We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a last minute trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4820 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for a last minute trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My girlfriends & I planned a weekend in PR to celebrate birthdays but this was a last minute trip. We had very little lead time to plan so this hotel was perfect since it was across the street from the beach. They had a pool that was very beautiful, a little unexpected for this hotel. Unfortunately, not all of the lounge chairs around the pool were in the sun; some were under an awning so we spent most of our time during the day at the beach. They still gave us pool towels that we took to the beach. The staff at the front desk was great and friendly. They have a pizza place that is in the lobby that also has a full bar if you wanted to get a drink & bring it to the pool or up to your room. The ice machine is only on the 4th floor though, not on every floor. Parking at the hotel was free for hotel guests.The rooms were very clean but they were cheap on the towels so we had to ask the maid everyday for extra towels. The room was facing the street so we heard a little bit of the traffic during the day but nothing that kept you up at night (we were on the 6th floor). Its walking distance to a lot of great restaurants & across the street from some of the big hotels that have great nightlife. The only bad thing I could say about this hotel was the smell in the lobby. I dont know what it was...mold or bug spray but we smelled it as soon as we walked in every day & night. We didnt smell it in the elevators or on any of the floors.

Room Tip: try to get a room on a higher floor so you hear less of the traffic outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen M, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Diricos,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us since we value each and every guest's opinion. We are also delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall; especially the location, room and staff. However, we are apologetic for the bad smell at the lobby area . We will continue to improve and make every effort to ensure that all of our guests have a great and memorable stay with us. We look foward to welcoming you back soon. We love having you here!

Best Regards,
Carmen Maldonado - Hotel Manager
cmaldonado@empresassantana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    227
    188
    88
    69
See reviews for
236
214
53
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Windsor, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

First impressions mean alot so when you encounter that musty, moldy smell in the foyer... well...Check in staff very helpful and it's treat to see the outdoor pool right off the main foyer. Parking is $6 a day (reasonable) and immediately behind the hotel.

We were in a street-facing, 3rd story room. Room is small, with two double beds, a desk, mini-fridge and microwave. Tiny window, not so much light but we weren't there to hang out in the room anyway. Bathroom OK. Didn't need to use the AC because the evenings were cool enough - just left the window open a crack.

Which brings me to the evening noises: between the cars jacked up with sound systems worthy of a rock concert venue, the garbage trucks, and the hot shots revving between speed bumps, it was (for me - a light sleeper) a sketchy two nights of sleep. My husband heard nothing.

The hotel is across the street from beautiful beaches and we had some lovely strolls.

Breakfast is standard fare - mostly carbs - some fruit, juice etc. The view from the 10th floor where they serve it is worth having a linger.

Not sure I'd stay there (on that level/street orientation) again unless I absolutely had no other choice.

Room Tip: Check the reviews to see which rooms are quietest! Don't face the street if you can help it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen M, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear N&YinNY,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. Feedback like yours is very important to us as it gives us an opportunity to improve. We are pleased that you decided to choose Howard Johnson, Carolina and that you were satisfied with our location, parking fee and check in staff. However, we are apologetic for your dessatisfaction with the noise coming from the main street. If you leave the room window open the noise can bather. To enjoy a more quiet room we recommed that you request a room on the first floor on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Carmen Maldonado - Hotel Manager
cmaldonado@empresassantana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The hotel was nothing spectular. It was clean but needed a newer look in the rooms.The pool area was great as well as the lobby and sitting area.The staff was excellent. A great location only 12 minutes from the airport and the beach was across the street with easy acess.Nice restaurants in walking distance.My only complaint was the maid service left a lot to be desired, and the two rooms I stayed in diffently needed new carpeting.Our first room had no view due to a big Hi-rise blocking it but on our second stay we had an end room with a great view ,so ask for a end room if you want a view ,would I go back YES Good Value .The buffet breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen M, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Captain Norm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about the Howard Johnson, Carolina. We are delighted that you liked our pool, lobby area and location. We are also proud that our excellent staff meet your expectations. I'm taking notes about the room recommendation and guarantee you that we will take it in consideration. Hope to see you here in the near future. We will be waiting for you! Always at your service.

Best Regards,

Carmen Maldonado
Hotel Manager
cmaldonado@empresassantana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here before and only returned because the web site said or was remolded. Our room and bath were old and our bedding was damp. We were on the 7th floor. During the night a roach walking on us awoke us! They no longer serve a cook to order breakfest and their great long lounge bar has been removed and a hot pizza place has been added. The front desk clerk did not know where the business center was printing off boarding passes. Our group had 3 rooms, one worse then the other. My recommendation is spend a little more money and go down the street!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen M, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about the hotel. Feedback like yours is very important to us as it give us the opportuity to improve our service to you and other guests. Once we are aware fo any dissatisfaction we make every effort to resolve the problem and or make amends. Please feel free to contact me anytime so I can apologize personally and discuss further. We do hope that in future you will decide to stay with us once again. We do love having you here!

Best Regards,

Carmen Maldonado
Hotel Manager
cmaldonado@empresassantana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed on a room on the 8th floor during our visit. It was clean and quiet, and comes with a microwave oven and a fridge, which is quite convenient. The lady at the front desk was very attentive to our needs and requests. Considering the location and the price, I would definitely go back to the hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen M, Hotel Mananger at Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our attentive staff. Come back soon!! We will be waiting for you!

Best Regards,

Carmen Maldonado
Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson
Isla Verde, Carolina
cmaldonado@empresassantana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Great value! Beautiful interior lobby and well-designed BEAUTIFUL pool -- it's right across the street from the beach, super clean, great staff and popular has a popular local Pizza/Pasta restaurant within the hotel! This was my second stay here via Priceline and I hope to return again. Isla Verde has a beautiful beach and the chic Cafe La Pláge is right across the street! GREAT VALUE! GREAT STAFF!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen M, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us about your stay at Howard Johnson, Isla Verde. We are pleased that you decided to choose our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.We look foward to welcoming you soon. We love to have you here!

Best Regards,
Carmen Maldonado
Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson
Isla Verde, Carolina
cmaldonado@empresassantana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel is really great it's close to so many night outings ,beaches extc. The emplyees really know how to treat a guest

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen M, Hotel Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about the hotel. We are pleased that you decided to choose our hotel and that you were satisfied. Looking foward to welcoming you back soon. We will be waiting for you!
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#7 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
ESJ Towers
ESJ Towers
#11 of 14 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
0.6 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan

Address: 4820 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Carolina
Carolina Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Puerto Rico
Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Carolina/San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.