We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Juan to your Saves list
InterContinental San Juan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I was traveling on business and we only stayed one night but it was a great experience. A gorgeous pool area and private area on the public beach are definitely highlights. The room was nice with a comfortable bed, large TV and updated bathroom. I only wish we'd had more time here to take advantage of the amenities. Hopefully I can come back and stay longer next time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    283
    93
    46
    33
See reviews for
182
350
22
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed here over MLK weekend and had a great experience.

The entire staff from front desk to valet to wait staff was super friendly and accomodating.

Our room was clean and comfortable. The balcony overlooking the pool and ocean was incredible.

We ate at the beach side restaurant twice and while it was a bit pricey, considering the location, we were very happy with it.

The pool and hot tub were awesome as were the drinks at the pool bar.

We loved our stay and were sad to checkout. We strongly recommend the intercontinental san juan.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed at a couple place in San Juan, and this hotel was just average. The nightly rate was just too much. Ok the lobby was grand, but when we got to the room, we were so underwhlemed. No microwave! The mini-fridge was old and needed an upgrade (rust throughout). The bathroom was somewhat small and the room just didnt do it for me. We stayed on the 8th floor, so our view was decent. There were some environmental factors that blocked our "ocean-view", wont pay for that again!
Vacation was great, but i could have done without my stay at this place. Nothing to be in awe over!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear DionneSherrae,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were enjoying this beautiful hotel and beautiful weather coming from the arctic cold of the Northeast. I mistakenly left all my jewelry out on the counter and forgot to close and lock the safe. After coming back from an all day outing on a catamaran, I returned to find our room cleaned and spotless and my jewelry still in the case on the bathroom counter and everything still in the safe with all of our money for travel in tact. I commend the housekeeper Beatriz (HSKP) for her honesty and the hotel for the excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a club room with pool view Jan 20-25th. Our room was well appointed, had a comfortable bed, and most of all was spotlessly clean. The housekeepers do a great job. Although the hotel was full there was still plenty of room available at the hotel, beach and restaurants. The staff was great. We asked for a late checkout as my wife was coming down with a severe cold and our plane did not leave until 6:40 p.m. Although the hotel was overbooked the Manager was kind enough to grant our request. We definitely will be going back soon

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Good location, beach, close to airport. Food average, drinks expensive. No hot water one night, and staff defensive and unhelpful. No offer of credit on a $350 per night room. Safe inconveniently located on top shelf of wardrobe, difficult to access. Thermostat also inconveniently located high on wall, behind an armchair. Thermostat lowered to freezing unnecessarily by cleaning staff. Noisy hallway outside room, near elevator. Elevators very slow.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_SJU, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental San Juan, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear travelsleuth1961, thank you very much for sharing your comments about your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We would like to apologize for your last experience with us. It is our goal to provide our guests with unmatched accommodations and service and it is very disappointing to learn that in some point we failed in doing so.

Your comments have been discussed with our team in order to address your concerns and avoid others guests face the same challenges.

Thank you again for your feedback and we would love you give us a second chance to show you that this is not usual for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights. No issues at all - was a very good stay. The staff service is excellent. As you approach a door to enter or exit the lobby from the front or from the poolside, even when it looks like there's no one there to open the door for you, somehow there is one by the time you reach the door and a staff person is there to hold the door and give you a friendly greeting. The front desk staff was very accomodating. My plans were for 2 nights but they extended me 1 night even though it was heading toward the busy weekend. The breakfast ($28) includes hot and cold selections and also a cooked to order omelette. They have a color coded bracelet system and the color changes each day to give you access to the pools and beachfront. Head outside to the towel booth, give your name and room number and when they verify the information, you get the towel and bracelet. Once at the beach, it can get crowded. But they have beach staff who also work very hard and are friendly. On one day, all of the chaise lounges were taken. The beach attendant went into the pool area and got me a chaise and carried iit/setup where I wanted to sit. There is no charge for the chaise's. The casino opens at 12noon. I found it to be a little dated and small, but it was fine. The rooms were clean and the bedding comfortable. Just one negative - they are not very soundproof from the hallway noise. The hotel has a welcoming feel to it and I actually preferred it overall to the El San Juan Resort and Casino.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Juan

Address: 5961 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico (Formerly San Juan Grand Beach Resort and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront InterContinental San Juan is located on Isla Verde and is a great setting for both business and pleasure. With the best sparkling beach of the area, perfect weather, amazing restaurants, natural beauty, fun and adventure, sizzling nightlife and great shopping your stay will sure be a memorable one. San Juan International airport is just three miles away. Conducting business is a breeze and it's easy to balance with pleasure. During the day, your group can enjoy our flexible meeting spaces and executive breakout rooms. Our team of experts will orchestrate the finer points, while you sit back in pampered elegance. Old San Juan and the main financial and business districts are just 15 minutes away. Nature lovers will not want to miss El Yunque Rain Forest, The Rio Camuy Caves or the Bioluminescent Bay. Free children (under 16 years old) and free Wi-Fi are just a few of the perks. Do more than just visit an exotic place; immerse yourself in it. Stay at InterContinental San Juan and allow us to pamper you with our warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Intercontinental San Juan Resort And Casino
InterContinental San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.