We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6063 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$159 (USD)
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Long Beach, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall a pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beach, pool, lounge areas are the best. Drinks, food and some services overpriced. Very good staff. Valet service and resort fee are a ripoff but the room rates were reasonable A pleasant stay overall. Would do it again

Room Tip: For us the garden laneis are better than the tower. Closer to beach and pool with a patio or deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    585
    395
    238
    198
See reviews for
465
772
56
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lido Beach, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

As a very frequent guest at this property, I've seen numerous differences from stay to stay. When I last commented, about 3 months ago, I was somewhat disappointed. However, after 2 more stays this winter, I can honestly say that the services have really improved. The main issues were housekeeping and places to get food or a drink. The housekeeping has improved, and the various bars/ lunch or nosh places have expanded their hours and the menus. As always the front desk , beach, and concierge services are great. Try it, you will love the friendliness that makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I think it all depends on the room you receive and the staff you work with. I found some very helpful people (Albania) and some not so helpful staff (concierge, a few people at the front desk). In addition, our room was located near the elevator and we heard the elevator run all night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was my second year visiting the el San Juan and my family, friends and I had an amazing time! I travelled with my children and their friends. We had perfect weather every day! My kids went banana boat riding everyday, went jet skiing and we also took a snorkeling excursion to icacos island which I highly recommend . They also loved the secret alcoves and waterfalls by the pool. Next to the beautiful beach and pools, the nightly entertainment in the lobby had my teenage kids occupied for a whole week. They thoroughly enjoyed the bands that played several nights while we were there and we loved having Starbucks in two different locations within the hotel. The room we had was a vista room on the 9th floor which was very spacious and very clean with amazing views of the pool and ocean. Every staff member greeted us with a smile everyday. Whenever I left my room i was greeted by the cleaning staff and i was asked repeatedly if I needed shampoo, towels etc. Twice during our stay we arrived at our room after a day at the beach to find a beautiful tray of fruit, cheese and crackers and a nice note from the hotel manager Susan Wilkerson who by the way went the extra mile to help me with my reservation. Thank You Susan!! I have children ranging from 11 to 15 and they all had an amazing experience at the El San Juan! See you next year!!!!!!! :)

Room Tip: Request a room on the 9th floor with an odd number. Best views ever!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Family enjoyed yet another spring break El San Juan Resort. We have also stayed at Hilton and at Fajardo properties. HH member that would recommend to anyone. Great location and hotel. Close to a lot of good eats, local and chain. Grocery store just blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nicest beach on the island and close to many activities. The rooms were nice but dated a bit and could use renovation. Beach / pool excellent and the employees were all very friendly and helpful. Great experience/would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashotah, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

While traveling with my daughter, I reserved a room with 2 beds. I confirmed this reservation several days prior to arriving. Upon arrival I was informed that my "reservation" was a request only and no double beds were available. The attitude by the staff and manager was unacceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 6063 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel surrounded by 15 acres of landscaped grounds in fashionable Isla Verde district - 15 minutes from Old San Juan. El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel presents a perfect blend of tropical splendor, Old World elegance and vibrant culture. Redesigned guest rooms are bright and inviting- ideal for a retreat. Lounge at the beach or on the expansive Encanto Pool Complex featuring flowering gardens, and spacious sundeck, Olympic-sized pool, Fantasy swimming pool with swim-up bar, waterfall and whirlpools, private cabanas for rental or relax and rejuvenate at the Edourad de Paris Day Spa. Enjoy a vibrant and varied nightlife, choosing from nine on-site award wining restaurants, a world-class casino, plus 15 lounges, bars and nightclubs. One life to live? Live it up at El San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El San Juan Resort And Casino
El San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
El San Juan Hotel Casino
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carolina
El San Juan Hotel Puerto Rico
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.