We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price. Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$141 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Price. Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This location is located right on the strip of Island Verde and while it is one the smaller hotels there it has everything needed. This location is very near the airport and the rates are much cheaper than all the hotels nearby. It has a decent sized pool with a swim up bar. Breakfast is free at this location every morning. The rooms and halls are very clean. The beach, casinos, bars and restaurants are all within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    349
    85
    21
    10
See reviews for
270
274
44
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I wish I could have stayed longer. The hotel was extremely neat and clean. The personnel was great. Felt super welcomed when arrived to the point I wish I could have stayed longer. Rooms were very cleaned and comfortable as well as the rest of the hotel premises. Complimentary breakfast: WONDERFUL!!!! I would definitely stay again, but longer!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful beds! Very clean! Great breakfast! Helpful, friendly staff! I traveled with a student group as a chaperone. Our group stayed in the Hampton Inn and Suites the first two and the last two nights of our six nights in Puerto Rico. It felt like coming home when we returned to the Hampton after two nights in two other places in the southern coast of the island. I gave the value a four as I am not sure how much our rooms were since it was taken care of by the tour company. I would definitely stay here again if I ever visit Puerto Rico on my own.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a early 7Am flight so we spent two nights here to be close. Many casino in walking
distance. Food by pool Very good and priced right. The breakfast and 5:30 PM free food & drink
were well done.
$20 cab each way to Old San Juan - airport cab $12 with bags

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Hampton inn review:

I am writing this from the hotel room.

Fees: I booked our room online and paid the first of many resort fees and taxes. When we woke up the day to leave, we received our bill with yet another 14% resort fee and tax. Total we paid four additional fees to the room rate. We went to inquiry and the receptionist was very helpful and explained all the fees. Just irritated it wasn't better explained when I booked my room.

Cab from airport: depending on how much luggage you have, the cab ride (which is one mile from the airport) could cost you at least $12 and up to $20, depending on the number of bags you brought.

Location: the location is in between multiple rundown and obsolete hotels that are no longer in use. Lots of graffiti work as you walk to the beach. Our window looks out to a dilapidated fenced in arena with the words "cockfighting" across the front.

Pool: very small compared to what I expected. The "hotel bar and grill" is just a tiki hut in the pool. (But apparently the food was good.) The atmosphere was ok. The pictures give off a much nicer feel.

Breakfast: typical hotel breakfast. Would have enjoyed some sausage.

Rooms: over all the rooms are ok. Could use some renovating. My ony concern was lots of mold in the tub area. You could smell a hint of it when you walked in the room. Luckily, neither I or my husband are allergic.

Service: the one redeeming feature of the hotel was the staff. They were so wonderful and nice. Greeted us with a huge smile, always helpful and always answered our questions.

Overall: for a one night stay, this hotel was fine. Just a but disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our cruise and they we returned for three nights after the cruise. The hotel was very clean and the staff were unbelievable. The breakfast buffet has a great selection of foods to choose from. The manager's reception was very nice serving snacks and drinks. Each night the cookies were fresh and one night we had a chef make crepes. I would highly recommend this hotel in San Juan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here last year and it was a very good choice. Walking distance to all of the other Luxurious hotels in the area. They also have alot of good places to eat. The beach is also within walking distance but its better to be accompanied eventhough there is police all over. I would definitely go back again if you are looking for comfort at an affordable price this is it.

Room Tip: No Spa available. Lobby area has coffee and tea available.There is also a microwave there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area of San Juan, Puerto Rico, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) and steps from Isla Verde beach. The hotel is located in the vibrant Isla Verde district, near Old San Juan and numerous historic sites, restaurants, nightlife, museums and shopping. Guests at this San Juan hotel can enjoy a variety of options for water recreation. Spend a day on the beach with free beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, toys and nearby sports vendors. Jet-ski in the surf or spoil yourself with a massage by the sparkling pool. Experience vibrant Puerto Rican nightlife, including live music in the resort or try your luck in the nearby casinos. Savor international cuisine, including classics, modern Caribbean dishes and delicious burgers - voted the best in San Juan - at the swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, or dance the night away in a nearby nightclub. Feel at home in a spacious and modern guest room or suite at this San Juan hotel, all with free WiFi. After a day of sightseeing or sunbathing, relax in the pool or amidst the tropical gardens and admire the San Juan skyline at sunset. Sip free Puerto Rican coffee at breakfast and unwind every weekday with a free cocktail at the hotel's evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.