We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Save Saved
You added InterContinental San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The rooms are very nice. Property lovely, great pool, lovely beach. Staff delightful. Nothing but nice things to say. Really great. I'm coming back. Good casino, had salsa Friday night with a good crowd. Had a nice breakfast, excellent eggs Benedict. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    146
    40
    30
    14
See reviews for
111
166
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Cove, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I spent a Sunday-Friday at this lovely property in Isla Verde. The hotel was well appointed, most of the staff friendly and approachable, and the grounds magnificent.

Pros: Nice pool with in-water bar seating, waterfall, and plenty of lounge chairs. Nice beach with free chairs. Plenty of dining options on the grounds. Trip/outing planning on site. Avis rental car on site. Amazing bell staff, very very helpful.

Cons: Pricey food and drink options (NYC prices). Very strict check-in/out times. The poolside bar staff while friendly, were far from attentive or proactive. We often had to hunt them down to order drinks/food. They need either more staff or dedicate someone to the pool side of the bar.

Neutral: "buyer beware"- if you can't afford $100/day incidental pre-charge on your CC, don't stay here. It was no big deal for us, but apparently it's been an issue for others. Anything you drink/eat on property comes against that $100/day credit. We actually went over.

This hotel is also quite a way from Old San Juan, taxi is a flat rate $21 each way.

Overall a great hotel, great staff (particularly bell staff). Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Short Version


Stayed here 6 nights last week. Beautiful hotel/grounds. Room was ok. Bed super comfy. Decent hotel for the price I paid but it felt more like a budget hotel with a doorman and a bellhop. Room was behind the elevator which was quite loud. Staff was cordial.

Loved- Beach, pool, location (walk to numerous restaurants, grocery store, Walgreens)
Disliked- Internet


Long Version

Rooms are nice enough, nothing fancy. The room we were in showed signs of age (rust on bottom of the door of the mini fridge, paint peeling on shower ceiling). Didn't bother us but I could see these types of things upsetting some guests.

We were given a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite which was nice and spacious. My 16 year old, almost 6 feet tall daughter was comfortable on the pull out sofa bed. Our room was on the 14th floor overlooking the parking lot across the street -but we could see a bay further out :).

Housekeeping kept room stocked and clean enough.

Service was cordial and effective. Only ate at beach side restaurant - everything I had was tasty. Price was ok.

Beach is nice enough. It was clean. Not sparkling blue, more greenish but practically no sea weed. Sand is fine - not rocky. Husband ran the entire length of beach and of all the hotels, he said ours was the cleanest. Pool area is beautiful - lots of space.


Elevators- When we got there only 1 elevator was working but it was hardly problematic. We rarely waited more than a couple minutes for it to come and when we didn't feel like waiting we just used the service elevator. Half way into our stay one of the broken elevators began working. Downside- our room was behind the elevator (like there was a door that I think led to the elevator shaft) and once the second elevator started working we could hear the inner workings of the elevator whenever it came by our room. It sounded like metal grinding together or a car trying to crank up. Hard to explain.

I thought of asking to switch rooms but I was able to fall asleep even with the noise. So I ended up staying because we were already 3 days in and packing up all our stuff would have been a hassle. I can see this bothering light sleepers or those who want to hang out in their room and relax.

Hotel seems to have a band/DJ on weekend nights. I didn't see this advertised anywhere - would be nice if they posted this info in elevators or n the TV by the elevators.

Internet - Absolutely useless. They do have an option to pay $20 per day for better access (I think it is per device) - felt like they were nickle and diming.

