We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Save Saved
You added InterContinental San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
Carolina, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel was amazing and the casino also, but the people of the Casino such as Aida and Jesus were the best, they always make everything that they can to make my stay much pleasure and they did a great job because I love my stay.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    123
    36
    24
    11
See reviews for
95
140
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Plata, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Pros: Ocean view, bell hops, and housekeeping.
Cons: Rude & unfriendly front desk as well as Ambassador front desk. The men were fine, the ladies had attitudes & were unhelpful & rude.

Spa service - IC does a HUGE disservice to the spa by having a gym directly above it. The slamming down of the weights was unbearable & totally ruined the ambience of the spa. Shouldn't there be an attendant that monitors gym users who consistently slam their weights? I honestly thought construction was going until my masseuse told me the noise was coming from the gym above.

Paper-thin walls - You can hear every voice, sneeze, & slamming of doors. I had to request a new room b/c the family next door transformed their room into a jungle gym.

Ambassador program - never got my fruit tray, water, newspaper or gift even after I called about it

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently Stayed at the Intercontinental for 11 Days, prior our destination wedding, about the resort all i can say is that it was excellent from Valet , and everyone giving you attention to detail... valet guy (josue) colored eyed..... always greeting and smile on his face..
Casino was great, from staff to dealers and waiters...
Aida Alcazar & Hector Ojeda amazing, they help us with telling us what was to do around town, best places to dine in, the beaches to go see, etc... anything we wanted to know they knew it all... thanks so much for everything...
Rudy one of the dealers friendly staff.....
The Hotel did have one elevator getting fixed and cause a bit of delay for everyone everyday but nothing major that can cause me to go back, i will def be back...
the pool staff was great, we enjoyed the final game of the worldcup at the pool bar and the waiters were on point , i liked how they have matching soccer outfits throughout the whole world cup games...
the gentleman that would hand out the wristbands for pool access and towels was super friendly, older guy couldnt' get his name...
the Hotel itself was super clean even though you couldn't find a trash can in the lobby .
i dont' know what else i can say about my experience at the intercontinental i would reccommend to anyone staying in puerto rico, right on the beach , close to many food chains, Brava Night club next to it...

5 stars... visiting puerto rico again Soon..
elegancecustomz@yahoo.com

Room Tip: Stay on levels 10th and Up to make sure you get to see the Beautiful view of the Beach...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I were at The Intercontinental for 3 nights and we loved it. The room was clean and comfortable, the lobby was immaculate, the pool area was gorgeous and peaceful, the property has access to a great stretch of the beach. The property itself is AWESOME but what REALLY makes it FANTASTIC are the people. They were all very friendly and helpful from the valet to front desk to towel hut to the gentleman at the beach access gate. This was an anniversary trip and now we're hoping to go back with our kids. The ONLY NEGATIVE I have is the elevators. They have one that is not working (some kind of upgrade I think) but sounds like it's been our of service for some time. Because of this there were times it took close to 10-12 min to get an elevator. I'd say in 4 days/3 nights we spent close to 2 hours just in waiting for elevators and when you're only there for a few days those 2 hours took away from 2 hours of good times. I hope it is fixed soon. I wouldn't avoid The Intercontinental because of an elevator but I hope management gets it taken care of soon so others can enjoy EVERY single moment possible.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your last experience with us. We are happy to read that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed the service delivered by our staff. In respect to the elevators, it is important to mention that we are currently upgrading one of them and to mitigate any impact guests waiting time we have enabled our service elevators for guest's use. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused and hope to welcome you back so that you may experience the upgrades.

Thank you again for your kind words about your recent stay with us and we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I spent 4 nights at a business meeting but took my family. The food is expensive but good. The bar is around the pool at a swim up part and the staff for the most part was very attentive. The beach was beautiful and clean. The hotel can use a little updating but linens were clean and crisp. There were nice restaurants close by. With the drinks so expensive, it made it hard to order more than one. Maybe a "drink of the day" would help. We spent Saturday afternoon in the pool watching the 3rd place match of the World Cup. That was a treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you very much for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed our facilities and service levels. We greatly appreciate your taking time to share your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The overall experience was good. One elevator was down for our entire visit (5 days). How does it take that long to fix an elevator? So, going up and down from the 12th floor was a pain. But, it kind of explains the entire stay... The service was just so, so. The bar on the beach offered better service, drinks and prices than the pool bar. Rooms are old... Bathrooms seemed older. Our towel bar wasn't even attached to the wall. Kept falling down. Great steak at Ruths Chris right on the property.

Room Tip: Ocean view a must. Higher floors offer better views. Balconies are mostly for show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing the InterContinental San Juan as your host during your recent visit to Puerto Rico. We are disappointed to learn that your visit was not a complete success and we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations this time. In respect to the elevators, it is important to mention that we are currently upgrading one of them and to mitigate any impact guests waiting time we have enabled our service elevators for guest's use. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused and hope to welcome you back so that you may experience the upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just spent 5 nights at the Intercontinental and it was fabulous! The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Louis, one of the Bell Men, was so nice and never failed to refer to us by name and helped us with all our needs. Nestor, the concierge, was very friendly, helpful & just a sweetheart! Eduardo Ruiz, the food & beverage manager was very accommodating! He was awesome!! The food at the Trattoria was as homemade & delicious as if you were in Italy! Ms. F. Garcia kept our room spotless and replenished the toiletries without us ever having to ask for a thing. This was our first trip to Puerto Rico and I would recommend the Intercontinental! The only down side was it's close proximity to the airport. The planed flew close to the hotel and at times it was noisey.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your positive comments and for recognizing some members of our staff! We greatly appreciate your taking time to review your last experience with us.

We are delighted that you had a great stay at the InterContinental San Juan and that you enjoyed our service levels. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place; immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.