We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but very nice staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Juan to your Saves list
InterContinental San Juan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Churchville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average, but very nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were booked here on a pre-cruise night, and it was overall OK for that purpose, but very average overall unless you are keenly interested in the beach (which was nice enough and large) or the pool (also pretty large, and quite pretty.) Likely, of course, there are various sorts of upgraded rooms, and the rooms facing the pool area with full balconies or patios looked like they would be great with kids, or for the pool inclined. The staff throughout was really very nice, friendly, and accommodating. The room was street facing and juliette balcony seemed pointless over than for a quick looky out. Housekeeping and cleanliness so-so, and when we checked in the smell of bleach was overpowering. Usually, we'd have complained and moved, but it was booked full and we had sightseeing to do. It was mostly dissipated by our return in a few hours. No ventilation in the bathrooms, but truly awesome show water pressure! Location was inconvenient to Old San Juan - a 20 minute taxi ride - and as first time visitors we would have found this inconvenient if we'd planned repeat visits. About 15 minutes to/from the airport. Positive: we have special diet needs, and were nicely accommodated in the Italian Trattoria with vegan and vegetarian meals that were tasty and didn't try too hard. Again, dinner and breakfast staff very nice. My husband ate at the outdoor breakfast, and this was very nice setting. Interested to see the curious black birds we'd see all over the island are sugar packet stealers, and the tables are set with an extra saucer over the sugar table settings. The birds did NOT cause any problems or nuisance. There are convenience and liquor and souvenir shops just across the street.

Room Tip: Go for ocean/pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    221
    62
    36
    21
See reviews for
144
253
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for a few nights before going on a Caribbean Cruise and wanted somewhere we could just hang out by the pool and also that was easy to get to Old San Juan if we wanted to. The Intercontinental was perfect for both of these reasons. The service is exceptional, the pool is big enough for all guests to enjoy, the restaurants are good. The rooms do need a little TLC but if you're only looking for somewhere to sleep because you're busy lounging by the pool or out exploring then they are ok. The concierge staff can be a bit hit and miss so it just depends who you get on the day. The Porters are great guys and for a few bucks will do anything for you.
The only downside I would say is try to eat local food rather than at the hotel restaurants. The Italian place in particular is awful and pricey.

Room Tip: Go out to eat and everything else will be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

4 star review is for a 5 star beach and pool and a 3 star room. Traveled with my husband and 7 year old daughter and we loved relaxing by the pleasant, winding, large pool and hot tub as well as the beach. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas at the pool. Free chairs and $10 umbrellas on the beach. The beach is soft sand, no rocks, small waves...very good for families. Looks like they had a kids club at one time but there isn't one now. It would be really nice if they resurrected it. The rooms are small and have little room to walk about, at least with two queens. Beds are, fortunately, comfortable. We also felt housekeeping was very lax...they did the minimum. The bathroom is horrible...not only small but no ventilation and nowhere to hang towels. Rooms have only a juliet balcony and leaving the sliding door open is fine, except there is a lot of outside a/c system noise so you decide if paying for the view is worth it. Elevators are small and slow. Delightful staff throughout the hotel...very friendly, polite and accommodating. The lower level store was relatively expensive but had quite a few clearance items...bought my daughter a new swimsuit for $22. We ate at only the Ciao Italian Bistro and the Akua poolside restaurant. Limited options but everything tasted pretty good. Drinks are pricey but the pool bar has an unadvertised 2x1 mojito special every day until 6 pm. Wifi is so so. Works decent in the room but is a little slow. Worked on and off at the pool. Location of the hotel is significantly outside of the Old San Juan/Condado area--about a 20 minute cab ride, but it worked well for us. It was 5-10 minutes from the airport and was a safe, upscale area. There is a minimart across the street as well as a Walgreens about 3 blocks away. Recommend the beach restaurant/bar El Alambique which is very close. Loved hearing the coquis right outside the front door as you walk up from the street.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed staying at this property. The location and staff were excellent. The kids enjoyed the pool and we lounged in the cabana with cool water and dry towels. We strolled the beach and took surfing lessons just nearby. The tropical drinks and bar food were good enough that we didn't feel we needed to leave the property. I would have preferred upgraded rooms, they seemed like the original decor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Top class service and wonderful people. The bellman was hilarious and was a savior each and every day we needed to plan our day. I didn't even bother with going to concierge. I knew Jorge was my man when I can down after sleeping in and asked where I could walk close for lunch. He took his break and we walked across the street where I was introduced to mofungo.

Can I rate mofungo on Tripadvisor? It's a perfect dish!

I tried breakfast once and avoided it the remainder of trip. Food was cold and pricy but it doesn't mean this Hotel deserves anything less than 5
star rating.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is for you if you want to be near San Juan and still have a nice beach area. Only about 5-1o minutes from the airport too. The beach and pool area is very nice, lots of bar areas and not too crowded when we were there. Food and drinks are expensive!

Room Tip: Choose a garden area room and you will look at pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days. The accommodations were very nice - comfortable rooms, nice pool, good restaurants. The service was incredibly good throughout the hotel however the over the top of service was Hilton - our room attendant. Hilton made sure we had everything we needed and went above and beyond with little touches, including his amazing towel art. We'd recommend this hotel - and Hilton - to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place; immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.