We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, hospitable staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Juan to your Saves list
InterContinental San Juan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
1 review
“Warm, hospitable staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at this hotel as a family for a week, part of the time was vacation and part of it was for a conference. The hotel was fine – comfortable, convenient, nice pool area, nice beach - not "luxury", but certainly very comfortable. What truly stood out, however, was the staff – almost without exception, the hotel staff went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. There are really too many to name, but special mentions to Ida, who was very friendly at breakfast and helped us out by putting our baby formula in the restaurant fridge; Nestor, concierge extraordinaire, who showed *so much* passion for his job and gave us excellent restaurant recommendations; Monica, who took care of us poolside; and Hilton, who cleaned our room each morning, always leaving entertaining and innovative "towel art". We were also impressed with Hilton's attention to cleaning – one morning my husband returned to the room unexpectedly while it was being serviced, and found that Hilton had actually moved the bed and bedside table and was vacuuming underneath them! Impressive.

The only downside to this hotel was how expensive food and drinks were. Breakfast and bottles of water were particularly outrageous, and I would recommend walking out going someplace local/nearby. Poolside drinks were also quite expensive, but that's the price you pay for poolside service, and on the plus side, they were the best cocktails we had on the island.

On the whole, we would definitely recommend the hotel.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    240
    69
    39
    26
See reviews for
156
273
19
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

In spite of a few negative experiences at the beginning, we had a relaxing and wonderful stay at this hotel. We give it a very high rating and will certainly choose to stay here again in the future. The start was bumpy but the situation was ultimately corrected and the rest of our trip was terrific.

When making the original reservation, we joined the Club membership and specified a room with an ocean view. We then had an unfortunate bad experience at check-in: The clerk first gave us a ground-floor room in the "club section", which turned out to be a large but dark and depressing room ground floor near the pool and without an ocean view. When we complained and pointed out that our reservation was for an ocean view, she showed us a lovely room in the Tower but told us that we would have to move rooms the first day as the only room available was being “Held” for another guest. Since we arrived early in the day, we could not understand why we couldn’t just have that room and the later-arriving guest have another room with an ocean view. We got quite angry over this situation.

Eventually, the matter went to the manager who corrected the situation. We met her with the assistant manager later and found both of them to be lovely and very responsive. It turns out that the ocean-view room was being held as “an adjoining room”, which the clerk should have told us and which would have prevented a confrontation. The clerk has since been advised to communicate more clearly with the guests.

Also, it is very important that the InterContinental reservation and desk agents are all informed about the location of the Club Guest section and the option of being a Club member with its privileges and still staying in the Tower with an ocean view. The agents making the reservation don't seem to know that the club section does not have rooms with an ocean view but there is an option to stay in the Tower and still use the Guest membership hospitality room.

The only other negative was that the sink in our bathroom was badly cracked and the tub had a few small rust stains. These fixtures should have been replaced and we were told that renovations are scheduled. For a hotel with the InterContinental name, these types of things should have been attended to without waiting for a major hotel renovation.

Rooms were clean and in the Tower, are well-designed. Our final room was in the “Tower” and had an ocean view as well as pool and landscaping view, all of which are gorgeous. The hotel is located on one of the very best beaches in the San Juan area with superfine sand and a wide beachfront. The food in the hotel is excellent and there are several excellent local restaurants within an easy walk. The Club membership gives you an easy buffet breakfast with lots of fruit, cereals, and sweet rolls/bread along with a gourmet small dish happy hour.

Room Tip: Be sure to request an ocean-view room in the Tower. If you are or join as a Club Member, know that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed 4 nights and 5 days at the hotel and had a great time. The service is excellent- from the bellhops to the front desk to the concierge - they were polite and personable and always helped me with whatever I needed. The housekeeping staff were delightful- I burst out laughing when o saw the towel elephant Hilton made topped with my baseball cap and glasses! The location of the hotel is perfect- I was able to walk across the street to a market any time I needed anything. Additionally, there was a Walgreens 2 blocks away. The pool and spa were also really nice as were the lobbies. The room was nice and clean. The only slight negative was the bathrooms which are on the smaller side and can use updated toilets- you have to hold down in order to get it to flush. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was clean and beautiful. The staff were nice, as well. I like the amenities and I had a lot of fun in the casino. It's overall location is a plus. Amazing views - i really like my view from the front of the hotel, as I could see the incoming planes landing at the San Juan airport. The valet, Roberto Vélez, was really helpful in accommodating me and my party with our bags and helping us and reminding us of a cab he ordered for us and our flight time (we were a little forgetful when it came time to leave - lol).

Room Tip: Both the front and back of the hotel has great views. Beds are comfy as well. Rooms are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The hospitality was incredible right from when you step in the door .. Was greeted by Robert Rodriguez, we started asking what we could do and for directions.. He was immensely helpful, very sweet and sincere!!! It didn't feel like it was just a job he truly wanted us to have a great time while visiting the hotel and the island ...Great hotel , love the casino and great live bands to dance to.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Credit for the fourth "star" goes entirely to the staff of this hotel. Every member of the staff is friendly, courteous, attentive, accommodating and, in general, eager to please. I would like to specifically mention Karoline, the assistant manager who assisted with our check-in, Edouardo, the concierge who was extremely helpful in getting us booked on a bio-bay tour when everything was seemingly sold out as well as with his other advice, Josue, the bellman, who offered service with a smile, and Judith, the front-desk manager who was very accommodating with our late checkout request. I've gotten over expecting perfection from my hotel stays, so I am particularly grateful when I stay in a hotel that has a staff that knows how to address any issues or concerns I may have. Whoever is training this staff knows what they are doing.

The common areas of this hotel are also first-rate. An elegant lobby, classy club level, beautiful and swanky pool area and very comfortable beach all make this a hotel property worth visiting. The drinks are great at the various hotel bars and the free hotel-wide wifi is a welcomed amenity. Another very nice aspect to this hotel is its location. Not all hotels in San Juan are directly on the beach, this one is, and it is nice to be able to easily walk between the pool and the beach. There is also a nice bar/restaurant right on the beach. This hotel is also literally minutes from the airport and less than 15 minutes from Old San Juan. In addition, there is a 24-hour supermarket right across the street from the hotel as well as a 24-hour Walgreens and a wide selection of restaurants all within walking distance.

I do have to mention that the guest rooms in this hotel seem a bit outdated. The bathrooms are small and could also use some modernizing. Having read other reviews indicating the same, I can't say that this was unexpected. I would hope that the hotel would consider updating the guest rooms so that the next time I stay there (and I will absolutely return to this hotel!), I can give it a five-star rating.

Thank you again for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Club-level rooms offer very easy access to the pool and beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pros:
-The concierge, most notably Baron, was out of this world accommodating and friendly! From recommendations on things to do around the city, to setting us up with great, reliable and cost efficient transportation. He went out of his way to make sure we were having a wonderful stay.
-The managerial hotel desk staff was very accommodating.
-The pool area was very nice. The staff at the bar was always really great, notably Johann. Jesus at the towel stand helped us locate lost sandals which we were grateful for!
-Resort property was very clean.
-Right on the beach, great location! Close to the airport.

Cons:
- We were initially put into a room that smelled like mold, it was awful. So watch out for this.
-Bathrooms were small and in need of updating in the majority of the rooms
-Service inside the hotel itself was slow, from ordering food from the bar (2 salads took almost 45 minutes, my recommendation is to not order while starving) to the service at Trattoria Italiana although the food was delicious!

Room Tip: -Ask for an ocean view above the 6th floor. -Ask for a room with an updated bathroom, there are onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place; immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.