We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hot tub, but that was the extent of the hot water” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
Chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice hot tub, but that was the extent of the hot water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hampton Inn before leaving SJ the next morning. It was a chilly evening so the hot tub felt great. Free drinks/snacks were nice (from 5-7). The burgers grilled at the outdoor snack bar were pretty decent. Nice comfy beds. Quiet. Main complaint was that we did not have any hot water. Tried taking a shower at about 7 pm and it was chilly, so tried again at 6 am, still chilly. Disappointed. Front desk not very helpful, nor did it offer a discount or anything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    287
    67
    19
    10
See reviews for
205
209
35
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've stayed here 3 times in the past 6 months. The hotel Is not on the beach, but it is surrounded by everything. The beach is only 1 block away, or a cut through the San Juan Hotel, if allowed. I love the staff, the overall cleanliness, and the 2 hour all you can drink for free every week day. You have to eat at the pool grill. They make the greatest burgers and steaks you will ever taste. I keep going back mainly because of the grill. The guys that work the grill are awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Puerto Rico after a fantastic stay at Las Casitas Village. The room was clean, quiet and the beds comfortable. The pool area was nice with a hot tub and swim up pool bar. From 5 pm to 7 pm they had free cocktails and snacks which was a nice touch. They do charge a resort fee so really not exactly free I guess! Beach access from the hotel is walking through a very run down area and the beach itself is not exactly picturesque. This hotel is very close to the airport but we did not hear plane noise in our room. We had an early flight and a taxi was readily available for our trip to the airport which is only a few minutes away. This hotel is okay for a night or two but I would not want to spend an entire vacation in this area Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It was very nice, clean, had a good pool and hot tub and you could walk to the beach. Sort of pricey though. It has a swim up bar which was pretty great. They also had a little grill outside that served burgers and hot dogs and stuff. There were some amazing hotels on the beach with awesome pools with waterfalls and stuff, id check them out they might not be that much more than this one. Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast, apples/oranges, cereal, waffles, bagels, "eggs", biscuits and gravy, yogurt and juice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My future in-laws, my fiance and I, went to Puerto Rico 12/6/12-12/9/12. We had the pleasure of staying at the Hampton Inn. We were surpised by the wonderful array of breakfast options (waffles daily with fresh fruit, other options change daily). The rooms are comfortable. There is a casino a block away and a Puebla (grocery store) just up the road. You can walk approx 4 blocks to the beach. Taxis are kind of expensive in PR but I wouldn't dare risk my life driving there.

The Hampton Inn's grounds are gorgeous. My father-in-law booked the hotel and I wasn't so happy when I saw the other options, but felt like a fool once we arrived. The breakfast area is cozy and bright, the pool area is tropical and luch. We ate outside every morning. Other than being a taxi away from everything, we would most definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: We did get a room by the confrence center and were woken up by cheering and clapping one morning. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Four of us stayed at this hotel last year and it was nice, however the rates were more reasonable at that time. The prices have jumped dramatically, and with the tax and 14% resort fee, the price per night is well over $200. Yes, the hotel is okay, but not worth that much money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love this hotel...it's just a notch below the Intercontinental, but that includes price, too!!
It's been recently renovated, and the lobby/breakfast area is very nice.
The pool area is good, along with a delicious Pool Bar and Grill. For about $7, you can get a sandwich with chips, freshly made! The black birds at first are annoying, and then they are just funny after a while.
They have free drinks and snacks in the afternoon, along with that free breakfast--very good value in my opinion.
Our room was nice, yes, it's an older hotel, but you can tell they are working hard at keeping up with maintenance.
Front desk folks were very friendly. In fact, all the workers were friendly and would greet you.
There was a power outage to our building while we were there and it seemed like it was handled as quickly as possible. They had flashlights to hand out to guests. The lobby area is on a generator, so most people just hung out in the lobby--in fact, one young lady plugged in her flat iron and went about her business.

Room Tip: elevator in the East tower is noisy, so I would avoid a room near to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Juan you can relax and enjoy our beautiful recently renovated pool and Jacuzzi® area. Indulge yourself at our Guacamayo Pool Bar & Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.