We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Save Saved
You added InterContinental San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Juan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
San Antonio TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It is what you expect from a four star hotel. Nice rooms, comfortable beds, small fridge, coffeemaker, room safe, etc. Beautiful pool and grounds with great beach access. Pool not overcrowded. The downside is the restaurants are expensive. Typical for a 4 star hotel. But I found a way to eat less expensive without leaving the property. First of all be sure to ask for a child's menu it you are traveling with a child. They call it small plates. The portions were large enough for me. My little guy had chicken tenders and broccoli and I had a avocado salad that was huge. Prices range from $5-8. Next there is a small wine bar La Bodequita that has breakfast and lunch items. I got a large plate of fruit and a slice of egg potato omelette for $10. Lastly, check out Momoyama for lunch and the early bird dinner. I had a ten piece sushi lunch with rice, soup and salad for $15.50. I didn't go to Chris Ruth's but noticed they had a happy hour. As far a drinks go you will go broke drinking there. I noticed people going across the street to buy their beverages and bring them back to the room.. I did not find many good eating establishments nearby. The only drawback.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    118
    32
    23
    10
See reviews for
91
129
10
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a must stay if you are in San Juan. Staff very friendly, rooms are up to date. The large pool leads out to the beach. We spent a week here and it was the best experience. There are lots of shops walking distance and the weather was just perfect. The only thing wrong was the elevators were being repaired and they only had 1 elevator working so it took forever to get to and from rooms. Overall this was a great vacation. Caution beware of cab drivers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the second time in 5 years that I have stayed in this hotel. We booked our room through Hotels.com and got a great rate again. This is a primo location and hotel and it books up for events frequently. The pool and patio area are the best of the best and the staff is the most polite and accommodating we have ever worked with. The beach is monitored and maintained for Guests Only and rentals for water skis and Parachute water skiing is available for a short walk away. Beach umbrella set up is right outside the hotel patio area and the beach is not so crowded that you can't feel the atmosphere of the Caribbean ocean. Can't wait to return again for a great 4 day getaway. Restaurants and Grocery is all just a quick walk away. The first time we came was to arrive before cruise ship went out the next day and we were wanting to come back and stay longer to truly appreciate the pools and ocean/beach. It was everything I remembered and the room was wonderful too!

Room Tip: Stay on the levels above 5 to truly enjoy the sunsets over the ocean and far enough above the trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

excellent vacation. weather was perfect employees very professional. thanks Maria from the spa and Franco & Janell form the club intercontinental. don't forget Monica from the pool bar well done guys. this is our second vacation there. love it....

Room Tip: stay at the club intercontinental best choice next to the pool. private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Vac4u, providing excellent guest service is a characteristic of our property and we are especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay. On behalf of our team we would like to express our gratitude for your kind words about our staff and our property. We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As most people said this is a very nice resort, pool is nice, beach by the hotel was very nice. Loved that the place never seemed over crowded like a lot of resorts. overall, was clean. But here is the downside, I don't understand the checking in an check out process. I signed up for both the early check in an late check was unable to get either. First off 4:00 is crazy late for a check in to me, but that is warned before you get there. I don't understand how you can't get people in the room before 4:00 when you must be out of the room by 12:00. and I really don't understand why you can't let people have the late check out of 2:00 when you have til 4:00 to change over the rooms. Seems like one of them should have been available especially when the hotel seemed so empty. More than frustrating as a customer it seems like a horrible run business when that is extra revenue they could be receiving. Oh well, like I said we had a great trip from after check in to check-out time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your last experience with us. We greatly appreciate your kind words on our property and our facilities.

Regarding your concerns about the early check in and late check out, please note that these are subject to availability. As it is our goal to deliver unmatched service and accommodations, we always do our best to please our guests; nevertheless, sometimes we are not able to provide early check in/late check out as we have to give our guests the room category reserved. If the category booked is not available for early check in/or late check out we can’t provide our guests with an inferior one. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations to this respect during your last visit and for any inconvenience that this might have caused you.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I really liked the intercontinental. It is a beautiful hotel that offers many excellent services. I would like to give a shout out to the house cleaner Hilton. He is such a nice guy. He made animals out of the towels and they were very nice. The only problem that I had was when we checked in. The lady was not being cooperative and was just rude and not understanding. Overall I loved my stay at the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Stay on the lower floors. The elevators take forever. I was on the 15th floor and it was annoying to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and our property. It is very gratifying for us to receive positive comments from satisfied guests. Please rest assured that your comment about your check out experience has been shared with our Front Desk team. which always welcomes suggestions for improvement. We hope to host you again, so we may have the pleasure to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are staying here on our first trip to Puerto Rico and the longer we are here the more we like it compared to other hotels we have seen in the area. Both the interior and exterior are nice and well kept for the most part. The only issue we have run across is the elevators have been un-predictable as only two of the three are running currently which seems to have confused the system so when one opens grab it no matter which way it's going or you may have to wait a while for it to come back. The pool area is really nice with a huge pool, areas for kids and water falls. A bar and restaurant make it where you can stay at the pool all day without having to go anywhere for food and such if that's good for you. The beach outside the hotel is very clean and the waves aren't too high for the kids but are probably too high for solo toddlers. The hotel does provide free chairs for the beach area but the umbrellas are $10 for the entire day if you need one. All you have to do is ask one of the uniformed guys/gals on the beach for whatever you need and they will set you up quickly. The overall staff has been very attentive and quick to assist, and the concierge/tour desks are very helpful/knowledgeable. We haven't eaten in any of the hotel restaurants other than the one on the beach, the Ciao Mediterranean Café, which is reasonably priced for what it is (priced due to convenience kinda like eating lunch at the top of the mountain when skiing) and the food is good. If I knew someone was going to travel and stay in San Juan I'd have no trouble giving this place a recommendation.

Room Tip: If the room says "pool view" make sure it is at least above the 5th floor.. we are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we’re glad to read that you liked our facilities and staff. But most importantly, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences that the elevators might have caused you as we are currently upgrading them. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Puerto Rico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place; immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Amex, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.