We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The American paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Juan to your Saves list
InterContinental San Juan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
north bergen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The American paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

San Juan PR,in this beautiiful island part of this United States you have everything that you allways wish for great beache,spanish heritage culture,casino,nite life, and endless dinning options,put all that together with the warmth of the Puerto Rican people nad you cant go wrong,and to top it off you have not left this United States,
please remember tipping is welcome make sure that you do apply US standars of minimum 15%,all this together with the Intercontinental experiance ypull love it,Isla Verde beach is beautiful,youll love this hotel,been to it 4 times.

Room Tip: try to overlook the ocean the viewis unbeliavable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    283
    93
    47
    33
See reviews for
183
351
22
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My friends and I just spent a long weekend at the Intercontinental for a bachelorette party. I would never stay here again! Here are my pros:" & cons about this hotel.

Pros
- beautiful pool with a swim up bar
- exercise room is well equipped with many machines
- beach was nice
- comfortable beds
- room with a beach view is beautiful (but you will pay for it)
- free wifi
- Bell hops were wonderful

Cons
- found a cockroach in my bathroom
- service was not great
- the bathroom needs an update
- walls are paper thin, you can hear everything
- drinks by the bar are expensive and there is no happy hour special (except for the two for one mojito)
- I needed an umbrella and asked the staff for one. They told me there isn't any left and walked away. They did not even try to accommodate me and my sunburn.
- breakfast is very expensive and VERY slow service
- non beach view room has a horrible view (looks over a parking lot)
- underneath the bed had a old water bottle and comb from a past guest (it was disgusting)
- there were no garbage cans anywhere and especially by the pool, so everyone leaves garbage around


I complained to management about my stay. They took $100 off my bill. They should have done more. I travel quite often and have never seen such disgust. The fact that there was garbage left underneath the bed is nauseating.

***if you are a big group of friends looking to party, look into the El San Juan Hotel.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a fantastic experience. Absolutely love the convenient locations. A very professional and helpful staff. We stayed 4 nights, the hotel offers lovely tours around the town. Go when the weather is nice. Will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Two thumbs up!!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room - Opted for the laguna view (8th floor) as the additional $ 85 - $ 220 per day with government fees to be on the ocean side / pool side didn't seem worth it when booking. Happy with decision as the only time we looked out the window was while brushing teeth in the am, just before napping in the afternoon or while dressing for dinner.

Laguna view noise comments - I paid attention only because of previous posters. Airplane noise was a low hum sporadically in the early am (a better noise than the alarm I used on my cell) and mid day. I wouldn't have noticed it unless listening for it. Walls are paper thin ... nope. The 8th floor was full the 4 days we stayed. I heard nary a cough, sneeze, argument or otherwise. The bedroom bureau even had self closing drawers - no way to slam them if you tried.

Breakfast costs / buffet comments / TIP - Walking across the street (a 10 minute stroll) offers the prices you'd see stateside for breakfast. Coffee / Juice / Food Chain type breakfast $ 6 - $ 10 plus tax / tip. Stay on site and breakfast choices might cause one to think prices were to high. Coffee $ 4 / Orange Juice $ 4 2 eggs with frozen hash brown patties (no toast) $ 12 = $ 20.00. Here's a tip ... either walk across the street and spend right around $ 10.00 OR just bite the bullet and order the $ 19.00 breakfast buffet For $ 19.00 you get unlimited coffee, unlimited fresh orange juice, eggs, bacon, sausage, ham, oatmeal, yogurt, granola, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, 3 selections of cold sliced deli meat, cheddar, swiss, bagels, pastries, melons, watermelon, mango, banana, etc. Yes, it's $ 9.00 more than across the street but it's fresh, unlimited, seating at a table with linen table clothes overlooking the pool, palms, orchids and birds of paradise.

Adult beverages: Depends on time of day and where you're sitting. Didn't figure out until day 3 what was happening with prices. For example: On day 3 I was at the outside tiki bar / restaurant on the beach .. bartender tells me it's 20.50 for 2 mojitos. I respond, 'what happened to happy hour?' He responds, 'we are always happy here'. Hmmmm .. I push him a bit further; he says the only happy hour is the hotel bar (in the mid section of the pool area). I buy the 2 mojitos for 20.50 as he had already made them (plus tip brings me to 24.00). I walk over to the mid range bar, order 2 mojitos and am charged $ 12.00 (plus tip 14.00) and ask why it's so much less. TIP: Between 4 and 5 pm drinks are 1/2 price at the hotel pool bar. The bar on the sand / closest to ocean is not hotel run - it's a private leased bar. No happy hour there (but, staff and sand in your toes are cool!).

Dining - Ruth Chris on site or Morton's (21.00 cab ride to the site) are spot on excellent. For those that believe it's 160.00 for 2 ... it doesn't have to be. Both restaurants offer a meal of 6 oz filet, 2 bacon wrapped scallops, 3 large shrimp and asparagus for $ 48.00. Add a glass of house wine for $ 8.00. The hotel's on site restaurant, as well as the Hilton next door have excellent meals in the 22 - 35 price range. Pricing includes the ambience, linen table clothes and fine service / dining 4 - 5 star spots always do.

Again .. walk across the street and pay the same as you would stateside. But no linen table clothes. If you're looking for great food, local conversation and Puerto happy ... definitely walk across the street (or just east of the hotel / same side of the street) - the food is excellent, the area is very safe and the locals that are dining are happy all the time (as opposed to the beach bar at the InterContinental).

Location: After several stays in Puerto Rico over the past 17 years, I would select Isla Verde over Old San Juan. Isla Verde has quicker access to sand beneath your toes, closer (by 10 minutes) to the airport and the majority of hotels are a bit newer / better service than Old San Juan. A taxi ride to Old San Juan is $ 21.00 (15 minutes) and a bus ride is ( $ 2.00) 25 minutes - spend the day walking everywhere as Old San Juan is compact. On the flip side / if it was my first stay in San Juan ... I'd stay in Old San Juan due to proximity (right out my back door) to the port, El Morro, parks, shops, etc.

Room Tip: 4th or higher ocean side / 6th or higher laguna
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I checked into the Intercontinental after sitting in traffic for a long time. Needless to say I probably was not in the best of moods. That all changed after Johangely at the front desk checked me in. Not only was she very wecoming, understanding and respectful BUT she really made my day when she upgraded me. She was an absolute pleasure to deal with and I hope her manager reads this. I've stayed in many hotels across the world and have rarely been greeted the way I was when checking in.

The amenities are amazing here, everything you need in walking distance and right on the beach. The friendly atmosphere makes it an amazing place! I will definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we stayed here for three nights prior to a cruise. The beach and the pool are lovely, the service was great, the food was above average.......and the bed was absolutely the most comfortable of any of the many hotels that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location in San Juan, and just a cheap cab ride into Old San Juan. Very good tour staff was able to book us tours for the next day at prices that were better than online.Room was clean and spacious. The pool area and swim up bar are a nice feature. The beach was just perfect. Friendly staff were always willing to help out with questions or concerns, especially the guys at concierge and the doormen who gave us some great advise on places to eat and sites to see.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place; immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.