We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $100 Credit
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pretty good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Embassy Suites is a pretty good place and a decent value. It's clean, the staff and pool are nice and its located about 2 long blocks from the beach. The rooms could do with an upgrade
and the included breakfast is early, especially for families with teens that might sleep
past 9:30am. The breakfast is also very crowded . The beach is nice and there is an
attendant for towels and beach chairs which is a nice touch. Overall not a bad place to be especially if you don't want or have to be right on the beach.

Room Tip: The sofa bed is really uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    605
    263
    113
    47
See reviews for
626
389
49
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites, Isla Verde pre-cruise. We have stayed here before, we liked it so much that we decided to return.
We arrived around 3pm on Saturday and was told our room was not yet ready. The front desk staff told us we could leave our bags with them, while we had a snack and a beverage at the Outback on the hotel premise.
After our snack, we went to the Walgreens behind the hotel (about a 10 minute walk).
We came back and were able to get into our room. It was clean, smelled good, was nice and cool too!
The manager's happy hour was fine. We had a couple of drinks then went in search of dinner. We walked about 15-20 minutes to Restaurante Metropol (see review, it was great!).
Breakfast the next morning was delicious. There was an omelet station, potatoes, bacon, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit and several other things I am sure I am forgetting.
Over all, our stay was just great and we are looking forward to staying there again in the fall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This property is located in the heart of the tourist area in San Juan. Accommodations are all suites. Very spacious and they have the largest outside pool facilities I've ever seen. The property is spotless, and the service is superb! Breakfast is included and it is a site to behold. Made to order owlets, REAL BACON AND EGGS. fresh fruit and great Puertorican coffee. Only draw back is its a bit pricy at 150.00 per night, but its well worth it. Lots of GREAT chain and local restaurants within a short walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

First let me say that I will never do business with this hotel or hotels.com again. I was set to stay 10 nights at the embassy suites in island Verde and an unexpected change made it so I had to leave two days early. I asked the hotel and they said it WAS NOT A PROBLEM. they told me I should call hotels.com and I did. Hotels.com told me I had to check out and they needed a confirmation but I would get refund. I reconfirmed with the hotel to be sure, they told me they had nothing to do with refunds that if hotels.com approved there would be a full refund as they were not paid by us, but we paid hotels.com who had bought the rooms in advance.

When we left I called hotels.com they told me that the hotel claimed we were still checked in. After a lot of time the hotel now says that the refund is up to them. The story changed. I have no problem with not getting a refund if that is the true policy and I am told this upfront, but to string me along is not right.

We were also charged $413.07 2 days later. Part of which I was told was a 16% hotel fee. Complete garbage.

The hotel is a little too tucked away in a hidden part off isla verde ave. the sofa bed was horribly uncomfortable, the service was sub par, if you have kids, beware the hallways overlook the lobby, we were on the 8th floor and I kept a tight hold of my 3 year old for fear he may climb the short gate.

The mini fridge was terrible and wouldn't cool, and the front desk was not helpful.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear ProudUglyAmrcn:

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so sorry for the hassle and inconvenience you are experiencing with this matter and the website used to book the room. We are currently looking into the booking and a member of our team will be contacting you directly to work on an acceptable resolution.
Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we are eager to resolve this incident for you and hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality hospitality you deserve, should you return to the area in the future.

Speak with you soon,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The value provided for your stay here is worth while. I am a picky eater, so I was not that impressed with the breakfast. I have never been for any Embassy Suites, however, the staff here is very friendly as the Puerto Rican culture always is.

Room Tip: Rooms far from the elevators are the best ones. The higher the better. This hotel has a ballroom on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We've been taking cruises out of San Juan for the past 8 years and like to go a day or two early to enjoy down time before sailing. The embassy suites provides clean suites, a free happy two hours, and a full breakfast every day. The pool is large and clean-OutBack Steak House and a casino are in the hotel. 10 minutes from airport and 15 from the cruise terminal. Look forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

What a great location that was close to the airport without the usual airport noise. We stayed here pre-cruise. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was the normal Embassy Suite style and I would say better than average. My only complaint about this venue was the restaurant The Patio. We ate dinner here the first evening and found the food was below average at this location. There are many restaurants close by this hotel that are excellant. So venture out and within 1-4 blocks you will find something good to eat. You can get to the beach by walking just a few blocks or go sightseeing in old San Juan by cab. All cabs are straight fees so there should be no confusion as to what you are paying. Good luck and have fun!!

Room Tip: high floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
2.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 3,310 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#4 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The newly renovated hotel is also very close to the Luis Munoz Marin Intl. Airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a free made-to-order breakfast every morning and two hours of complimentary drinks every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.