We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa del Sol

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa del Sol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Calle Rosa, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
New York City, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My family and I stayed here on the way down to San Juan from New York It was a pleasant surprise. The suite (209) is huge and perfect for a family looking to spread out a little more. The pool was perfect. The staff was very kind and helpful. (Walter stood out as my personal favorite.) The location is perfect. Just a minute from Casinos and night life and about a 10 minute walk to Old San Juan. I will make it a point to stay here in the future

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    13
    13
    14
See reviews for
17
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed one night after a cruise. Easy access to the airport. Hotel was older and basic, but clean. The staff was helpful and we checked in early and only waited a short time by the clean pool area before the room was cleaned and ready. The young man running the bar was extremely nice and helpful with directions. We had some good snacks at the bar and the drink specials were a bargain. The area is near larger hotels and casinos and the beach area is expansive with a lot of places to rent chairs, umbrellas etc. Our room was on the street side and had some minor outside noise to deal with, but nothing material. The room was on the main level which was nice because I do not think the hotel had an elevator. The location was just off a major street so it felt perfectly safe during the daytime and early evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Villa del Sol in Carolina, Puerto Rico is an inexpensive property located a very short distance from the beach. The staff is pleasant and accommodating. This small hotel has a pool and has a bar and restaurant--not open on Tuesdays. I have been there several times over the years for one night stays, but it looks like a good place for families on a budget. The one thing I did not like was that rooms have carpeting that I felt was not too clean. Don't know why they don't pull them up and go with tiles--would look & feel much cleaner.

Room Tip: Don't know if they have rooms without carpeting, but I believe that if available, those would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Went there with a couple of friends for the holidays and it was great. Very convenient location and fair price. Walter, the guy at the front desk was very diligent to help us with the check in and gave us advice about the hotel amenities and things to do. The staff at the bar was very friendly as well, the room was clean and it felt like being home. We also spent some time at the pool which was also clean :) I would definitely come back here, we had a blast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Worst hotel stay of my life! Starting with the owner- what a rude and unpleasent human being! He screams to the front desk agents in front of guests and will pick a fight even with customers. When i first came to check in he was screaming and fighting with a customer right there in front of everyone. THERE GOES OUR FIRST IMPRESSION!! I personally work in the hospitality industry where the standard is that "the customer is always right" NOT IN THIS HOTEL!! The room- Seriously,they haven't cleaned the carpets like in 10 years! IT IS FILTHY! the paint job is horrible. Walls have like 3 different kinds of yellow paint that cover up any spots they have missed thru the years! The beds and furnishings in the rooms i can bet they came from someones house when they replaced their old ones. Everything is outdated. The room smelled so i thought Id open the windows to let some freah air in. GOOD LUCK! You need keys to open the windows and your lucky if they got them. The bathrooms have medicine cabinets from the '90's. No water pressure at all which we were told "its always like this". Towels were stained and they still have comforters on their beds! I wonder how many times they have washed those? The TV is nice but they give u the remote with the key when u check in. Of course, i asked why? The answer- so people dont steal them! The pool is nice but it closes at 6pm! And u cant bring food or drinks to the pool if u dont buy it from them! THE BAR/REST WAS CLOSED FOR MY 2 DAY STAY!! Talking to other guest about how ridiculous this rule was,they told me that when it is open the bartender attacks u every five minutes asking if u are gonna buy something. STAFF- is friendly but customer service is horrible! I asked for some kind of compensation since i didnt receive all the amenities the hotel supposedly offered and the answer from the "hotel manager" was a straight NO! I explained that my room was not painted,blinds were covered in dust and that the bar didnt open any of the days of my stay. The answer- "u had 10 min when u checked in to come back and get your money back, you stayed 2 days so u pay two days! " One other thing, I overheard the rude owner telling a guest that they have security at night. STRAIGHT UP LIE! What they have os an older gentleman u used to be a policeman (as he says) and carries a gun(supposedly) while working the front desk between naps! (caught him sleeping both nights) SHADY HUH? Puerto Rico is a beautiful island but it needs to step up in the travel and tourism industry! For the same price a week is going to cost u in a small B/B like this one ($100-$120 per night), i recommend u go to the DOMINICAN REPUBLIC to a all-invlusive hotel and get treated like a king/queen by their staff your entire stay!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I tried very, very hard not to hate this place but it was an absolute mess. There was one woman working there that night doing every possible job. She was the receptionist, cleaning lady, bartender, and valet all in one. The room was small and cramped despite having been booked for 5 adults. The towels looked dirty, the only way into the bathroom was through the bedroom, and just being in the hotel made me itch. Then, to top everything off, the doorknob was broken, It would jam every time I tried to open it and then would just come right off the door. We didn't even stay the night. after an hour or so we managed to get a room at the Intercontinental and left this place as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Convenient location close to airport and beaches. About the most likeable staff we encountered on the island. Some free parking adjacent to the hotel. Many restaurants within easy walking. Cockfight arena just across the street.

Room Tip: Internet okay near lobby. Spotty elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Sol

Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sol
Del Sol Hotel
Hotel Villa Del Sol Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Address: 4 Calle Rosa, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa del Sol 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Villa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.