We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$129 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

The staff really needs to be reconsidered. While I was staying at the Embassy Suites, I had all sort of trouble and they either kept me ignored or came up with a temporary solution until I left. That is not the way to treat a guest.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    492
    227
    95
    37
See reviews for
507
309
41
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

We stayed at the Embassy Suites from February 12, 2007 to February 16, 2007. We chose the Embassy Suites based on reviews on Trip Advisor. Thank you! Before we finished stepping into our room on our day of arrival, the telephone was ringing to make sure our room was satisfactory and to again welcome us to Puerto Rico and to the hotel. The staff could not do enough for you, every one of the staff made you feel welcomed. The room was cleam, the bed so very comfortable. The hotel is a short taxi ride to Old San Juan and many attractions, and 2 blocks from the beach and a few minutes to the airport. You may choose to stay at a more fancier hotel, but you will not get better service or treated better. We were working on our return plans before we landed back at home.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

Stayed here for 5 nights over President's weekend at $300 a night because the hotel that we usually stay in was charging $450. a night. Convenient to airport. Noise of planes and highway nearby didn't bother us. Poolside waterfalls and music tend to mask noise. Pool area is very nice with hot tub, kiddie pool, bar with food service, tables, plenty of lounges so you can get a seat even if you don't get there until 9:00-9:30 AM. Buffet breakfast was excellent with made to order eggs, fruit, yogurt, breads, juices, meats. Manager's cocktail party every night for 2 hours with free drinks, pretzels, chips, etc. Restaurants are somewhat limited (Outback on premises and Embassy kitchen). We took taxis to Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (expensive) at Intercontinental Hotel, Il Mulino (expensive) at Ritz Carlton, The Ranch (moderate) at El San Juan Hotel. The Holiday Inn is directly across street and Asian restaurant there is reasonable priced and very good. You can save a lot of money on lunch by walking one block to small shopping center which has a Burger King, Subway, bakery, mini market, ice cream store, Ponderosa. We found the Embassy Suites to be very family oriented.
One Complaint----when we went to check out, there were two taxes on our bill which came to about $50 a day additional. We had booked on their website which stated that there was only an 11% tax. They have added on a new tax since January 1, 2007 but they took this tax off our bill since we had booked before that date and brought our printout with us.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedham
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2007

great hotel loved the location inbetween the airport and the cruise port.the room was really clean and the coffee maker,but room 332 is kinda spooked

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pool cold
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

Embassy Suites Hotel is an average hotel, with some nice features for the $$. I usually like to stay at more upscale resorts, but this was a last minute trip booked with friends.
Pros:
-This hotel is literally 5 minutes from the airport so the cab fare is about 12 dollars
-Breakfast is inlcuded and they have fruit, omlettes, cereal, french toast, eggs, etc. It is also served until 10am, which is nice.
-Drinks at the pool are cheap
-Free cocktails from 5:30-7:30
-Very close to El San Juan Hotel

Cons:
-Casino is TINY
-Noise from the airport is slightly annoying while at the pool
-Maid service was erratic (one day they didn't come until 6pm) and we sent them away because we all needed to shower and get ready for dinner.
-Bathrooms were definitely in need of an upgrade (lots of chipped tile/grout)

Overall this is a perfect place if you want an inexpenseive hotel with some free drinks. I would not stay here again unless I was on a budget. There's much more going on at the El San Juan Hotel and it's much nicer. We did overpay for this hotel since we went over MLK weekend, but it served it's purpose. Pool area was nice, drinks were great, and people were warm and friendly.

  • Liked — Free cocktails (order the Blue Seduction)
  • Disliked — Maid Service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

We just got back from a weekend at this hotel and were very impressed. In fact, we booked it because of other positive reviews we found on TripAdvisor! The staff here were very accomodating and friendly. I requested a room above the 4th floor facing the pool and they switched us right away. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and although Isla Verde doesn't have too many attractions, we found this to be a good base. Everything was clean and the breakfast buffet had a good selection.

The only thing I wasn't impressed with in this area of San Juan was the high price of taxis. This obviously had nothing to do with the hotel; but I was surprised that a 5 minute drive from the airport cost us $10. A short drive to Old San Juan (about 8-10 minutes away) was $20. We tried to negotiate but were told by the hotel reception that different cabs charge different rates and that's just the way it is.

Other than that, though, we had a fabulous stay!

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — A little loud in the lobby and nothing too interesting - other than the beach - nearby
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights prior to our cruise (1/10-1/13/07.) We were very pleased with the hotel.

The rooms were clean and spacious, the pool was very large and beautifully landscaped, there was a hot tub and also a kiddie pool. The free breakfast was good and plentiful, and the nightly Manager's cocktail party was a bonus (and no, they don't skimp on the alcohol and you can order a couple drinks at a time.)

We appreciated having the Outback steakhouse on site, and evening entertainment wasn't loud enough to be heard in the bedrooms but you could hear it a little in the front t.v. room of your suite.

There are plenty of places to eat and shop nearby such as Pizza Hut, Mi Casita, Burger King, Ponderosa, Walgreens and Pueblo grocery store. We were able to catch a city bus two blocks away that took us all the way to Old San Juan for $1.50 each way. The bus was clean and modern with A/C.

There was also free internet access, but it was pretty slow. This brings me to probably my only complaint: there is an additional resort fee added to all bookings this year for "high speed internet, pool toys"...etc. There were no pool toys and as I mentioned the internet connection was very slow. While I don't need these things, I think I shouldn't have to pay for them if they don't even exist. Nonetheless, this place is still a very good value and much nicer than a typical, boring, cookie-cutter type hotel.

We would stay here again if we visit San Juan.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The hotel is also very close to the Luis Munoz Marin Intl. Airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a free made-to-order breakfast every morning and two hours of complimentary drinks every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.