We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Playa to your Saves list
Hotel La Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Calle Amapola, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

It was the last day of my brother in law vacations in PR, he wanted a place close to the beach, so we decided to try La Playita Restaurant. We got there almost at closing time and Carlos at the kitchen and our waitress La Cubanita gave us the most attentive service ever experience in a restaurant. The food was extremely delicious and the coco loco, OMG, very good. My compliments to both, Carlos and La Cubanita for an excellent service...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    11
    14
    4
See reviews for
16
54
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Room number 207 was great, yes it does need s little thing here and there but what hotel does not. The staff is great. Maria, Reinaldo and the security staff they are all great. Have recommended it to all my friends. Need's a little more in the breakfast. But Loved IT. Especially the gardens and the statues.

Thank You

La Playa

Room Tip: Room 207 is the best. Great view and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

For a small hotel/restaurant/bar, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent here.
Employee were attentive and very friendly, especially once you returned a second time.
I enjoyed drinking morning coffee on the deck and listening to the Ocean. In the evenings the restaurant fills up fast,
we would go either at 4pm or after 8 pm. Love the setting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place is in a prime location. Read a few reviews of people complaining about abandoned building next door, its PR, what do you expect? The bartenders pour a great mojito, the food is very good, our room had an outstanding view, and the staff was helpful and friendly.

We stayed here to wrap up a five night trip, staying in four different places over that course of time, and wanted a place close to airport but still nice. This was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 207, which we had, is the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I only had a few hours during a layover in San Juan and was recommended lunch at Hotel La Playa. Only 5 minutes away from the airport by taxi, $18 round trip. The food here is the freshest I've ever had; I swear they must have butchered the cow for my burger earlier that day. Girlfriend had chicken wrap, delicioso! Prices were fair, staff was great. I will be making another stop here just for the food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We loved the customer service oriented aim to please friendly staff- especially Jessica at the front desk! The rooms were very comfy and clean. The view from the deck was beautiful- except for the abandoned building on the left and the shabby looking building on the right! Beach is close by be sure to wear water shoes or sandals- I'd recommend eating out at other restaurants - bringing your own liquor- theirs is overly priced and not too many great choices!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was my second stay at Hotel la Playa. The hotel staff is attentive and friendly.
The rooms are not fancy, but they are clean. The beds are quite comfortable. A cooler and mini-fridge is provided in each room. Just bring your cooler down to the bar before heading to the beach and they will gladly fill it for you.
The hotel also provides you with beach towels if you ask.

The view from the bar/restaurant is fantastic and it's a wonderfully relaxing.

The free breakfast is my only complaint. It's just two cereal dispensers, white bread, and English muffins. It's not a continental breakfast at all.
Linda and Julio and all the staff were just wonderful and I highly recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.2 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#4 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,309 reviews
0.1 mi away
ESJ Towers
ESJ Towers
#11 of 14 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
0.5 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#7 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Playa

Address: 6 Calle Amapola, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 15-room motel-style hotel, restaurant and bar in Isla Verde - only 5 minutes from San Juan's airport. Only 10 steps to the best beach in San Juan from our front door. La Playita restaurant and bar on ocean-front deck for fantastic views. New 'Miami-style' design and decor feature new beds, flat-panel cable TV, air conditioning, new bathrooms and complementary continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Hotel
La Playa Carolina
Hotel La Playa Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.