We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you loved the 70's... stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ESJ Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ESJ Azul to your Saves list
ESJ Azul
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6165 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly ESJ Towers)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Queretaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you loved the 70's... stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

And I don't just mean 70's style, I mean a WHOLE Hotel from the 70's, furniture, decor, lights, rooms, doors and carpet.

It's clean (I had a mop, broom and bucket inside my closet, true story), it's dark (in every meaning), It has a free parking space (almost nothing has free of charge parking space in Puerto Rico), It has big rooms (plenty of old space), It doesn't have free WIFI (in case you need it). It has hard to get a view to the Ocean (since most of the rooms are facing sideways not Ocean front). Staff is helpful and nice (as in all Puerto Rico), can't complain there.

Funny story, in my floor corridor there was a room with a gated door. It's funny now. It was very creepy then.

Final line, this place could be easily use for a Quentin Tarantino 70's kitsch movie. Really.

Room Tip: Make sure to take the closest elevator to your room, so you'll avoid walking through those creep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnriqueGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria del Mar T, Director of Sales at ESJ Azul, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
On behalf of ESJ Towers' Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for your feedback and kind words about our staff. I will forward your comments to our team for their knowledge and action.

ESJ Towers is a TimeShare-Condo-Hotel, most of our units are studio apartments, but we also have one and three bedroom apartments that can accommodate from 5 to 10 people. Our studio type units have one king size or two double beds, fully equipped kitchenette and balcony. The kitchenette has a large fridge with ice maker, full stove, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and all cooking and dining utensils. Also in the unit: Color TV, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, safe deposit box and yes, broom, mop and bucket. Those last items are in the unit for the time share guests, since we do not offer maid service for them, on the other hand guests that pay a rate per night recieve the same services as a regular hotel, including maid service.

From our rooms at ESJ Towers you get a partial ocean view from both sides of the building. One side you will see part of the hotels in the area and the beach, from the other side you get to see the mountains, the airport, other area hotels and the beach.

Other hotel amenities include: Fitness Center, Business Center, Restaurant (breakfast and lunch), trour and travel desk, mini market, outdoor pool, free indoor parking, laundromat, car wash, pool kiosk, lounge, billiard room and game rooms.

We offer WIFI access (extra charge), and you are correct some apartments have gates on their front doors (privately owned apartments), none of your hotel units have gates, but some of the privately owned apartments do. As I mentioned, I will forward your comments to our Management, specially on the door gates item.

If you book through our reservations office we offer: daily full american buffet breakfast for two, complimentary parking, two daily cocktails and a Passport to Pleasure discount coupon booklet for nearby attactions and restaurants. Also you will recieve daily maid service. When you book through the vacation club or a private owner you will not recieve above mentioned services.

We wish you the beast in all your personal and business endeavors.

Sincerely,

Maria del Mar Torres
Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Getting connected with Chana Cohen from ESJ Towers on Isla Verde Puerto Rico was truly a blessing. The condominium was clean well equipped with magnificent views of the ocean and mountains.Chana resides on the premises.She went beyond to help my family and I . She truly has a passion for what she does and who she is . The resort is do convenient to everything. The staff is very friendly & courteous ! I can't wait to return, and someday reside there!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerietripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria del Mar T, Director of Sales at ESJ Azul, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
On behalf of ESJ Towers' Management I would like to thank you for feedback and your kind words about our staff.

I am happy you had a good time while in Puerto Rico and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Maria del Mar Torres
Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I enjoyed my recent stay at the ESJ Towers. My parents are timeshare folks for the past 17 years. My sister and I shared a big generously sized room with two queen sized beds. There was plenty of room and I was very happy indeed. I live in England and I travel around Europe and Israel numerous times a year and I have stayed in some tiny (expensive) rooms. Our room at ESJ was massive in comparison. Yes the decor is dated and yes the lobby is a tad "retro" 60's/70's. So what...You don't sleep in the lobby !!! As we had a small kitchen in our room, there was never a need to use the restaurant in the lobby for breakfast or lunch. The pool, view and beach was great. If you want something fancier, try the Ritz Carlton. I had a great experience at ESJ Towers !!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodilovesamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria del Mar T, Director of Sales at ESJ Azul, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
On behalf of ESJ Towers' Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for your feedback and kind words.

I am happy that the accommodations and service were to your liking, and we look forward to your return.

Hope, also I get the chance to meet you and thank you in person.

Sincerely,

Maria del Mar Torres
Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Getting connected with Chana Cohen from The ESJ Towers in Isla Verde,Puerto Rico was truly a blessing! The condominium was very clean as well as equipped. It had magnificent views of the ocean and mountains! Chana resides on the premises, and went beyond ...to help my family and I ! She has such a passion for what she does and who she is !!!! The resort is so convenient to everything, and is staffed with wonderful friendly and courteous people who make you feel like family!I can't wait to come back!!
Valerie Steblein

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valeriesteblein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria del Mar T, Director of Sales at ESJ Azul, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
On behalf of our Management I would like to thank you for your kind words about our staff and facilities.

Hope for your return and wish you the best on your personal endeavors.

