We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Playa to your Saves list
Hotel La Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Calle Amapola, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two doors down and ate here every day for the most part. I was looking for Quenepas and one waiter Norbert Went out of his way and got them for me.. Friendly, down to earth , peaceful is what this place is... I love it.. Make sure you order playita salad!!! LOVED IT!!! Will come back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    36
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
45
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a hotel on a beautiful beach with authentic local charm and we found it at the La Playa. In many ways we felt that we hit a home run as our 5 night vacation there was very special. First, the great beach and ocean right outside the hotel with the clear warm water and wondrous sunsets. We went to the beaches on both sides of the hotel and preferred the Ritz side. Alberto and Julio and everyone else who worked at La Playa went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and having a good time. The beds were comfortable and the room was spotlessly cleaned everyday. The courtyard with the many orchids and other flowers created such a quaint tropical ambiance as did the evening sounds of the coqui frogs in the garden. We woke to a continental breakfast every morning sitting over ocean that sufficed until lunch time where we pursued some of the other great eateries in the area including the Metropol, Don Jose and Piu Bello, all within a block and a half away. We enjoyed a late dinner every night back at the Hotel restaurant where the food was so fresh and well presented. I had the local beers and my wife loved the pina coladas with the fresh coconut milk. Walgreens, the main strip in Isla Verde and the trolley stop into Old San Juan were also only minutes away. Security at the hotel and on the streets were great and we walked the neighborhood at night without a problem. We even went gambling at the Ritz and the El San Juan, both next door, an added attraction. If you are looking for a luxury vacation where the service is impersonal and prices are exorbitant then go to one of the grand hotels on the same block. But if you desire a lovely lodging by the beach at a moderate price then stay at La Playa. Can't wait to go back and swim in that clear warm water again.

Room Tip: We had room 207 with an ocean view and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

we were told about the restaurant attached to this hotel by friends, they said you can't go wrong. well, they were right. from the minute we sat down we were treated as friends, not guests. we had 2 coconut rum drinks, that are served in the coconut themselves. we had chicken mofongo for an appetizer... Outstanding. Also had the la playita salad & shrimp with ginger & coconut sauce. our server was Norbert who was so personable. make sure you visit this little slice of heavan

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Perfect location - the breakfast patio is atop the sea, and the other side has a beach view - all a few minutes from the airport. But this isn't a chain-hotel experience in Cleveland. Take a taxi rather than tackling the confusing, narrow route yourself. The furnishings aren't cookie-cutter. There are coqui frogs in the courtyard and crabs skitter near the deck. The breakfast buffet was tasty but not lavish. We supplemented it with a fresh coconut, theatrically hacked open by the bartender with a machete.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because it was close to the airport. There was no parking except on the street. The room was small and our view was of an alley with junk thrown down it. The breakfast was processed cheese and some kind of 'meat'. There is nothing about this hotel to recommend! It's also very hard to find and should stay that way.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertoPlayita, General Manager at Hotel La Playa, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We are close to the airport, but that should not be the reason to stay with us. We are sorry that the guests were disappointed with their stay, and would like to clarify other guests to all misunderstandings. Just some clearing up; we have parking available for six cars within the property and a thirty car parking lot across the street just 25 meters away, all free to our guests.

Our rooms are clean, quiet and updated. Sometimes we could be moving things around, as part of our improvement process, and building materials might have been placed behind a particular room since we are limited about storage due to our small footprint. We offer free continental breakfast, to which we also include american and swiss sliced cheese, hickory smoked Bolo ham from Farmland, boxed cereals and fresh fruits, all this is offered on our oceanfront restaurant while listening to a relaxing smooth jazz tunes.
We are certainly located away from the busy and noisy Isla Verde Avenue but nestled on the tip of a peninsula between the two beautiful beaches of Isla Verde.

As always, feel free to call us, and we will clarify any questions that you might have about our hotel, its restaurant or our beautiful island. Saludos from La Playita, Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut & NewJersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I knew I wanted to stay in Isla Verde especially since I love beachfront properties but I had a hard time finding something decent in my budget. After cancelling 2 hotel reservations when i came across Hotel la Playa I knew my boyfriend and i would love it here. I made my reservations over the phone with Linda who was very helpful. When we arrived and saw the view of the beach we were so amazed. Our ocean view room was pretty, clean and huge. it was PERFECT!! Yes the water pressure in the bathroom isnt the best but you can manage. The food here is kinda pricey but you have to try the drinks and monfongo which was delicious. Keep in mind there is free breakfast. There is also a cheaper good quality food at restaurant called Metropol (walking distance) I LOVE that you can catch a 75 cent bus to old san juan . (A cab would be about $20 each way )Take bus T5 OR 53 its about 30 minute scenic ride. Worth it!! TRUST ME! There is also a walgreens close by where I did purchase some souvenirs. THE LOCATION IS PERFECT dont waste money on overpriced hotels. Stay here for good service from an amazing staff and great views.

Room Tip: room 209 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Isla Verde is packed with the big hotel chains, but this adorable boutique hotel right on the water can't be beat. It has so much charming character. The rooms are clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is complimentary parking. Fall asleep to the sound of the coqui frogs. This hotel shares access to the same beach as The Palms. For a less crowded experience, walk up one block Calle Amapola, turn left on Calle Dalia and enter the beach there. That section of beach is more tranquil...though the Ritz Carlton and a few other hotels do share a section of it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Playa

Address: 6 Calle Amapola, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 15-room motel-style hotel, restaurant and bar in Isla Verde - only 5 minutes from San Juan's airport. Only 10 steps to the best beach in San Juan from our front door. La Playita restaurant and bar on ocean-front deck for fantastic views. New 'Miami-style' design and decor feature new beds, flat-panel cable TV, air conditioning, new bathrooms and complementary continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Hotel
La Playa Carolina
Hotel La Playa Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.