We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay! Location, location, location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa del Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Villa del Sol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Calle Rosa, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Newnan, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay! Location, location, location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend getaway with 2 teens and an infant. It was perfect! Fly in to SJU, take a 5 minute $12 cab ride, check in, and walk 3 blocks to the beach!! You can rent cabanas and a beach umbrella for the day and swim in the warm, blue water all day! There's jet ski rentals on the beach also, but the teens were disappointed since you had to be 18 to ride alone. This is an older hotel, but think "quaint San Juan" and you won't be disappointed! It has 24 rooms, a small pool, pool bar, and small restaurant. It's located right off the "main strip" and walking distance to everything...lots of restaurants and stores, and the larger hotels with casinos. They rent bikes right in the lobby and there's a small car rental car company on site if you want to explore the island. Even tho the hotel is older, it is well maintained and very clean...it seemed like we always saw people cleaning! You can walk right across the street and get some of the best Cuban food I've ever had at Metropol! It's very popular so get there early at dinner time so you won't have to wait 1 hour! The staff at this quaint hotel were very friendly and helpful, with lots of advice on what to do and see. One young guy (wish I had his name!) working the midnight shift at the front desk even gave me $1.50 out of his own pocket for the soda machine when he didn't have change for my $20, when I had to bring the baby down to the lobby at 5am to play since he wouldn't sleep! I would definitely stay here again...we had a great time in San Juan and the Hotel Villa del Sol made it an affordable and pleasant stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    20
    15
    15
See reviews for
26
18
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My family and I stayed here on the way down to San Juan from New York It was a pleasant surprise. The suite (209) is huge and perfect for a family looking to spread out a little more. The pool was perfect. The staff was very kind and helpful. (Walter stood out as my personal favorite.) The location is perfect. Just a minute from Casinos and night life and about a 10 minute walk to Old San Juan. I will make it a point to stay here in the future

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed one night after a cruise. Easy access to the airport. Hotel was older and basic, but clean. The staff was helpful and we checked in early and only waited a short time by the clean pool area before the room was cleaned and ready. The young man running the bar was extremely nice and helpful with directions. We had some good snacks at the bar and the drink specials were a bargain. The area is near larger hotels and casinos and the beach area is expansive with a lot of places to rent chairs, umbrellas etc. Our room was on the street side and had some minor outside noise to deal with, but nothing material. The room was on the main level which was nice because I do not think the hotel had an elevator. The location was just off a major street so it felt perfectly safe during the daytime and early evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Villa del Sol in Carolina, Puerto Rico is an inexpensive property located a very short distance from the beach. The staff is pleasant and accommodating. This small hotel has a pool and has a bar and restaurant--not open on Tuesdays. I have been there several times over the years for one night stays, but it looks like a good place for families on a budget. The one thing I did not like was that rooms have carpeting that I felt was not too clean. Don't know why they don't pull them up and go with tiles--would look & feel much cleaner.

Room Tip: Don't know if they have rooms without carpeting, but I believe that if available, those would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Went there with a couple of friends for the holidays and it was great. Very convenient location and fair price. Walter, the guy at the front desk was very diligent to help us with the check in and gave us advice about the hotel amenities and things to do. The staff at the bar was very friendly as well, the room was clean and it felt like being home. We also spent some time at the pool which was also clean :) I would definitely come back here, we had a blast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Worst hotel stay of my life! Starting with the owner- what a rude and unpleasent human being! He screams to the front desk agents in front of guests and will pick a fight even with customers. When i first came to check in he was screaming and fighting with a customer right there in front of everyone. THERE GOES OUR FIRST IMPRESSION!! I personally work in the hospitality industry where the standard is that "the customer is always right" NOT IN THIS HOTEL!! The room- Seriously,they haven't cleaned the carpets like in 10 years! IT IS FILTHY! the paint job is horrible. Walls have like 3 different kinds of yellow paint that cover up any spots they have missed thru the years! The beds and furnishings in the rooms i can bet they came from someones house when they replaced their old ones. Everything is outdated. The room smelled so i thought Id open the windows to let some freah air in. GOOD LUCK! You need keys to open the windows and your lucky if they got them. The bathrooms have medicine cabinets from the '90's. No water pressure at all which we were told "its always like this". Towels were stained and they still have comforters on their beds! I wonder how many times they have washed those? The TV is nice but they give u the remote with the key when u check in. Of course, i asked why? The answer- so people dont steal them! The pool is nice but it closes at 6pm! And u cant bring food or drinks to the pool if u dont buy it from them! THE BAR/REST WAS CLOSED FOR MY 2 DAY STAY!! Talking to other guest about how ridiculous this rule was,they told me that when it is open the bartender attacks u every five minutes asking if u are gonna buy something. STAFF- is friendly but customer service is horrible! I asked for some kind of compensation since i didnt receive all the amenities the hotel supposedly offered and the answer from the "hotel manager" was a straight NO! I explained that my room was not painted,blinds were covered in dust and that the bar didnt open any of the days of my stay. The answer- "u had 10 min when u checked in to come back and get your money back, you stayed 2 days so u pay two days! " One other thing, I overheard the rude owner telling a guest that they have security at night. STRAIGHT UP LIE! What they have os an older gentleman u used to be a policeman (as he says) and carries a gun(supposedly) while working the front desk between naps! (caught him sleeping both nights) SHADY HUH? Puerto Rico is a beautiful island but it needs to step up in the travel and tourism industry! For the same price a week is going to cost u in a small B/B like this one ($100-$120 per night), i recommend u go to the DOMINICAN REPUBLIC to a all-invlusive hotel and get treated like a king/queen by their staff your entire stay!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I tried very, very hard not to hate this place but it was an absolute mess. There was one woman working there that night doing every possible job. She was the receptionist, cleaning lady, bartender, and valet all in one. The room was small and cramped despite having been booked for 5 adults. The towels looked dirty, the only way into the bathroom was through the bedroom, and just being in the hotel made me itch. Then, to top everything off, the doorknob was broken, It would jam every time I tried to open it and then would just come right off the door. We didn't even stay the night. after an hour or so we managed to get a room at the Intercontinental and left this place as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Sol

Address: 4 Calle Rosa, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sol
Del Sol Hotel
Hotel Villa Del Sol Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.