE FIRST TIME I have ever written a review for them. But I have to tell you, the Water Club in San Juan is an incredible hotel. It is small, which is exactly what you want because you get personal, caring service. It's a little pricey which is exactly what you want because Chef Raul only uses the freshest ingredients in his dishes, and the bar tenders only pour the best liquors when they make "the best mojitos in Puerto Rico". Everyone at this hotel is friendly...the Valet, the Bellman or Valerie in the Zest Restauant; It doesn't matter. They're all happy in their work and they are happy working there. That mindset is HUGE for any service-oriented business because what it says is that the customer will be taken care of even if the General Manager goes home for the night.
I can sell my clients any hotel. But, the only thing I have control of is fitting the right client to the right hotel experience for them. Water Club is perfect for young, hip couples or pals (either gender) that know they work hard and take far to few vacations to be treated poorly. It's for empty-nesters who appreciate friendly attentive service from young people they wish they'd have raised themselves. I don't think the Water Club is for clients with young kids used to a Mexico all-inclusive. There are better hotels for families with kids on Isla Verde beach. But, if you're ready for a spotless hotel with a trendy vibe and attentive staff, then Water Club is for you!

Room Tip: If you travel all this way and don't take an ocean view, duh?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
It is so nice to hear that we have delivered exactly what we strive to accomplish with every WBC guest and visitor. You have obviously and meticulously sought out and basked in every possible indulgence that WBC offers. We try to go over the top in delivering a unique, personalized, ultra modern and chic experience. But more than all of that, we want to provide you a home away from home. We want to add a personal touch and give the genuine and friendly service that hits the heart of what true and well travelled individuals seek. Thank you for recognizing the individuals that accomplished just that, we take a lot of pride in what we do and it was a pleasure doing it for you.

All The Best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

It's a very nice hotel. The rooftop bar is nice. The pool is small with only 6 chairs by it. You can however lounge on the sofa below after swimming. The drinks are quite expensive as is the food. The bartenders are top notch and make the best mojitos I have ever had!
The bath rooms are small with no ventilation.
I would recommend booking a room with a balcony. It makes all of the difference.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean front room. We were in 703 and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking your time in writing this review. It is always a great feeling to hear positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please try and return real soon and let me know when you do; I want to try and get the fifth star on your next review!
Warm regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca Falls, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed here last June while looking at places to have our upcoming wedding. Loved the Water Club so much that we decided to have our wedding there on 4/20/12. Could not have made a better decision!!! Nailin was a big help with setting everything up for us. She was there every step of the way. She even helped me with my dress as I walked to the beach. The service here is outstanding!!! Everyone from the check-in counter to housekeeping. Especially Danilo at the bar, Jose & Xavier the valets, and Victor the beach attendant. If you need any information about the area and what to do, the valets are the people to see. Love this place sooo much that we plan on going back every year for our anniversary. I don't see how this place could get a negative review. All of our wedding guests fell in love with The Water Club. Said that it was the best vacation they ever had. Food in the restaurant is fantastic. Well worth the money. The rooms are chic and clean. The housekeepers go above and beyond. They organized all of our toiletries and even hung up our bathing suits. How do they keep it so white and sand free? Can't say enough great things about this hotel and its staff. Only 11 more months till we return:)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Autumn,
It was an honor that you chose the WBC for such a memorable experience in your life. I am so glad you and your guests fell in love with our home. It seems that Nailin and the rest of our family members were the highlights for you. I will thank them on your behalf. Hoping to celebrate your 1st anniversary where it all started here your home away from home "The WBC". Hope to see you again real soon.
Truly,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The GOOD:
- Excellent Customer Service
- Beautiful ocean view room
- Free Wifi
- Location ( right across from the beach, literally!, close to resturants and Old San Juan)
- Room decor. The colors were cool, and it came with an iron and blow dryer.
- Beautiful beautiful rooftop lounge. It rained while we were there so the white couches were really dirty, hopefully they're cleaner during the summer.
- The hotel provided free beach chairs and towels

The BAD!:
- Run down parts of the room. The ceiling had small black holes, the corners of the room, bathroom and shower were dingy !!
- The shower was the stupidest thing in the world! It only had HALF door! A big down part of the trip was that every time we showered the floor would get soaken wet because the water would just leak onto the floor. And also the shower head barley dripped water! It took forever to take somewhat of a decent shower!!! Awful.
- Lighting in the room was terrible. During the day was no problem once it was dark out it was really hard to get ready to go out. The lights were extremely dim.
- Parking was $15 a night, rip off.
- Last but not least: The cleaning people smoked in our rooom!!!!!!!!! I hate the smell of smoke and when I came back home the room smelt extremely strong of smoke especially the bathroom and the ac was on to try and hide the smell but it only made it worse. I called the front desk to let them know and they said that the maid might of "flushed" cigaretts down from another room ... Serioiusly ??!

- Over all the trip was good, but the hotel was okay. I wouldnt stay there again nor would I recommend it to a friend. Spend your money at the Intercontiental or the El San Juan! The hotel should serioulsy consider spending some money into rennovating their rooms!

- And also before I forget, spray alot of bug spray!! The sand flies at the beach had a feast on my arm and back. I didnt even know there were mosquitos like this in Puerto Rico! Beware!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My friend and I loved SJ-WBCH. We felt like we were in paradise with the free umbrellas/lounge chairs on the beach, the coconut/cinnamon frozen treats and fruit sticks (free) they would bring us on the beach, the rooftop pool overlooking the coastline, and the first rate service we received from the front desk (Bryan was awesome*). The beach is literally right in front of the hotel and the views are picturesque. There are alot of convenient places to eat and a walgreens right nearby. Old San Juan was a 15-20 minute cab ride away (though they can get expensive approximately $21). The local bus picks up right across the walgreens and only cost 75 cents, but it can be hit or miss in terms of how long you have to wait (supposed to come every half hour or hour, but the locals said that it comes when it comes). All in all, my friend an I were sad to leave Isle Verde and SJ-WBCH and we definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
You said it all! Great review…We only have 2 words for you “HURRY BACK”!
Many thanks,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#4 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,308 reviews
18.4 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
#1 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
2.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#3 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the exclusive corner of famous Isla Verde beach, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is the ultimate playground for grownups and the local Mecca of hip, with music designed by international DJs, lively parties and celebrity stopovers. The perfect combination of comfort and luxury, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent Island-Italian-Spanish-fusion menu featuring Socializers—small plates you can share—prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients. The new restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique subaquatic atmosphere and a modern experiential cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Muñoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.