We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Cruise Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Free Night
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Yakima Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pre-Cruise Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was close to the airport and we had a late evening flight arrival. We stayed in a two room suite which was actually just two hotel rooms joined together by a door. One of the rooms had a seperate bedroom. The other was just a large room with two double beds. Slightly outdated, but clean and adequate for our stay. We paid for a package that included transportation to the cruise ship so we felt like it was a good deal. Did not use the pool but did walk around and it looked very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    471
    216
    91
    32
See reviews for
483
280
39
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, KS
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed 4 nights in February. The hotel room was a bit dated, but clean upon arrival. They have a nice pool; however it was very cold. Our 10 year old would get in, but way too cold for my wife and I. It was funny watching peoples faces when they would just jump in or step in. It was usually a very quick exit from the pool. The casino is very small. I can't say much more than that as I did not gamble while staying there. The location is outstanding. Ok, it is not directly on the beach but it is a very leasurly shaded walk to the beach. The beach attendant offered the best service of anyone at the hotel. The beach area for the Embassy Suites was clean with that beautiful blue water. Breakfast was limited when compared to other Embassy Suites I stay at. The evening reception was nice though. My biggest complaint was on the second afternoon we had to get ready at 3:00 pm to leave the hotel and house keeping stopped by and wouldn't come back. Then on the fourth night we were getting ready to go to Old San Juan at 6:15 pm and house keeping finally showed up and again wouldn't come back. Really, 6:15 pm?? If you are sleeping on the pull out couch, it is pretty loud very late from the noise coming from the ground floor (like casino). They also have a piped in bird noise that is quite annoying. Considering the lack of house keeping I am being generous with 3 out of 5. Without house keeping issues this is an average Embassy Suites. With that being said, it is not much different from the Courtyard we stayed at last year. If the price is right, I might stay here again only for the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

From the front desk and throughout the staff, our family found friendly and responsive service whenever we had the need.

We arrived early and they accommodated us. We had an issue with the room and they addressed it instantly.

The entire experience so far has made for an easy transition into the island experience.

This is still my first day, but I am thrilled with this hotel choice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Dave G:

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive comments! We are delighted to hear that our Guest Service exceeded your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights during peak winter season. We were able to check in early and also able to check out late at 3pm so we could enjoy a few more hours at the beach. Very courteous staff.. We booked this hotel after reading the reviews and agree that although the room is not "updated" or elagant, it was clean, comfortable and quiet. It's a very spacious two room suite with two TV's, a fridge and microwave so you can stock up from the Pueblo supermarket which is a 5 minute walk. The breakfast buffet was good, included an omlette station as well as fresh fruit and cereal. The pool is great. It's a ten minute walk to the beach, where you get a chaise and towels. Internet connection is included. Loved the manager's reception (aka Happy Hour) every night from 5:30 to 7:30....rum punch and anything you want to drink is yours for the asking. They advertise that these amemities are free, however, when you add 16% resort fee to your bill (about $32 a day in our case) it's really not. My only negative comment is that this hotel is not beachfront, but if you must have that then stay at the Intercontinetal or El San Juan for much more money.

Room Tip: All rooms enter from the inside atrium, and a higher floor may have a better outside view. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the Embassy Suites in Puerto Rico Feb 7-12, 2013, Our stay was very enjoyable and we couldn't have asked for much more. The staff was courteous and helpful, most where
bi-lingual.
Breakfast was complimentary as well as a two hour managers cocktail party every evening.
Embassy Suites is about three blocks from the beach with police at crosswalks to help pedestrians across safely. Many shops and restaurants are within walking distance of the
hotel. I would recommend not getting the two full size beds for a couple because the the room on one side of the each bed is cramped." We always sleep in one bed" Only problem we had was that the pool and beach chaise lounges needed cleaning and the jacuzzi was too hot,
also you will probably have to get your boarding passes at the front desk because the business office printers are seemingly, always down. I don't know why almost all hotels put safes in the closets, do they think no-one will look there?

Our Daughters wedding was wonderful and the Embassy Suites did not let us down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear orion1248:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate such an important event for your family. I am so glad to see you were satisfied with the service you received.

I do want to apologize again for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with pool and beach chairs and the printer at the business center.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your review and I do hope you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Recent stay pre-cruise was good. Easy to get from Airport to Cruise Terminal. Hotel lobby was very nice. Rooms are in need of some updating, but were clean. Breakfast location is very good, and food was ok as well as the selection. Good for a short stay before or after a cruise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Greetings RT91381!

We are glad you enjoyed your experience.

Thank you for sharing your comments and we look forward to seeing you again during your next stay, come back soon!

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel was just o.k. The Hotel & rooms were clean, but the staff was very unfriendly. The consierge could have cared less about helping us book excursions. There were several phone calls on our bill that we did not make. The breakfast buffet was not great, it was edible, but not great. The pool was freezing and the hot tub was near boiling. Any time you asked any of the staff for help, If it was something that they couldn't easily do they would flat out tell you no. The restaurants were nice, but we quickly figured out that we are not fans of Puerto Rican cuisine (Not PR's fault). We ended up going across the street to the Verdanza Hotel's concierge to book our excursions. The woman at the desk was very friendly and very helpful. We had never been to puerto rico before and we will never go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Jaime K:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is very important to us as we will use this to improve our guest service skills. We are always working hard to enhance our guests’ experience. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered with your bill and the water temperature at the pool.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will consider visiting Puerto Rico again and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#8 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The hotel is also very close to the Luis Munoz Marin Intl. Airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a free made-to-order breakfast every morning and two hours of complimentary drinks every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.