We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed 1 Night Pre-Cruise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$129 Rates & 5000 Points
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hastings, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stayed 1 Night Pre-Cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Embassy Suites 1 night before our cruise. We don't have any complaints. We were on the 2nd floor and not far from the lobby area and we didn't have any issues with noise. The rooms are on the smaller side but how often are you really in your room? The lobby area is beautiful. We ate at the Outback in the lobby area and it was delicious. Walgreens is not far from the hotel and the beach is an easy walk. Also other fast food restaurants not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Kayla675: Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and our beautiful lobby and atrium.

We hope to welcome you back during your next trip to Puerto Rico!

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
aixa.berrios@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    553
    246
    105
    43
See reviews for
577
357
44
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milltown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Blanca from the front desk made this trip horrible, the hotel itself is clean and nice. But Hilton should really look into hiring a friendlier staff..Find a hotel on the beach... although it may seem cheaper when booking online there are many hidden fees... like 16% resort charge that is not included when booking.... Find another hotel with better business ethics.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear shobra0419:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our services, your feedback is very important to us.

Blanca is one of our most dedicated team members. We constantly receive excellent comments about her customer service levels. We apologize for this being an exception and not the rule.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great location. Close to Old Town-shopping, fort/site seeing, dining and Old Harbor Brewery. Also quick taxi ride to and from airport and cruise port. Beach within walking distance although excellent pool too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello Kansasgirl1979:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our convenient location close to Isla Verde Beach, the most beautiful beach in San Juan!

Glad you enjoyed your experience. Please stay with us again soon, our beautiful lagoon style pool will be waiting for you!!!

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I enjoyed the beach and the weather. All of the locals go out there way to make you feel welcomed. Lots and lots of types of food to eat at the hotel. The breakfast was excellent!!! Each day as if I had my own private cook. The pool area was clean and well kept. My greatest experience was watching the Superbowl. I watched the Superbowl at the hotel and it was fun!!! The hotel was centrally located to giftshops and fine resturants.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Boatman077:

What a fantastic review, to see that you had such a great time is really what it is all about for us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed watching the Super Bowl, by the way, congratulations if you are a Ravens fan! I also loved your comment about having your own private chef!

Thank you for sharing your comments and we look forward to seeing you again during your next stay.

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Isla Verde the week of 1/21-25, and had an excellent stay with our almost 2 year old. The pool was nice, as was the kiddie pool for him. The beach was a short 10 minute walk, and there was a guy with towels and chairs for you there. You are within walking distance to a grocery store (Pueblo) and a Walgreen's, as well as several fast food places and other restaurants if you are interested. And the free breakfast and happy hours are nice perks. The casino is smoke free too (which may be the case of all PR casinos, I am not sure). Nice base to travel throughout the San Juan area; the room was nice, quiet and the staff was very accommodating. The resort fee is a bit steep (16%) but it does include free wifi which is nice.

Room Tip: away from elevators and the atrium is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello HeeSopChoi:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time during your stay with us and that you found our team members to be very accommodating. We are always working hard to make our hotel the most family friendly and enhance our guests’ experience.

We hope to welcome you back during your next trip to Puerto Rico!

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our third time staying at (and incidentally my third review of ) this hotel in the last five years. This place has so many wonderful things to offer: beautiful common areas and pool area, close to the beach with a station at the beach to provide hotel guests towels and chairs, a nightly manager's reception with free bar drinks and snacks, a hot and cold complimentary buffet breakfast, as well as a small casino and two restaurants on premises. It is located in a nice safe area with many local restaurants in walking distance. The one detractor was the rooms. While they have two flat screen TVs and good wireless internet and were kept very clean they really do need updating. We stayed on the Hilton Honors Floor (6th) and the carpets and mattresses were fraying. Some of the furniture and one light fixture in the bathroom were chipped, carpet had a few stains. Decor was just tired and in need of refurbishing. While this would not stop us from going again, updating the rooms would really improve the experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I liked this hotel. Great base for Isla Verde if you don't want to pay the beach front premium. Front desk staff were so nice and helpful. Hotel was full before and over New Years when we stayed and staff coped very well. Pool area was really nice, always loungers free.

Great location with beautiful Isla Verde beach just a few mins walk away. The El San Juan hotel is very close, where drinks in the lobby at weekend evenings is a must! Lots of great restaurants (along with all the standard U.S. chains) nearby, our favourite was Don Jose for real Puerto Rican food 24/7.

Loved the hotel's cooked to order omelettes at breakfast, but other food options weren't great - just overpriced fast food mainly, so we ate out for almost all other meals. Manager's reception drinks were basic brands, but free! Still can't get over how many tiny plastic cups they use though - please start using glasses!!

Rooms have are standard decor, a little old but very functional. We had suites that have a separate living room (with sofabed) and bedroom with a kitchenette (fridge is great for snacks/drinks), and we were high enough to shelter from the lobby/casino courtyard noise which the rooms all face into.

The extra mandatory 'resort fees' are ridiculous, but some of our nights were paid with points which meant no fee. They should just include it in the price - would not have been happy paying the fees for the whole time. Otherwise 5 stars.

Room Tip: Higher up, away from elevators will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The newly renovated hotel is also very close to the Luis Munoz Marin Intl. Airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a free made-to-order breakfast every morning and two hours of complimentary drinks every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.