We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 day stay in San Juan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $100 Credit
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
A TripAdvisor Member
“10 day stay in San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Hotel was very clean and well kept. Staff was pleasant and professional. Nice big breakfast buffet to start your day. Good location to beach and shopping. Quality good for price. We had an issue with the TV initially and a different one was brought to the room immediately.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    605
    263
    113
    47
See reviews for
627
389
49
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Close to the airport. Knowledgable taxis available almost 24/7 (Gustavo was the BEST!). Stayed 5 days/4 nights before our 7-day cruise (super trip, right???). Hotel staff worked hard and had good customer service. Quick check-in (around 4pm & we had a party of at 7 with multiple rooms). Housekeeping team was a little thin and cleaned our rooms late sometimes but were available in the halls if we needed anything right away. Updated baths with all fixtures in working condition (beach was a straight shot about 3 blocks away so we took lots of showers to get the sand off). Updated mini bar station with sink, mini-fridge, microwave & counter. Comfy beds with all newish linens & lots of pillows. Lots of elevators (never had to take the steps). Full service breakfast EVERY morning, even on weekends (the earlier you get there, the better on weekends only, if you don't like waiting but no big deal to us to wait about 5-10 min to get served). Had hot & cold food options (cereal, fruit, yogurt, pancakes & omelettes cooked to order, bacon, sausage, multiple juice stations with diff juices & bread options, etc.) for 2-4 hrs (longer on weekends). Were in no rush to clean up. Fed everyone who came down (within reason). Weren't tied to a clock. BEST thing is the 2 hour evening reception with UNLIMITED alcoholic drinks served TWO at a time with nice snack (chips/dip, etc.). I'm big on cleanliness, ambiance & presentation, not so much if they are serving lobster....so it was VERY nice. THIS EVENT also went on longer if needed to accommodate for the crowd. AAAA+ to the Concierge team. They were always ready to help (wish I could remember their names). You couldn't tell who was a manager and who wasn't. They even ordered our pizza for us (duh, you're in PR....local businesses mostly speak Spanish ONLY!). You are in another country. Don't compare it to anywhere else. Just enjoy that it was a truly different experience. Used the nice, clean fitness center each AM & did ALL our laundry the day before we checked out for our cruise while we worked out. It was easily accessible & drama-free. Pool was also great!! Had waterfall & NICE hot tub! We spent most of our time at the beach or here. They let you bring your food/drinks poolside/hot tub-side. No one bothers you but you don't pool side attendant was around when we needed him (ex. for some reason, the waterfall & the hot tub wasn't on; no biggie, he turned them on).

I hear they are going under construction (new pool ((they were starting the day we checked out)), rooms, etc.). So give them a break. They are overall a great place.

Only really BAD thing is.....the Outback Steakhouse inside the hotel was CRAP!!!! Hostess carried on a 15-20 min personal convo (in Spanish, of course) w/o acknowledging us & then gave us the newest server on the block. He was poorly trained but really tried (classic mess ups like wrong order placed & not enough silverware) but I blame that restaurant, NOT THE HOTEL!!!

They prob oversell their casino & nightclub (the club is inside the casino & both are quite laughably small). The team was awesome though (they let our large party watch the Baltimore Ravens football game on the big screens inside the "club").

Overall, 5/5! This is what the average hotel needs to be successful!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The staff ath the San Juan Embassy was very helpful. They were very responsive to all of our needs during our stay. We really enjoyed the extra space in the suites, the daily full breakfast, and the fact that the hotel was located within a block of the beach. I would definateky stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

La Placita market/coffee bar inside this Embassy Suites has amazing fresh ground espresso beans. The cappuccinos and lattes (frozen or hot) are delicious. This was the best cappuccino/latte I've had in a long time. These coffees were my favorite aspect of the hotel, as they were outstanding, whereas the hotel overall was average.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Pros-close to beach with a short 2 block walk; nice pool; nice free breakfast; grocery store around corner which is walkable; lots of restaurants around you can walk to; close to airport; pool is nice; parking deck if you rent a car; typically have taxis standing by

Cons-front desk and check-in VERY slow; gym is small and fills easily to point you are tripping over each other; not enough help cleaning tables during breakfast; room sometimes not finished until after 4 pm cleaning; items not restocked in room and bathroom daily; furniture and decor in rooms needs updated.....peeling wall paper, chipped paint, worn chairs, AND pull out couch/bed absolutely TERRIBLE!

We are Hilton Honor members and always pick the Hilton family of hotels, but we would find somewhere else to stay in Puerto Rico before picking this Embassy again.....it was sub par compared to their typical standards

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Arrived late evening for a one-night stay before driving west. Picked Embassy Suites chain for the for spacious rooms and ability to accommodate a family of 5. Clean rooms, close to airport and car rental, nice pool. Beds OK but sofa bed terrible to sleep on - apparently we could have requested another mattress but didn't think of that. Check your bill - we were double billed for parking but that was corrected by front desk. Decent free breakfast but beware of 16% resort fee and parking fees are added to room rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We arrived to the hotel , it was wonderful , very eye catching and clean .... When we spoke with the Front desk clerk she informed us that we had to pay an additional $200.00 deposit... Which was fine .. but Hilton should have informed us of this before ... The continental breakfast was okay, wish it was a bigger variety ... The pool was okay but does not look nothing like the pictures... Other than that I enjoyed my stay just wished I was informed about the $200.00 deposit.. and did I mention I won $800.00 ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
2.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#4 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,311 reviews
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The newly renovated hotel is also very close to the Luis Munoz Marin Intl. Airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a free made-to-order breakfast every morning and two hours of complimentary drinks every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.