We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor excuse for a hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of ESJ Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ESJ Towers to your Saves list
ESJ Towers
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6165 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$119 Rate Plus Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Hartford, CT
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor excuse for a hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

ESJ was the absolute worst place I have stayed - dirty, outdated, dirty beach and crowded, gross pool. This may be an OK place for college spring breakers who only need a bed, but not for anyone who cares about cleanliness or atmosphere. We had to lug beach chairs through a metal turnstyle. We found a live cockroach in our kitchenette (and got no reaction whatsoever from the manager, except that this is common) - absolute disgust. I still can't get over it.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    197
    135
    81
    82
See reviews for
171
220
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2006

It's been four years since we stayed here, and we still haven't gotten over it. This was the most disgusting and outdated hotel I have ever stayed in. First of all, it is not even a hotel, the rooms are rented as apartments to residents of San Juan. The odors in the halls were enough to make me break down in tears as we entered. The pool closed at 6:00 p.m. The rooms were dirty and small. The restaurant was a joke. The "bar" was an even bigger joke.

As I read some of the other reviews, I am perplexed. I suppose the people who like this hotel are those on a budget, with kids, who just want a place to sleep. And, yes, they do have beds. However, if you want even the bare minimum you would expect from any hotel, you will be extremely disappointed with ESJ Towers.

In closing, my husband and I stayed at this hotel for free as it was part of a time-share. Even so, we left the day we arrived and booked a room at another hotel. It was so bad that we wouldn't even stay here for free.

  • Stayed May 2002, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

Returned from ESJ Towers last week after a five night stay. Found it to be a good place to stay for the rate charged. It was not a resort type hotel, but met our needs by offering a nice beach, convenient walk to a variety of restaurants and other hotel/casinos. I found the accommodations to be clean. The fitness center was above average for a hotel fitness center which was great for a fitness nut such as myself - found the area around the hotel to be safe for walking day and night with a variety of things to do in the neighborhood. Also the bus was easy to use to go into Old San Juan if you choose - it took approximately 1/2 hour by bus and was worth the trip. The biggest negative about it not being a resort type hotel was it was difficult to get food or drinks at the beach - you had to travel out of the hotel and onto the main strip area. All in all it was a good place to stay if you are looking for a no frills hotel on a nice beach in a nice area. Definitely visit the Ritz-Carlton - worth the walk.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2006

I appreciate the reviews but more often than not, they don't offer enough insight.

ESJ is a very good vacation spot depending on your group - I'll get back to that below.

Based on our room, the rooms are similar to a good hotel room and include a large bathroom/vanity area and a decent sized kitchen. Sure ther's some wear and tear to the rooms but it's not blatantly obvious - you'll notice little things over the course of a week but nothing that is a concern.

The amenities are decent: convenience store, okay concierge, adequate workout room, decent sized pool, and beach access.

The pool is a standard rectangle and while the pool area is nice it's not resort level. It does get 8 ft deep and it's a large pool. There's beach access that you have to get to through the garage - it's about a 60 second walk once you exit the elevator. It's inconvenient but not an issue. When you do access the beach, you are at the east end of about a 2 mile stretch of beach. A short walk further east and you have access to about another 2 miles.

Get a room facing west if possible. The west side balaconies over look the pool and has a great view of about 1.5 miles of beach. The view on the east side is of a small neighborhood and beyond that you can see about another mile of beach.

ESJ is located in Isle Verde next to the El San Juan and Intercontinental properties. So the immeadiate area is great. The other resorts actually encourage you visit them.

Once you walk from the hotel to the main road (maybe 1/4 mile), you can walk the mainstreet for probably about a mile east and 2 west. Ther you can walk to Metropol, Edith's, Mi Casita, Lupis, the grocery stores, Walgreens, a few bars and other stores. The place is a buzz at nighttime - and I always felt safe.

So it's the good room facilities and the great location that I give ESJ a good review. My only negatives are the pool closes at 7 PM and there's no real pool side bar (they have a kiosk they pass off as one).

I think teenagers may get a little bored at the site. Younger children would be fine. Adults traveling alone would be great. But if you're more into facilities as many are this may not be the best place for you.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto/Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

Considering the prices of the surrounding hotels, the ESJ Towers were in an excellent location. The service was great. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. The facilities were lovely, great pool. The beach was right behind the hotel and parking is free. The Towers were very close to the airport so we were able to spend extra time on the beach before proceeding to the airport. The grocery store is close by and the facilities offers the comfort of home, if you chose not to go out. I would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Ma.
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2006

We just returned 3/14 from San Juan after a 5 night stay at the ESJ Towers. The hotel may not be the fanciest on the beach but the location and the staff make the difference. From check in to departure everyone was helpful and most pleasant. Our room was clean and very well maintained. The view from the 8th floor toward the beach was excellent. You do have to walk through the parking garage and a gate to the beach but there are no roads to cross. The pool area and whirlpool were well kept and the fitness center had great equipment. Parking is free at ESJ which is somewhat of a rarity in San Juan. The hotel was relativly quiet and all in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton,ma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2006

we are spending this week here at the ESJ towers. Our room overlooks the ocean and pool. I have found the staff to be polite. The rooms STILL could use an updating but this is certainly not the worst timeshare swap we've done. the weather is great. One point is we rented a car and the in-door parking here at the ESJ is complimentary, from what I see walking around here, thats worth well over a $100 for aweek.The room is a studio type with a full stove and refrigerator. There are many places to eat within a 10 minute walk. There are casinos in the two hotels next door (El San Juan and intercontinental)the noise level is acceptable mostly older couples like us - a few children, all seem well behaved.

all in all not the ritz but not the $$$$$ either.

ed

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ESJ Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ESJ Towers

Address: 6165 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ESJ Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ESJ Towers beachfront resort is located on the beautiful Isla Verde Beach just five minutes from the San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport and 15 minutes to Old San Juan where shopping, dining, casinos and must-see attractions are just minutes away. Enjoy access to our fitness center, hot tub and swimming pool, business center, game room and laundry facilities. Guests will love family activities like bingo, billiards and water aerobics as well as a video game room and ping pong room. The ESJ Towers provides a variety of food and beverage options. Casual dining is found at our colorfully whimsical Happy Apple Restaurant. For snacks and refreshing beverages, try our poolside kiosk and snack bar. Guests seeking late-night entertainment should head to Mano a Mano for exotic cocktails and great conversation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your ESJ Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esj Towers Hotel Isla Verde
Esj Hotel Carolina
Esj Tower San Juan
El San Juan Towers
Esj Towers San Juan
San Juan Towers Hotel
San Juan Hotel Esj Towers
ESJ Towers Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ESJ Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.