We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Safe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$129 Rates & 5000 Points
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean and Safe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

The hotel itself is pretty good. Embassy Suites is typically a quality product, and the hotel in San Juan is no different. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and I felt safe the entire time I was there. Other good points would include the managers reception and the complimentary breakfast.

The problem with this hotel is its location. On one hand, it is really close to the airport, so cab-fares were low ($12 each way). On the other hand, the beautiful pool area sits right next to the motorway, so as you are laying out, soaking in the sun - you hear 18 wheelers downshifting, and music blasting from car radio's! I spent exactly 20 minutes by the wonderful pool, because I honestly felt like I was swimming in a pool dropped smack in the middle of a busy highway (which of course - I was)!

So I walked to the beach everyday, which was three blocks away. The beach itself is gorgeous. You can rent a beachchair from the El San Juan Hotel for the entire day for $5 and listen to the waves crashing against the white sand beach (which is how a vacation should be). The only problem with this scenario is, the 3 block walk between the Embassy Suites and the beach is a little sketchy. There is a lot of trash along the walkway, and then to get to the final block, you have to cross Isla Verde Avenue, which is a busy road and there is no crossing signal.

Overall, it's not a bad option. For my tastes though, next time rather than spend $200 a night for the Embassy Suites, I'll fork out the extra $40 a night and stay at the El San Juan or Intercontinental right on the beach.

  • Liked — Safe and Clean - walking distance to Isla Verde beach
  • Disliked — Fantastic Pool area sits directly next to the motorway!!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlMEmbassy, GM at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 3, 2009
Dear brzbk,

Thank you for answering the review we're sorry you didn't like our pool. I understand you did like the beach and had to rent chairs from the San Juan which is our sister hotel. The next time you visit us, you could get beach chairs from our property and they are free to our guest. Just ask at the front desk.


Best Wishes
Luis GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    553
    245
    105
    43
See reviews for
576
357
44
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

I stayed here on a business trip. I was pleasantly surprised to learn of the free breakfast buffet which is actually pretty good! The staff was capable and the rooms were extra clean. The rooms did show a little bit of wear; but, I would definitely stay here again if i was in th area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlMEmbassy, GM at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Dear Balad,

Thank you for answering the review, it's our pleasure to serve you and meet your expectations. We hope to be your choice again on your next trip to Puerto Rico.


Best Wishes
Luis G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Just returned from a trip to San Juan for a cruise. We stayed twice during this time at the Embassy Suites, San Juan. I will begin by saying the staff, front desk personnel,bartenders, waiters, buffet area servers, etc, are all very hard working dedicated people. They are courteous and go out of their way to make your stay to your liking.
That being said, I must say that the room quality is becoming an issue. We stayed there last year and at that time I thought the rooms needed some upgrading. They are not lighted properly, very dim in front room area. The sofa sleepers on both of these trips were not worthy to be slept on. We had another couple with us and they said they were just horrible as far as comfort. Also they need to get the latest flat screen TV's. The ones they have are ancient. The rooms just look worn out and need some new decor and brightness.

  • Liked — the cocktail hour and complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — the 14% resort fee, way to high. Sofa sleepers are terrible
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlMEmbassy, GM at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Dear 1037 Wolf,

Thank you for answering the review, it's our pleasure to inform you that we have changed our old tv's for new plasma tv as you requested. Your comments are very important to us, and we hope to see you on your next trip.

Best Wishes
Luis G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

I highly recommend this hotel because it was in such a beautiful isolated location, the rooms were large and very clean, wonderful service and breathtaking landscaping. There are three pools and a jaquzzi with the beach only footsteps away. A great deal with well-rounded quality.

  • Liked — Indoor/Outdoor bungalo setup
  • Disliked — Unexpected hotel fee charges
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlMEmbassy, G.M at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Dear BronxBorinquen,

Thank you for your comments on our property. We're happy to know you enjoyed staying with us. We hope you could come again, and enjoy our new plasma tv's and other changes we have made to the property.

Best Wishes
Luis G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

Spent 2 nights at the Embassy Suites - San Juan Hotel and Casino and was very pleased with this property. Check in was pain free and all staff seemed genuinely friendly and willing to help. The complimentary breakfast and free drinks in the evening were an added plus. My 2 room suite was clean and well appointed with modern furnishings. The beach is only 2 blocks away and countless dining options are within easy walking distance.
The only draw backs to this hotel were the lack of in-room wireless service and the expensive taxi fare to the shops of Old San Juan. However, if you're travelling to escape work rather than accomplish it this fact should not bother you. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and will stay there again on my next trip to San Juan.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of in room Internet access.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlMEmbassy, GM at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Dear TickleMeIrish,
Thank you for answering the review. It's our pleasure to serve you, and make you feel at home. Our staff is very dedicated to service, and love to go the extra mile to please our guest. Recently we had installed a new wireless system in all the rooms and conference rooms. Next time you come to visit us, you shouldn't have any trouble with your wireless connection; just enter the internet code and your on your way. In reference to the taxi's you have the option of taking the public transportation for .75 cents to San Juan. If you need further help the front desk will gladly help you. Luis GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

Very clean, well kept Embassy Suites. Free morning breakfast and evening drinks as with most Embassy Suites.
The pool area is absolutely beautiful. Definitely not your typical hotel pool.
I found the staff to be friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable.
Taxi to old San Juan, $21.

Would stay here again

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojorev
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed at the Embassy Suites on the before and after leg of a 7 day cruise.... 2 different rooms. The views from our rooms were horrible and the hotel is a few blocks from the beach. The 8 story echoing atrium is not at all condusive to the live loud playing bands they host every Fri & Sat night. Don't stay here if you want to sleep before 12 AM because the sounds reverberate throughout the entire property. I called to complain but the night desk manager didn't seem to care that I paid over $300/nt (incl taxes). They were more sympathic to the 5 people listening to the band. Even worse, each night my wife and I scratched from what I believe were bed bugs. Yet, we didn't itch at all during our 7 day cruise. The room had an odd stench that is consistent with that of bed bug infestation. The free morning breakfasts and afternoon happy hour was nice but not at the expense of basic accommodations.

  • Liked — convenient to airport
  • Disliked — bed bugs
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The newly renovated hotel is also very close to the Luis Munoz Marin Intl. Airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a free made-to-order breakfast every morning and two hours of complimentary drinks every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.