We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christina S. - Fantastic hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Juan to your Saves list
InterContinental San Juan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Christina S. - Fantastic hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. The hotel is very nice and exceeded our expectations. The pool is beautiful, waterfalls and all! Special thanks to Pedro S. for being an amazing bartender at the Aqua Bar. He made some wonderful recommendations of places to eat in Isla Verde as well as Old San Jan and was 100% correct in all the places he recommended! He also makes the best coconut alcoholic drinks...yummy!! Also, Baron was great at the front doors with helping us get taxis and telling us good places to go for dancing at night. Great customer service!! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Christina S, thank you fro your great review! We are thrilled to know that you had a great time with us and that enjoyed our facilities, especially the Akua Bar and the service delivered by Pedro. Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    215
    60
    36
    21
See reviews for
140
250
19
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was our third time at this hotel and it's still the best! The first time, I randomly found it on the internet and my husband and I came for our anniversary. The second time we brought 5 couples and this time it was our family of four. The property is beautiful, perfectly located just minutes from the airport and well maintained. The restaurants and accommodations are superior. The service couldn't be friendlier. We are always treated like VIP's and made to feel special and welcomed. A huge thank you to Pedro, Jaders and the rest of staff at at the pool bar for creating unique cocktails for us and taking exceptional care of the whole family!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the ocean view, it's worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for being a loyal guest and for choosing our property for your recent stay en Puerto Rico. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service levels were the ones you expected. Thank you for recognizing Pedro and Jaders and the staff at the pool bar. We are very fortunate to have them in our team.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were not expecting a lot from this hotel but it delivered much above expectations. It has a beautiful lobby, very modern and updated. The staff is very friendly and let us use the facilities until a room was ready then called us when it was. The room was very upscale and had nice linens. The bathroom was where the hotel shows a little wear. Nice enough but definitely not new. When we asked for extra pillows, they were delivered promptly. Internet was strong and available by the pool too. The beach is very close and we walked on the beach on a very crowded Sunday afternoon. Glad we had a protected place to be. The gates are always monitored. Felt safe and comfy by the pool.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the opposite way of the beach but the view was still nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Suzanne, thank you very much for your fabulous feedback! We are thrilled to know that your expectations were exceeded and that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your valuable comments and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very nice hotel...drinks and food are a bit pricey but, that is to be expected. Special thanks to Baron for helping us move after a noisy party next door! Baron was also very helpful with recommending tours etc. I'd also like to thank Julio who went WAY out of his way to locate my wifes mobile phone. We were at the airport running late for our plane when we figured out we had left her phone in the taxi. I called the hotel thinking it was a lost cause....Julio who assisted us with our baggage said that he would do everything he could to find our phone quickly. Within 10 min, the taxi had returned to where we were dropped off with my wifes phone. AWESOME! Very Very please with his level of support. This is the kind of "above and beyond" that is rare to find. Thanks again....We will return!
Ryan - Austin, TX

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your great comments and for recognizing Julio and Baron! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the service delivered by our staff exceeded your expectations.

Once again thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Not knowing what to expect, I found the entrance to this large hotel to be very welcoming. Smiles by the young doormen and doors held open and assistance with our bags. The large lobby was clean and beautiful. I immediately found refreshment at the lobby bar with my son and daughter while my wife negotiated an ocean view, and the service was excellent as were the drinks. Looking around, you immediately felt that you had arrived at a world class destination. Our main concierge was fantastic (Nestor Colon is the man!) and he went above and beyond to ensure we had a great time.
We upgraded to a suite on the top floor and never regretted it. We had an ocean view to die for and the rooms were very clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was large and updated with a large walk-in shower (no bathtub). Doors on either side of the large bathroom opened to the large bedroom in case you wanted an ocean view as you prepared for the day or night! We had a table with six chairs and two flat screen TVs. Two small walk out balconies provided an outstanding view. Our housekeeper (Mayra Cozada) did a great job and was very pleasant. She left us two towels shaped as animals and our rooms were always spotless. There are no microwaves in the rooms but with the quality of food available you really don't need one anyway. The small room refrigerator could use an update but a minor inconvenience overall. Several plug-ins were hard to use, but the rooms we had were recently updated and probably needed to be checked. (We pressured for the upgrade and they warned us that it had just been re-finished.)
The pool area is very large with many hot tubs and various areas to relax and never overcrowded. Bar and food on the beach with beach service (Pedro was great!) was again very nice. The workout facility and spa by the pool were very clean and very up to date. The beach is wonderful and water is great for swimming. There are a plethora of activities available and you can always find something to do. A major casino/hotel is right next door and there is live music and dancing at both hotels. This hotel is located close to the airport and Old San Juan. We traveled on a cruise after three days at this hotel and getting to the ship was very easy and the hotel helped us secure travel. This hotel takes care of you and I would highly recommend it for a vacation visit for a few days or a week or two. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if possible and enjoy the blue waters of the Carribean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff and our facilities. Thank you for letting us know about the plug-ins, we will check them and repair them as needed.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

What a GREAT trip, and a GREAT hotel!!! I stayed here with my girlfriend for 7 days (Saturday night through Saturday), and it was nearly PERFECT. We did have a MINOR issue when we arrived and checked in - we asked for a King bed but were given a room with two doubles. The front desk staff was happy to switch the room, but not until the next morning (which was fine for us, seeing as we arrived after midnight and just wanted to SLEEP!). The view was AMAZING! The accommodations were great! The first day we went to have breakfast at the hotel and while the food was pretty good, the service WAS pretty slow (which was NOT repeated throughout the week). But, what was great for me was how helpful the staff was - always willing to serve with a smile, and there were LOTS of little touches. For example, each day (minus one day) when we would come back to our freshly cleaned room, there was towel art around - one day there was an elephant on our bed... the next a rabbit, then a bunny, and finally a penguin and a monkey hanging form a hanger... it was a great little surprise each day - the name of the person who took care of our room was Hilton (ironic name for someone working at the Intercontinental), and he was BEYOND helpful! I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: High floor and ocean view is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience. There is no greater satisfaction, as customer service professionals, than receiving kind words from a valued guest.

Thank you very much for recognizing Hilton; we are very fortunate to have him in our team. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with our team members. They will truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you. We certainly hope to host you again so that we may continue to amaze you with our unmatched service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Not impressed and in fact quite furious right now.

I'm supposed to be checking in tomorrow but noticed I have no reservations! Called customer service and was connect to a great supervisor named Eric. Turns out the IC SJU decided to cancel my reservation on March 13 but didn't even have the courtesy to contact me! Eric spoke directly to the hotel to get them to honor the reservation and rate and they pretty much told him to go take a hike. IC gave Eric the reason of "Global 2" for the cancellation but no one at IHG has ever heard of Global 2.

Eric turned a pretty bad situation into a good experience. I'm booked at a lesser hotel, for a much higher rate but they are treating this as a walk and will be reimbursing the 1st night stay and taxi fare.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with us. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused due to the cancellation of your reservation and the misunderstanding related to it. We are deeply sorry that you could not stay with us; nevertheless we are glad to know that Eric, from our Guest Relations department, could assist you and offer you a solution to compensate the inconveniences caused.

Once again please accept our apologies for the challenges you faced and we sincerely hope you give us another chance to show you that this is not usual for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place; immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.