We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4820 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    227
    188
    88
    69
See reviews for
236
214
53
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Good value very Friendly staff Great location
The worst or blem was that The tub didn't drain properly .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Bayla R:

Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson hotel in Isla Verde! I’m glad you enjoyed our staff’s friendly service and our centric location. I do apologize for the inconvenient you encountered, but I hope this dosen’t discourage you to stay with us again, as we guarantee to provide you a memorable experience. Have a happy day!

Sincerely,

Felipe Cervantes- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel staff was very welcoming and the hotel room was clean and nice.Had a lot of channel.The rate was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Abbey S:

Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson hotel in Isla Verde! I’m glad you enjoyed our staff’s kind service, the cleanliness of our rooms and our great rates. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Felipe Cervantes- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed last week at hojo in Isla Verde...I had stayed here in past and though room was fine the staff (management ) was at Times rude....I must say this place has made an incredible change for the good....the staff were incredibly helpful they even helped me with my car! So friendly and courteous ...they now have a beautiful pool and a great restaurant in the premises with gourmet meals at decent rates...I highly recommend this hotel....the actualv rooms can use some primping but looks like they are getting there ....and they were very clean .....will def stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Glendah11218:

Thank you for letting us serve you at our Howard Johnson hotel in Isla Verde! I am more than happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations through our friendly service and amenities. As you know, we are working on improving our product and services even more, so I hope you can be a part of it in the near future. Have a happy day!

Sincerely,

Felipe Cervantes- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you want a decent hotel at a decent price at peak season, then you've to book well in advance. If you run out of options in Old San Juan and start looking further out, Howard Johnson may be your only option that isn't lowly rated.

It is at a prominent place in Isla Verde, Carolina, right off the highway. Parking on premises for $8 a day although I had a mail confirmation that said $6.50 from my booking company.

Room was pretty standard budget star hotel stuff, with a King size bed. They also have a pool which was fairly occupied during the day.

The breakfast is a joke. It was muffins, cereal and some fruits. The crowd for this complimentary breakfast was so large that the seating area was not sufficient. We had to wait for sometime till someone cleared their table and had to jump in to 2 vacant seats at a larger table. We decided to skip breakfast here the next day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear the_0ne:

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I’m glad that our accommodations were able to satisfy your needs. However, I’m sorry that our breakfast menu and services didn’t meet your expectations. We are working to improve our breakfast experience, so I hope this dosen’t discourage you to stay again with us in the future so that we can improve this experience. Have a happy day!

Sincerely,

Felipe Cervantes- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#7 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
ESJ Towers
ESJ Towers
#11 of 14 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
0.6 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan

Address: 4820 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Carolina
Carolina Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Puerto Rico
Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.