We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in San Juan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Juan to your Saves list
InterContinental San Juan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best hotel in San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went with a group of 3- girl's trip- and couldn't have had a better time. The hotel itself is beautiful, rooms were impeccably clean, service was amazing. In particular, there were two staff members who really made our trip. Bianca Sierra Martinez went out of her way to ensure we were happy and enjoying ourselves every night during the 5-7 happy hour. She is the best! Also, Pedro (pool bartender) was so friendly and made sure that we had a drink in hand at all times while enjoying the pool! He also recommended dinner places that were phenomenal and did everything possible to make us happy guests! We will definitely be coming back and staying at this hotel. I also recommend staying in the "friends and family" part of the hotel that we stayed in. There is a private lounge used to access this section of the hotel and our room was on the same level as the pool so it was very easy and convenient to walk to the pool/beach from our room. In addition we had a private patio.

Room Tip: Buy the friends and family package it is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    298
    98
    50
    33
See reviews for
194
367
25
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights prior to going on a cruise from san juan . not far from airport $15 by taxi . arrived late at night after delayed flight . staff greeted us from the taxi and took baggage straight away , very friendly staff . smooth check in . room was lovely .we had a laguna room.room very large and had the equivalent of two double beds, bathrobes and slippers were provided which was a nice touch . wifi good in the room . room price included breakfast . very wide choice of food and drink ( cava included ) for breakfast and choice of sitting inside or outside . all staff were very friendly and chatty . self service but staff showed us to the table and provided tea or coffee promptly . didnt feel rushed and had lovely leisurely breakfast overlooking the pool . towels provided for pool use and could be changed as frequently as we wished. nice pool area and also hotel situated on the beach so sunbathing on beach is an alternative choice .lots of sun beds . hotel is well situated . close to the port ( short taxi drive away ) and within walking distance of many restaurants, bars and supermarkets so we didnt eat in the hotel . we'd definitely stay here again and its somewhere where we'd consider for more than 2 nights next time

Room Tip: maybe for some people laguna rooms dont have the best views but we didn't mind as its mainly a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elbridge, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was very nice it has a swim upto bar waterfall shallow end for kids walkway to the beach with a bar facing the beach the pool ground is very pretty and peaceful the pool is 24 hour it was great to go swimming at 2am swimming under the moon light was so gorgeous

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean not the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel had a great balance of things for my 20 year old son and I to do. I chose it for the awesome beach (for me!) and the on-site casino (for my son, although it was smaller than we expected). Pool area was beautiful too - even bigger than the pictures. I agree with some of the other reviewers - both my son and I noticed and appreciated the friendliness and smiles of the doormen as we came and went. Our room was always cleaned and stocked. Plenty of really close restaurants, grocery store, and bakery within walking distance. It was also very easy to book our excursions at the Tour Desk on site. And might I add, the food at both the Italian restaurant and the Japanese restaurant onsite both exceeded our expections for food quality and portions.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pros - clean beach, free beach chairs, nice and large pool, pool bar, decent gym, customer service, and just the pristine premises in general

Cons - continental breakfast was like $15, and full breakfast (with eggs and meat) was like $27, non-valet parking costs $20/per day and is across the street, and it has nothing to do with the hotel but the location is just not ideal to experience PR culture (more on this later).

Other notes - beach umbrellas cost $10, non-Medalla beer at the lobby bar cost $10, 2for1 plain mojitos outside at pool bar cost $12, JetSkis on the beach cost about $80 for 30 minutes but you can negotiate down.

The InterContinental yearns for exceptionalism. The managers and staff do an excellent job providing customer service. The hotel provides a very "resort" feel.

About the location - in my opinion, Isla Verde is just way too commercial. It has such a strong American influence that it almost feels as though you are staying in somewhere like Fort Lauderdale. Isla Verde Avenue is just flooded with American food chains. So, if you like traveling to a Caribbean island that feels like America, come stay at the InterContinental because it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I traveled with my 21 year old son. Very good vacation and very expensive. Food is super expensive in all restaurants in hotel. I loved meals and cocktails at the bar, near the fire, great location and great quality of food. But $25 for two cocktails seems too much. Employees at reception desk could be more hospitable. Also there was miscommunication between reception and managers. I was told in the beginning of the stay that I could have late checkout at 2 pm. and I have to come to reception at the day of my departure at 7 am to confirm that. I did that, but I was told that hotel overbooked and there is no availability. Then I called to settle charges, and manager on the phone offered me extended stay until 2 pm with no problem. Why receptionist cant talk to manager? Also there was a delay with cleaning rooms and maid was pretty rude. I complained, and in a few hours received complimentary champagne and strawberries on chocolate. That was pretty nice on the part of management.

Room Tip: ocean view, the highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Upon arrival my family and I were greeted by the friendliest and most professional doorman, William :). Miss you already, William! One of the check in staff (J.) was rude, unprofessional, and he lacked a personality. I had checked in 4 people with another front desk staff member (A.) at 1130 but at 4:00 when it was time to get our keys, J. informed me that only 2 people checked in not 4. I asked J. how the hotel expected 4 guests to occupy a room with 1 king bed. He blamed me for not completing the "paperwork" correctly. I didn't realize that it was up to the guest to do the job of the hotel employee. By 7:00 the other 2 guests finally got a room overlooking the street below, not the ocean view that we paid for. I was told that we would receive a $100 credit for the inconvenience, but that never happened. Only by chance I was able to secure a room with an ocean view by questioning a housekeeping staff member. Not one person at the front desk notified me that there were ocean view rooms available. Guests have to be proactive or you'll end up settling for whatever the hotel offers. After the room issue, everything went beautifully. I can't say enough about all the beach/pool/bar/restaurant/gift shop/coffee shop/housekeeping/ tour staff. Fabulous! Those are the people who made our vacation memorable.

Room Tip: Try to book an ocean view room. It overlooks a tropical garden and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place; immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.