We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bachelorette Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Juan to your Saves list
InterContinental San Juan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Bachelorette Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went down with a group of 9 girls for a wonderful Bachelorette weekend getaway. Between the massages, oceanfront, swim up bar, etc., the accommodations suited each one of us. Personal favorite was the swim up bar and the lovely Jaders who sure knows how to make a delicious drink. His charming personality and off the menu creations impressed us all!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    275
    87
    46
    31
See reviews for
173
328
20
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is magnificent all around including the beach and pool areas. But what really caught my attention is Mr. Hilton in room service that went the extra mile daily to take care of our room and needs. He is the epitome of customer service excellence and should be considered a model employee whose attention to detail and caring nature was felt all thru our 7 day stay on the 15th floor. Please send my compliments as I know he is a cherished member of your staff! We loved the daily smiles he created for us when we were tired and needed a rest from the enchanted isle of Puerto Rico! Thank you from Chris & Martin

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The reservation staff basically lied to us initially and said they couldn't put our two rooms on the same floor without an upgrade. we upgraded, only to find one of the rooms had a soaking wet carpet. Again, they could only give us a new room with yet another upgrade. After the staff argued with us after we refused to pay for another upgrade, we spoke with a manager, who was able to find us two rooms on the same floor, without any upgrade at all. I was eventually promised a $300 credit to my card, but instead my statement shows 2 charges of $400 each and no refund. (room was already prepaid in full.) Valets great-staff horrible.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent 2 nights before a recent cruise. Found the location very convenient and a beautiful property to start getting in that island mood. Short ride into Old San Juan for a food tour (reviewed separately).Room was large and clean and the housekeeper Hilton even made towel animals, nice touch! enjoyed drinks by the pool as well as lounging on the soft sand beach (loungers included in your resort fee, umbrellas $10 more). All staff encountered was top notch, acknowledged you even in passing, held doors, etc. Service was among the best I have encountered. Had a very good dinner in Tratoria Italiano, excellent service provided by Yahaira. Congrats Felix Mulero and his assistant Joel Perdomo for great food and bev. choices. Although we enjoyed our meals and drinks we had on property I do recommend the little café across the street for the $2.99 breakfast special including a great cup of Puerto Rican Coffee. Finally, nice intimate casino with friendly staff that will help newbies! Probably my only criticism is the attempt for a more nightclub feeling in the lobby and casino entrance in the evening with very loud thumping techno music. My suggestion, stick with the island vibe!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed for a week. The hotel is ok. The staff is friendly. The pools are big but overcrowded with screaming children. I don't know why the hotel allows (drunk) people in the jacuzzi till 2-3 am , screaming and laughing.
The breakfast is very expensive and nothing special but there's a good restaurant across the street where you can eat great for less than half the price. Overall , the hotel is ok. The rooms are a bit dated but I don't think anyone is spending the whole day indoors. The service is good. Location is convenient and exploring will cost max $20 for most areas.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I escaped the snow back home and had a very enjoyable week at the Intercontinental. The doormen were especially helpful with advice and info. All of the staff throughout the property were very friendly and accommodating though the front desk clerks didn't provide the warm welcome we looked forward to after a long flight.

Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean and pool area. It was clean and comfortable but could use a little touching up here and there. I slept well here which is not always the case when I travel so that's saying something. The free wifi was a little slower than I am used to but if you are need faster connection it's available for a fee. The little refrigerator came in handy for water and beer and there's a Walgreens a few blocks down the street which was convenient.

We spent almost every day relaxing on the beach and loved it. It was clean, we had no problems getting 2 chairs where we wanted to sit and there were beach umbrellas for rent when it got too hot. The beach bar has servers to take drink or food orders and we enjoyed relaxing without people coming by to sell things to us. We didn't spend much time by the pool but it was a beautiful area with a waterfall, swim up bar and plenty of shade. We would have used the hot tub more but it was pretty much a kids pool during the day all week. The fitness center had good equipment and an awesome view right on the beach.

I ate breakfast at the restaurant each day, enjoyed the options from the buffet and ate outside on the patio by the pool. The service was great or very slow depending on the server because it never seemed too busy. We had dinner at the restaurants at the hotel next door each night because we liked the menus there better. Miami Meat Market at the El San Juan was so good we ate there twice that week. The coffee from the little cafe in the lobby was excellent and the room service food was fast and very tasty.

We stayed at the Caribe Hilton in the past and I would put the Intercontinental on the same level but it was nice having more restaurants and stores nearby. I also liked the beach here better. The casino was small but fine for a little gambling and the outdoor bar area off the lobby was beautiful for a late cocktail. A reality show was being filmed on the property for a few of the days we were here which was pretty cool to see.

I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends. We had a great week and left relaxed, tan and wishing we could stay longer.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this resort many times as Ambassador members. This trip was fabulous, the hotel improvements were great, especially love the new bar outside with fire pit. Special thanks to Irene in Guest Relations, she is wonderful to us and made our stay so great. Also a big thanks to Pedro at the pool bar for the exceptional service. He is always smiling and made us feel welcome and taken care of. Can't wait for a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place; immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.