We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for Layover to the Islands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $100 Credit
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel for Layover to the Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Took a trip from Florida to St. Martin and because of flights stayed over in Puerto Rico 1 night going and coming back from St. Martin. Very nice hotel with pool and small casino. The surrounding area not very nice. Next door to airport so very convient. Has an Outback restaurant inside as well as a hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Stayed in a different room both times and they were both as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    605
    263
    113
    47
See reviews for
628
389
49
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have three rooms booked for June 7 -10 before a cruise. This is an extra special trip for our family since we faced some huge challenges last years. Thanks to the many tips about how unfriendly the resort is to large parties, I'm going to be canceling my reservations right away, I can't afford unfriendly staff, fraudulent credit card charges, to spoil such a special vacation. I am a Hilton honors member, but I understand that doesn't mean anything. Thanks for the tip.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Embassy Suites in San Juan for 8 nights. Everyone we encountered was extremely friendly and accommodating. The restaurants on site were good, the happy hour and breakfast were great values. The pool was clean and relaxing. The walk to the beach was not far at all and the Embassy Suites have a section set up for their guests with towels and chairs and umbrellas. There is not a doubt in my mind that we would return...everything about this trip was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I took a cruise out of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Our flight on the way home was overbooked and we got bumped. The airline put us up for a night at the Embassy Suites. The hotel is very close to the airport. Even though we were near a busy area, our room was very quiet. There is an Outback Steakhouse in the hotel, as well as another restaurant. We ate at both hotel restaurants and had no complaints. The outdoor pool is serpentine shaped with a waterfall. There is also an outdoor hot tub. You must have a room key to gain access to the outdoor pool area, which is surrounded by a privacy fence, and with beautiful flowers and trees, and is very quiet as well. The hotel is located 2 blocks from a public beach, and there are shops and other restaurants within walking distance as well. This is a wonderful hotel to stay in if you have an extra day. There was a taxi parked outside to take us the short drive back to the airport. There is also a small casino located in the hotel. Unfortunately, we had a very early flight so we were not able to enjoy the full breakfast, but we did enjoy the managers reception in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Clean and family oriented hotel. Like that there is a laundry facility. The pool is a bit on the smaller side however. I love the free breakfast they offer in the morning, made to order omelletes, home made cream of wheat and oatmeal, not from the mix, fruit, yougurt, cereal, rolls, bagels, something for everyone. There is an outback restaurant on site. The hotel staff however arent outwardly friendly. Its about 4 blocks from the beach, definately NOT BEACH FRONT.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

While the grounds of the hotel are nice, the staff was a joke! At check in they told us we have to submit a $50 CASH DEPOSIT, while I was sure I didn't read anything about this on the website we paid it anyway. While checking out to head off to the cruise port the "deposit" was not returned. After several calls to management and head office we were given the run around and told we would receive a check in the mail........5 months later and still waiting. Do yourself a BIG FAVOR and stay at La Concha!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed there in March for one night prior to a cruise. We arrived after midnight and were told we were booked and charged for 2 rooms. A phone call corrected that. We booked and pre-paid for one night, we thought. Upon check out we had a resort fee tacked on. Paid in full means that to me, and add ons are a sneaky way to get more money. We cruise a lot out of Puerto Rico and will try a different hotel next March.

Room Tip: All rooms look out over an atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
2.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#4 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,313 reviews
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The newly renovated hotel is also very close to the Luis Munoz Marin Intl. Airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a free made-to-order breakfast every morning and two hours of complimentary drinks every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.