We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 nights @San Juan Embassy Suites Isla Verde” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$129 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
nashville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5 nights @San Juan Embassy Suites Isla Verde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Embassy Suites Isla Verde. I chose this resort based on a good price and the included breakfast. I usually wouldn't stay somewhere not right on the beach, but it wasn't too bad of a walk. The first day we went to the beach I never could find the Embassy loungers/umbrellas because there was no sign up. I asked at the front desk and they told me you have to walk to the left a bit and look for the white chairs/umbrellas. I only saw the Embassy Beach sign up once. It was a very nice service to have these chairs/umbrellas available to guests and the staff at the beach was very friendly. The pool was area was great. I tried to get a frozen drink at the pool bar twice but was unable to because the first time, they were not open even though it was 30 minutes past their posted opening time. The second day I tried and their frozen drink machine was broken. The breakfast was great. I never stood in the omelet line but the regular line usually wasn't too bad and the food was good and the staff was very nice. All the staff we encountered at the hotel were very helpful, except the front desk was a little lacking-- Check in was slow and not very friendly and it took 3 calls to get a crib to the room because they said they forgot the first 2 times. The casino at the hotel was really nice. We ate at both the hotel restaurant El Patio and the Outback Steakhouse. Both were good but not our favorite meals of the trip. The concierge desk was very helpful in choosing places to eat and directing us to the bus stop to Old San Juan. We ate at Home @ the Veranda and at Made in Puerto Rico and they were both excellent. The happy hour every evening was a really nice touch and usually the lines were not that bad considering you can get two drinks at a time. Overall, I would stay there again based on the large size of the suite being convenient with children, the free breakfast/happy hour, and the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    492
    227
    96
    37
See reviews for
508
309
41
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Wonderful, helpful staff. VERY nice pool area. Of course, Embasssy Suites has the best evening reception with complimentary drinks. Morning breakfast was outstanding especially the made to order omelets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Hills, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have consistently stayed at this Embassy Suites - especially if I am taking a cruise - the kids are in one room of the suite, a waiter served breakfast is included, the proximity to the airport is very close and the taxi ride is a set rate.
This particular hotel is also a one block walk to the beach - so kids can be entertained before getting onto a cruise ship.
Considering the cost and the fact you get two rooms, plus a coffee bar in your room, you can make a pot of coffee, get dressed then go downstairs to a full waiter served breakfast.
Allow a day of two on either end of your cruise before going to/from the airport - less crowds then! Really makes a peaceful vacation.

Room Tip: Depends on whether you like to see airplanes take off - my room faced the end of the runway - loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

let me start off by saying I hate to give bad reviews on Staff members but this was bothersome. We stayed at EMBASSY for 1 night following a cruise, we wanted to make the most of our time. We got there early and they said they would hold our luggage while we sat by the pool and waited for our room. They said they would call or text us when it was ready. We wanted to shower before going sight seeing. We sat, drank, ate, and still nothing. We went back up to the desk and asked how much longer (we were waiting 3 hours) and they were rude. We waited longer......finally my husband asked to speak to management, then the staff was willing to give us a room. why this happened we do not know???? we went to get our luggage and walked right into the holding area which was not locked and ANYONE could have gone in and messed with the luggage that was being held. Once in our room it was very nice. walking distance to beach...nice beach. we took a taxi to old san Juan which was around 14.00? ( I actually preferred staying in Old San Juan. Just because there was so much to do) on the bright side, Embassy had one of the best free breakfast! good coffee, Danish, eggs, several kinds, bacon sausage, juices, and everything was good. I am pretty picking on omelets and eggs. These were good! as far as the fitness center....it was VERY SMALL, 2 treadmills, an elliptical trainer, and weights, but I am glad they offered it. feel free to ask any questions

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent stay for business, shopping, visiting places with tha family. The breakfast buffet was spectacular, I had everything I need for a nice breakfast like tv news, complementary newspapers, eating while looking at the fountain and hearing the frogs was relaxing. The beach was far, we walked but the reserved area for the guess, the attention and the service make us feel great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here all week, and yes, there was a prom every single night. However, we had already been warned by previous reviews that the noise could be pretty bad if you were on the lowest levels. We requested a floor high enough up that we were not disturbed at all by any noise. And we were in rooms directly above the rooms used for prom!! We also had requested a 2BR, 2BA suite, which for us was on the 4th floor, so it was back off of the main hallway, and we NEVER heard any noise. The rooms were fantastic, with a king bed and bath on one side, and 2 full beds and a bath on the other. We also had Internet the entire five days, at no extra charge for the 3 computers we had with us. My only complaints were that the beds were too soft, and the pillows were way too small, especially for those of us in the king size bedroom.

The lines for both breakfast and the manager's reception can be a little long but went very fast, especially the drink line during the reception. And they give you 2 drinks at a time, of ANY drink you want. I liked their rum punch, which was awesome and sneakingly strong. But when I requested Long Island Iced Tea, it was made and ready quickly....2 of them!! I recommend spending a few extra minutes in the morning ordering an omelet...the choices for fillings are very good!! I took my big mug with me and filled it up during breakfast and nobody said a word. You can even get it to go back up,to your room.

But their shining attribute are the people manning the concierge desk. They all went out of their way to help us when our rental car was 2 hours late, giving us directions to different parts of the island, or when making suggestions for places to eat. They really wanted to make sure everything was perfect for us.

We will return to this exact same hotel every time we visit PR.

Room Tip: The 2BR, 2BA didn't cost that much more than the standard room, and we all had our,own bed and 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear 360Quietflight:

Thank you so much for clarifying your experience during our busy prom/graduation season. The best part of your review was that you will return so that alone makes us so very happy. We are at your services and look forward in seeing you and your Family again. Until then, may you have a great year.

Sincerely,

Marisol Colón
General Manager
787-641-3263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpharetta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

we stayed here (vs one of the beach resorts) for the day after our cruise. we had stayed at a beach resort for 3 days prior to our cruise. based on our needs/preferences the beach pool resort was a better fit. the hotel is nice however loud based on the atrium. free drinks are nice (assuming you drink).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Cheryl A:

Thank you for your review and for staying with us during your post cruise which we hope was absolutely fantastic. Have a great year and we do hope to welcome you back at one of our ten Brands in the Hilton Family. Take care.

Sincerely,

Marisol Colón
General Manager
787-641-3263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The hotel is also very close to the Luis Munoz Marin Intl. Airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a free made-to-order breakfast every morning and two hours of complimentary drinks every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.