Sincerely,

Maria del Mar Torres
Hotel Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I'm going to echo what many of the reviewers have stated- this hotel NEEDS a facelift! It looks like this place might have been a cool place to stay... in the 60's! The lobby area is very dark, uninviting and the room decor is equally dismal. There was someone staying in the room below me, honestly I think the guy was mentally ill, because he was screaming NON-STOP in his room every single night until the wee hours. It also sounded like he was beating up the room as I heard banging on the ceiling and walls. His rants prevented me from SLEEPING and when I brought this up to the concierge, they were un-apologetic and did not offer me another room, telling me that the guy checked in for THREE WEEKS. Honestly, it was absolutely awful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria del Mar T, Director of Sales at ESJ Azul, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
On behalf of ESJ Towers Management & Staff, I would like to thank you for your feedback and comments about our hotel. But most of all, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience, and that we failed in helping your stay be comfortable and enjoyable.

At present we are undergoing renovations in our studio apartments, and we already finish renovations on the one bedroom units. We offer studio apartments with one king size or two double beds, fully equipped kitchenette and balcony, including breakfast for two, indoor parking, two complimentary cocktails and discount coupon booklet.

I forward your comments to our management offices for their knowledge and action.

We appreciate your business and wish you the best in all your personal and business endeavors.

Sincerely,

Maria del Mar Torres
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Location of the property is very nice, and the reason I chose this property is that they provide studio apartment with kitchenette. However property is dated, most of the infrastructure is old.

For the price they charge one can easily get very nice rooms it they do not want a kitchenette.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amitjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria del Mar T, Director of Sales at ESJ Azul, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
On behalf of ESJ Towers Management & Staff, I would like to thank you for your feedback and comments about our hotel.

At present we are undergoing renovations in our studio apartments, and we already finish renovations for the one bedroom units. We offer studio apartments with one king size or two double beds, fully equipped kitchenette and balcony. The rate includes: breakfast for two, indoor parking, two complimentary cocktails and a discount coupon booklet.

I will forward your comments to our management offices for their knowledge and action.

We appreciate your business and wish you the best in all your personal and business endeavors.

Sincerely,

Maria del Mar Torres
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Location is great. And they gave me a water view. Because of these factors, I'm rating it a "two".

Every other factor earns a rank of "one". The hotel/condo is SERIOUSLY dated everywhere: hallways, lobby, bar, pool, restaurant. And don't even get me started on the rooms! Old walls, carpet, bed, sheets...only thing "new" were towels and they were on the thin side.

Overall, things were "clean" but not CLEAN. And everything had seen a better day. Walls were buckling or had paint-over-pealing. Carpets were dirty and dingy. Lobby was dark. The restaurant was from a 60s cafeteria. The bagel at breakfast was good, but the potatoes tasted of kerosene and the eggs were hard and dry. The pool bar is literally a hole in the wall. The inside bar is ... uninviting. Oddly lit and laid out. Outdated decor. The pool is nice, but you have to go through the parking garage to get to the beach.

Get the idea?

I could overlook most of the above as long as the place was clean (and it was 'ok' clean) and cheap. It is NOT cheap.

The staff was very good. None of this is their fault. Management needs to undertake a massive renovation.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sideshow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria del Mar T, Director of Sales at ESJ Azul, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
On behalf of ESJ Towers Management & Staff, I would like to thank you for your feedback and comments about our hotel.

We are happy that you were pleased with our location, view from your room, pool and staff service.

At present we are undergoing renovations in our studio apartments, and we already finish renovations for the one bedroom units. We offer studio apartments with one king size or two double beds, fully equipped kitchenette and balcony. With tha rate with include breakfast for two, indoor parking, two complimentary cocktails and a discount coupon booklet. Plus we also have available 1BRM & 3BRM apartments.

I will forward your comments to our management offices for their knowledge and action.

We appreciate your business and wish you the best in all your personal and business endeavors.

Sincerely,

Maria del Mar Torres
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla Verde hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.1 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#7 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#5 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ESJ Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ESJ Azul

Address: 6165 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly ESJ Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ESJ Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ESJ Towers was originally opened in 1975, offering 450 rooms which range from studios to three bedrooms, all providing kitchenettes or full kitchens & laundry facilities in select apartments, making them the largest sized accommodations in the area. It has been an iconic property on the beautiful Isla Verde Beach for 40 years, functioning as a mix of hotel and timeshare resort, with many owners coming to ESJ since the beginning. Starting in June of 2015, ESJ embarked on an ambitious rebranding and renovation of the property to the new ESJ Azul. This included extensive renovation of the lobby, all hallways, restaurant, and the addition of a newbar/lounge, gameroom, and sales center. Already blessed with one of the best locations on the beach in the San Juan area, the new ESJ Azul is truly an amazing testament to good service, spacious and comfortable rooms, and a legacy of excellence that is more apparent than ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your ESJ Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esj Towers Hotel Isla Verde
Esj Hotel Carolina
Esj Tower San Juan
El San Juan Towers
Esj Towers San Juan
San Juan Towers Hotel
San Juan Hotel Esj Towers
ESJ Azul Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing