We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls/Poor Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6063 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$159 (USD)
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Paper thin walls/Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in a newly renovated room. It's not a true renovation but more of a cosmetic revamp. You can still see the rusty old ceilings in the bathroom. The walls are paper thin. VERY, VERY thin. People are just talking at normal volumes in their rooms and you can hear every little thing. It was difficult to sleep, but it was hard to complain since the people next door weren't even being loud. Just normal.

The porters are very friendly and responsible. The beach staff was on top of it, but the rest of the service was very poor with an attitude. Upon checking in, we were in the Hilton Honors line. There was one person checking everyone in and it was going very slow. When we got up to the counter, another employee came by and started asking the girl to stop working because she wanted to go chat. The woman helping us said "do you need anything?" No it was just to chat so the woman (luckily for us) finished with us and then just walked away even though 4 groups were behind us. Most of the staff seemed to work this way.

The food is overpriced which is to be expected because you are in a resort, but we ordered pancakes one day, $12 for microwave pancakes. We found a great place just outside the resort on the ocean for wonderful pancakes with fresh fruit and endless coffee or tea for $6. If I'm going to pay overpriced food, it should at least be decent tasting and not something I wouldn't even serve at home.

One night the power went out in Isla Verde. The hotels all have generators, but for some reason the EL San Juan hotel chose only to light the casino and the bar down in the lobby. The rooms and the rest of the resort stayed in complete darkness. I can't believe they would choose this over people being able to get to their rooms. This was in the evening too so no daylight through the windows. We walked over to the Intercontinental. They had everything going for their guests, the Ritz did too. So did the Chili's and Lupi's. But not the El San Juan hotel. They didn't even speak to the guests or put up notices as to when the power would be back on or try to use the generators for the rooms.

The beach is great. And as I said before the beach service was top notch. FYI you do have to pay extra for an umbrella, which is normal for the area, but just very different from most Caribbean resorts. It's $10 extra for an umbrella. The pools are large but not cleaned very well. There is a lot of foliage around (which is pretty) so it's impossible to have it perfectly pristine, but a lot of the problem seemed to be rocks, napkins, and more leaves than just a days worth. It's still clean enough to swim and feel fine, but just not as clean as you would expect.

Overall you just get a sense that the hotel is more interested in servicing their evening events like ladies night in the bar than really taking care of the hotel guests. It seems very much a night club first, casino second and oh yeah we are a resort in last place. We've also stayed at the Ritz and Intercontinental and I would suggest those locations before El San Juan.

Room Tip: Not sure where a good room is (we had partial ocean view) and the walls were paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanwilkerson, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand that there were some issues that inconvenienced you particularly the disruptive noises you experienced.

It is through feedback as yours that we evaluate ourselves and identify the areas where we can improve. I can assure you that your feedback has been taken into consideration and that we are actively looking at different options of more effectively soundproofing our property.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel and I do hope that if you are ever in town, you consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    576
    391
    231
    195
See reviews for
456
761
54
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

More pluses than minuses. The reason I gave it 3 stars is because the rooms should be nicer.

Good
- Pool area is fantastic
- Beach access is easy, with variety of rentals available
- Variety of restaraunts and clubs, especially on weekends
- Vibe/ambiance in lobby area
- Convenient to airport
- Upgraded to high floor room with nice ocean view

Cons
- Room was adequately clean but simple and plain

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanwilkerson, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I was delighted to read from your review that you enjoyed our pool and beach areas as well as enjoying our ambiance. We take great pride in offerings our guest with a large selection of amenities are we are always glad when we receive positive feedback. However, I do understand that in certain areas we did not meet your expectations. I am so sorry if you were not satisfied with your room and that you found it too simple. We are currently in the process of renovating our guest rooms in the main building which includes the bathrooms, and other facets of the room..

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Beautiful resort, fantastic pools, wonderful variety of restaurants, comfy beds, fun entertainment and dancing, shopping galore, well groomed, efficient security, light and airy decor in contemporary rooms... what more could you want... and it's only five minutes to the airport! Swim up bar, pool side bars, classy lobby with lush decor that you might find at the top hotels in NYC. The Italian restaurant near the elevator is very loud and small - the food is great but the size and noise make it almost unbearable - so I'd pass on it, unless it's for a very early or very late meal and your able to avoid even the smallest crowd. Tables are too close, prices a bit high, service was not the best - but you have a lot of options within the resort. There is a Ruth Christ Steak House next door - but you many not make it there. There is a great little pharmacy with in a few blocks, that has a ton of items you may need at great prices (especially if you're staying a longer period of time

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Came to San Juan and El San Juan hotel to attend family wedding. Location and hotel "chosen" for me. Although lobby and rooms decent, not what I came to expect from the Hilton brand [lobby nicer than room, which were relatively plain]. Service [front desk, concierge] EXTREMELY helpful. Food/drink on beach/pool VERY expensive Food at wedding [assume catered by hotel] excellent!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed there 4 nights in April before a cruise and overall a great experience. The grounds were beautiful with nice pools and beach. Room was showing some wear but was clean and spacious. Excellent sushi at Yamato and a fantastic meal at Koco with great service at both. Brother Jimmy's Bar B Q was a fun place, great service at the bar, ok service at our table experience and food is tasty. My only real complaint was the slow service at the swim up bar and the slow/rudeness from the bartenders and cocktail servers in the lobby. They acted like they were doing me a favor by serving me. One cocktail waitress greeted our table by saying "what do you want". Got a bottle of wine and the empty bottle sat there for 20 minutes and when she walked by she took empty bottle and never asked if we wanted more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San German, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The lobby at night offers live music. During the day you have a spectacular beach and pool. Great restaurants and excellent service. Boutique stores offers great products. Location is excellent very close to the airport and other nice hotels. You can explore the norther part of the island, old San Juan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

folks, food, drinks and facility rocked.. trained staff to 1st world prices and expectations was somewhat missing.. when you pay $50.00 for 2 room-service meals and get 1 glass of water for 2 people something's wrong.. when you want to charge $13 for a martini it better rock as well as the service.. you put the price on the page it should also represent the service and quality to go with it but it often fell short

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 6063 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel surrounded by 15 acres of landscaped grounds in fashionable Isla Verde district - 15 minutes from Old San Juan. El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel presents a perfect blend of tropical splendor, Old World elegance and vibrant culture. Redesigned guest rooms are bright and inviting- ideal for a retreat. Lounge at the beach or on the expansive Encanto Pool Complex featuring flowering gardens, and spacious sundeck, Olympic-sized pool, Fantasy swimming pool with swim-up bar, waterfall and whirlpools, private cabanas for rental or relax and rejuvenate at the Edourad de Paris Day Spa. Enjoy a vibrant and varied nightlife, choosing from nine on-site award wining restaurants, a world-class casino, plus 15 lounges, bars and nightclubs. One life to live? Live it up at El San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El San Juan Resort And Casino
El San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
El San Juan Hotel Casino
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carolina
El San Juan Hotel Puerto Rico
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.