We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ESJ Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ESJ Towers to your Saves list
ESJ Towers
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6165 Isla Verde Ave., Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$120 Rate Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
cape cod
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“This is an old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We did this as a time share exchange. This is an old hotel that needs to be upgraded! One elevator out of service during the stay a second for a period of stay. Linens and towels are low quality and very thin from age. Pool towels are small and "scatchy" Rooms do not have matching lamps etc. There is a $10.90 surcharge/tax per day. Fitness Center has outdated equipment and some do not register info at all Restaurant on site is poor. Better to go to local spots like Mi Casita, Metropol for good food and reasonable rates. Highly recommend Dragonfly in Old San Juan - try the Peking Duck! Local bus to Old San Juan only 75 cents.
The staff are wonderful and do their best to accomodate your needs, Tina at the conceierge desk met all our needs for travel around the island.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    164
    122
    74
    70
See reviews for
143
186
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Reading, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We did a time share exchange. The we had a studio on the eighth floor which was spacious and the view was great. Beach is beautiful although the first day there was a lot of seaweed; but it was cleaned up the next day and seaweed free the rest of the week. Got a good rate on a car rental from the hotel as we rented a car for one day to do own tour of the island. We also got a great food restaurant recommendation from one of the staff. Only complaint was since we were so close to the airport, the noise of the planes landing and taking off was annoying..but all the hotels on this strip of beach would have the same problem. It was not constantly all day long just in certain periods.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Two of my friends and myself just got back from Puerto Rico. We stayed at the ESJ Towers and would come back again anytime! The cab ride from the airport was about 10 mins, the hotel is right on the beach (which is beautiful!!!!) the room we had was large and included a small kitchen which we made dinner and breakfast in a few times. Pots, pans, silverware, dishes and glasses were all provided free of charge. If you plan on staying a while don't forget dishsoap at the grocery store, which is about 3 blocks away and has a great selection of everything you are used to from home. The pool was spectacular, it is surrounded by palm trees and a calm breeze. Don't miss Bingo everyday at 2:00, and the pool side bar is the best! There is a laundry facility in the lower level which makes things much easier when staying for more than a few days. The staff was great, anything we needed they responded to immediately. We had a problem with hot water the first day and within 5 mins it was fixed, same goes for the safe in our room, the staff came up right away, even though we had closed the door and jammed something in the side. Old San Juan is about 10-15 minutes away by cab and the bars and restuarants nearby were great. We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed at ESJ Towers from 3/28/10 to 4/7/10. We rented condo 1570 from Chana Cohen and had a great experience. Chana was great. She had everything ready for our arrival and our condo was great. We had a one bedroom and our 9 and 5 year old children slept on the pull out couch. Our bed was very comfortable and our boys never complained about the pull out. We had originally planned to spend half of our vacation at ESJ and the second half at El San Juan Resort & Casino and I have to say that I'm glad we stayed at ESJ the entire time. El San Juan Resort was beautiful but they had such horrible reviews that we decided not to spend the extra money to stay. For the price, ESJ had everything that we needed. It was great to have the pool area! I also have to comment on the great staff - everywhere we went throughout the hotel everyone was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely rent from Chana again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the ESJ Towers. We rented a one bedroom condo from Chana Cohen and the room was excellent. The hotel in conveniently located close to everything in Isla Verde, the beach is beautiful and the views from the rooms are gorgeous. The renting of our room was very convenient and hassle free. All the employees at the hotel are very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Hi, my girlfriends and I stayed in Suite #1657 for a long weekend. It was perfect! The studio was very spacious, comfortable and with an AMAZING VIEW! The property is very safe, Security is great. Overall staff, very hospitable!! I had the priviledge in communicating with Gilda Negron, who was a pleasure! Looking forward to my next trip there (hopefully soon)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

ESJ Towers offers good size rooms, not luxurious but functional and has all you need for a comfortable stay. All looking a little dated but well maintained and the location is great. Found the staff all very helpful and willing. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ESJ Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ESJ Towers

Address: 6165 Isla Verde Ave., Isla Verde, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ESJ Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ESJ Towers beachfront resort is located on the beautiful Isla Verde Beach just five minutes from the San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport and 15 minutes to Old San Juan where shopping, dining, casinos and must-see attractions are just minutes away. Enjoy access to our fitness center, hot tub and swimming pool, business center, game room and laundry facilities. Guests will love family activities like bingo, billiards and water aerobics as well as a video game room and ping pong room. The ESJ Towers provides a variety of food and beverage options. Casual dining is found at our colorfully whimsical Happy Apple Restaurant. For snacks and refreshing beverages, try our poolside kiosk and snack bar. Guests seeking late-night entertainment should head to Mano a Mano for exotic cocktails and great conversation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ESJ Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esj Towers Hotel Isla Verde
Esj Hotel Carolina
Esj Tower San Juan
El San Juan Towers
Esj Towers San Juan
San Juan Towers Hotel
San Juan Hotel Esj Towers
ESJ Towers Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ESJ Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.