We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This review is for the casino!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Juan to your Saves list
InterContinental San Juan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
northern ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“This review is for the casino!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The casino at the InterContinental is rather small and some of my favorite games from years past have been removed, but the people working there are some of the friendliest and nicest in any of the casinos in the area. The staff at the three card poker table made playing fun, they were not serious sticklers like we experienced elsewhere int he area. Jesus, who works the casino floor, is absolutely the greatest- he will go out of his way to make sure you have everything you want or need, or answer any questions, and always does so with a smile. We met him last year, and this year he greeted us like old friends. Treatment like that is always to be remembered and makes a person feel welcome. He is an asset to the casino and should be commended. The lobby area at the Intercontinental is very attractive, though when the bands are playing it's VERY LOUD, the restrooms are always spotless, and the lemon verbena soap and lotion provided in the ladies' room is so wonderful that I had to go down to the gift shop to buy some to bring home.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    261
    75
    43
    30
See reviews for
166
302
20
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

My husband and I stayed here for the 2nd time and were thrilled to be just as happy with our experience. We arrived at the hotel at 11am and were pleasantly surprised to be able to check in to our room. Our luggage was brought up to us quickly and the room was spacious - king bed, pull out couch, desk, dresser and a gorgeous view of the ocean! Service at the hotel for our 4 days was fantastic. The bellman, housekeeping, concierge...all friendly and accomodating!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

You will not be disappointed with this hotel! Not only is the hotel and the property beautiful it is in a great location. We stayed 4 days in Puerto Rico. The hotel is a 15 minute bus ride to Old San Juan and near the airport. We stayed in a Intercontinental Club room which was fantastic because we got a great free breakfast and happy hour every day! Our concierge, Nestor was fabulous and set us up for our trip to the Bioluminescent Bay. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful. The casino is not very big but it is a good size for being in a hotel. The pool is beautiful and the beach is so close to the hotel. This was the best vacation we've ever been on. One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at. We will be returning to this hotel hopefully next year. We are so glad we found this hotel and it's great deals to experience Puerto Rico in a great way!

Room Tip: club rooms are great because of all the freebies. We had a first floor club room which had great ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The manager Carlos could not be any nicer or helpful. He lives on property and is always ready to assist. The bathroom is very small. we had a frig and safe. great location. awesome restaurants within walking distance. down the street from ritz Carlton. nice lobby bar. they made a great cucumber vodka drink. Very nice Batista and great pastries. i called for dry cleaning and it returned to me on my bed within 24 hours. the pictures are exactly what the hotel looks like.

Room Tip: ocean front has great views 7th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We traveled as 2 families of 4 with elementary aged girls during the admittedly busy Presidents' Day week. We arrived at 430p, Certainly after the 4 PM check-in time. We were informed that they had a large group that was allowed to check out late until 2 PM and many rooms were not available yet. The requested hypoallergenic betting had "run out" and are adjoining rooms cannot be honored. One of our families could not get into the room until nearly 6 PM and we had 6:30 PM dinner reservations nearby. The managers response was "oh you can be late to that restaurant, they don't care". There was no understanding that young children cannot always eat later at night etc. there was very little acknowledge meant from the manager and staff of the multiple missteps during check-in. We had requested in room refrigerators and one was not present and the other one which did arrive was dirty. One room was adequately clean but the underrun had filled the stains in the shower and tub.

The food service was mixed. food was good but the kitchen took a long time to get any order out. The only accommodation we received for the significant issues was one free breakfast buffet for the family.

Beach was typical of isla verde but they charge 10 for umbrella which is ridiculous given the price of the rooms.they also could've done a better job cleaning the seaweed from the beach each day.The pool area was fine and the kids enjoyed the swim up bar for lunch.

Overall, the Intercontinental was disappointing. There are too many options in this area. They will not get a second chance from us. unless you have to be here for a conference, choose somewhere else.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompsonville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great Staff. The concierge is a delight he is very helpful. The location is perfect. Bell boys are great as well. I will return with my husband.
Nice restaurants just across the street. left out of the hotel are a few more.

Room Tip: 6th Floor (601) has a great view of a palm tree! Room 801 we were able to watch the planes land at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel room ok but bathroom were horrific hair everywhere , security disrespectful, hotel staff have no clue what's going on there always to busy on cell or talking. ..my mother's family was so disappointed it was a surprise she hasn't seen her cousin in 42years and they told us.we couldn't it a small cake by the pool because they thought we bought it outside but we got it in the hotel this is how this hotel tr ed at there clients ...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place; immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.