No issues with mosquitos or AC (our room was always super cold)

Overall decent place to stay. I wasn't wowed, but, for the price and for what I wanted (relax on the beach) - it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a great time at this hotel. Close to the beach, great pool area, and walkable to multiple good restaurants. The staff was great at providing recommendations for activities and restaurants. Nestor Colon, William Cruze, Andy Rodriguez, and Omar were especially helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a fantastic hotel! We stayed at the InterContinental for a week, following a cruise and had the most amazing time. The staff, food and hotel were second to none. After having had a busy week on the cruise, we wanted a more relaxing week with a hotel near the beach - this hotel is right on the beach, so the location was perfect. If you want to go out to eat in the evening, there is a local place just over the road, otherwise you would need a taxi to go into Old San Juan. As it happened we preferred to eat in the Trattoria Restaurant in the hotel, where the food and service was fabulous (thank you Thelma) and when they found out we were celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary, they made it extra special. This is also where a wonderful buffet selection of food was served for breakfast, again our thanks to Lourdes who took great care to look after us. The Cafe, just off the Lobby, is where Milton shared his love of the island, and his pride in what he served. The quality and cleanliness of the rooms is also to be praised.
The only thing I would suggest as a possible improvement to the facilities to this hotel, is to have a dedicated channel on the TV for guests to keep a track of their account/expenditure, also it would be helpful to have a copy/receipt each time a cheque is signed in the shop or restaurant.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, whether for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is a reasonable choice for staying in Isla Verde. We stayed 4 nights. Seemed good for families. The rooms are nice (we stayed on 10th) but its set back from the beach because the casino and pool area was built in back so the view is of the roof of casino and the pool with the beach further back than the other hotels. 5 minutes from airport but didn't hear any noise. On Saturday the DJ at pool was very loud but he wasn't there the rest of week. Nice pool area and beach was good too for a more crowded public beach. It was fun to go to hot tub late at night and sip champagne after all the kids had gone inside. Its next door to the El San Juan Hotel which has a fun lobby, disco with salsa band and dancing and casino - worth going over there one night - we don't typically go out dancing but it was a lot of fun. There were some restaurants in walking distance for breakfast and dinner. Had heard it was an upscale shopping area but didn't see any of that so not sure. it seemed a little more run down but lots of hotels. Beach provided a long stretch of sand for walking which is more unusual for san juan so that is why we picked it. We did spend one day on the beach and the hotel provides chairs and umbrellas are $10 for day. Charlies Rental Car across the street had decent rates and open 24 hour so didn't have to pay to park at hotel after our day in the rainforest (which was great!) Hotel is on the bus line to Old San Juan (a must see) but it doesn't really run on a reliable schedule and it took 50 minutes to get there and waited an hour for bus on return. its only a 15 taxi ride but the taxi is $25 one way and bus is like 50cents. We did both because we went back a second night for dinner so that was very expensive dinner with $50 cab ride. Concierge was helpful but the woman at the tour desk wasn't very informative. we decided to do our own thing and it was fine. If you don't need to stay on the beach I would suggest staying in Old San Juan or closer to it.

Room Tip: above 10th in the middle of the hotel but can't request specific room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked a trip through a third party site for an amazing deal. When we arrived at the Intercontinental Hotel I received major brownie points with my wife as I did all of the honeymoon booking. She was impressed with the decor and the overall experience as soon as we got into the lobby. Problems arose when we got the front desk and they let us know that our room was reserved but we had double beds. This was not the idea I had in my mind for our honeymoon. We needed a huge bed stat....So we stood at the desk a little frustrated because they told us that there would not be any chance of getting a kingsize bed for the rooms levels in which we reserved through the 3rd party site. But then, a sweet lady with a calming smile, Briseida Colon, made us so happy as she gave us a better room at a great rate. Yeah we had to pay an additional 200 dollars but it was well worth it as she gave us a room overlooking the entire resort and the ocean on the 14th floor. She was very kind and was quite resourceful throughout our entire stay. We were actually upset that she was given an off day on Tuesday of our honeymoon. She didn't feel like an employee but more like a friend we met in San Juan. If you stay here at anytime I highly recommend you ask for BRISEIDA COLON.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the oceanview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place; immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.