We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a family hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $99
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Its a family hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I went there looking for some great time with family. The only thing we really enjoyed was the breakfast. The service is average, so does the rooms. The hotel is very close to the airport so you should not pay too much in a cab. The cleanliness is average too. The have happy hours/open bar for the adults. The only thing kids will enjoy is the pool. So, the hotel is not that much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
You are so right, our Hotel and all Embassy Suites are definitely a Family Hotel. We thank you for your review and hope to see you back with us soon. I am sorry that you felt our housekeeping service was average as we strive for higher standards. I will personally show your review to our Housekeeping staff and further discuss opportunities. Take care.

Marisol Colon
General Manager
787-641-3263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    456
    199
    83
    29
See reviews for
452
272
37
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Location is ok. This is a very busy, crowded hotel! Not sure if we just stayed at a bad time but we were unimpressed...stood in line for 50 minutes to check in, lines for happy hour & breakfast were outrageous, carpet in room was damp, elevator to parking deck was broken so had to carry luggage up stairs, breakfast buffet was half empty & generally not good, unfriendly staff...definitely not what we usually experience at other Embassy Suite hotels. Average at best.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We checked into this hotel after a great Carnival cruise, to do some sightseeing in Puerto Rico before flying home, as it was close to the airport.
There is a great little restaurant within a two block walk of the hotel - Mi Casita. Recommended by staff when we asked, and much better than the encroaching Burger King and other chain restaurants.
Overall hotel staff were helpful & friendly.
We had a suite looking westward, would now pick an east room as our room was warm.
On checking in the room looked clean and comfortable.
We unpacked. turned the air up to full and went exploring.
When we returned a few hours later the room was a bit cooler but smelled a bit funky, and felt damp.
Usually air conditioning dries out a room a bit.
We changed and went out for dinner at Mi Casita, a couple of blocks walk. Recommended by helpful staff.
GREAT restaurant. Family owned restaurant, run by Momma, with mostly locals/families in attendance. Seating is close, place is warm - so leave the dress uniform at home and wear breathable fabric clothing. Attentive staff and great food make up for the close quarters.
When we returned a couple of hours later the room was still not cool and was still damp.
We started watching TV, I became bored and fiddled with the air unit. The cover was loose so I looked inside.
See the picture - gross.
Next day took a guided trip to El Yunque rain forest - well worth the fee.
Guide Hector was great. Take a swim suit to splash in the Falls.
Ate at Outback restaurant in hotel. Food was OK but we should have returned to Mi Casita to try another dish.
.

Room Tip: We had a suite looking westward, would now pick an east room as the room was warm. Make sure the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fair lawn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If your staying their for a short weekend its ok. I don't recommend a week long stay. The hotel room was gross. The rug and sleeper sofa had stains all over it. The bathroom vanity was cracked in half. The tub was peeling. My mother slept on the sleeper sofa and complained to housekeeping that it was uncomfortable they resolved the problem by placing another mattress on top so we had to keep the sofa open. The cleaning service is a joke. Nereida our cleaning room attendant harassed us on a daily base to fill out a complimentary card once that card was given to her she only bothered to make the bed and give us new towels. On our last night there our tub was filthy. The beach was another experience Embassy Suite had a total of ten beach umbrellas which were rusty and ripped .(make sure you get your tetanus shot). The lounge chairs were missing straps and they were just as rusty and uncomfortable. There is no need for this all the other hotels had decent beach furniture.
I was really disappointed in the accommodations. I've stayed at Embassy Suites before and never have experienced such poor conditions.
On the upside breakfast and happy hour is very good. The people that work at the hotel are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Yes indeed June and July are very busy with our local summer repeat guest and sports groups. We thank you so for your comments regarding our Team as they truly enjoy taking care of our guest. Regarding your posting title, "renovatons a must", we are scheduled to do so next year so we hope to have you visit us again so that you can see the difference. We have addressed the Housepeeing issues with our Director and have personally spoken to our Team on making sure all cleanliness issues are handled with priority. I apologize regarding Nereida, she totally means well as we constantly receive excellent comments about her service levels as we do about many suite keepers. The comment cards are important to them as they know that I read each one and we even post the best ones. We hope to see you with us soon. Have a great year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our room was disgusting. Sticky spill/stain in the bedroom, mattress was horrible, dipped in the middle. Room seemed like it had not been cleaned. They didn't even give us soap for the shower, had to move soap from sink to shower. Attendant at the pool gave us dirty towels as they were "out" of clean towels. Embassy suites offers breakfast and happy hour complementary... don't bother. Lines for both are outrageous and food/drinks are horrible. Our mini fridge didn't work and needed to be replaced. Our in room phones were broken as well. Do not stay here if you have expectations of USA embassy suites. This place was under staffed, over populated and in horrible condition. We found another hotel. The staff apologized and moved us to a cleaner room with a decent bed, but we were so disgusted we moved hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sarah J:

When you travel on vacation, you expect to have a flawless vacation and apparently we didn’t accomplish this for you and your Family and for that I apologize. The cleanliness issues are ones that I will personally discuss with our Executive Housekeeper. We have been opened for 16 years and enjoy the return of many repeat guests because of the Family concept, our Team’s service levels and the general location of our Hotel. The summer months are very busy with both local and Stateside travelers which often causes lines for the complimentary services so I also do apologize for the inconveniences. We proudly carry our Logo and hope that you will honor us with another chance to create a better first impression.

Again, I am so sorry and hope to personally have the opportunity to welcome you and your Family back to the Island and to especially our Hotel.

Marisol Colon
General Manager
787-278-7001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We usually do well at the Embassy Suites since it provides our family of 5 with more room. We booked a 2BR 2Bath adjoining room and thought it was very spacious and the extra bathroom was a plus. The carpeting was in desperate need of replacing (stains, carpet wasn't tacked down, missing pieces, etc...). The hotel rooms were worn out. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear CMSKAK:

I was glad to hear that you stay at our hotels often considering that your family of five fits comfortably, so thank you so much for your loyalty to our Brand. We are grateful for the opportunity to welcome you to our Island and especially our Hotel so I truly apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. I will personally discuss these points with our Executive Housekeeper as cleanliness should be our #1 priority. We are looking forward to the “facelift” you mentioned in your review scheduled for next year to make our suites even better than they are now. Therefore, I do hope that you offer us another opportunity to create a much better first impression. Thank you and have a great day.

Marisol Colon
General Manager
787-641-3263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The room is very comfortable and spacious. This is very important if you have kids. The breakfast is excellent and is free. The afternoon snack is good and they have a lot of drinks and is free too!! The service was excellent and the outback inside of the hotel is very good choice to eat!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Nyanira:

Thank you so much for posting your short but detailed review regarding your most recent stay with us. I will relay your message to the Manager of the Restaurant as I am sure he would love to read your great comments. We look forward in welcoming you back again with us soon.

Marisol Colon
General Manager
787-641-3263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#8 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The hotel is also very close to the Luis Muñoz Marín Intl. airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a complimentary full cooked to order breakfast every morning and two hours of beverages every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.