We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$141 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Second stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here one night before driving out to the west coast. We were very pleased that the Hampton again met all our expectations. This year we tried the food and drinks at the pool bar and agree with the other reviews that the hamburgers (and hot dogs) were great. Staff is friendly and very helpful. We stayed in a pool view suite and the room was clean, large and well maintained. The hotel's location is great -- within 5 minutes walking distance to the Ritz, Walgreens and other hotels and restaurants. 5 minutes drive to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    375
    91
    23
    10
See reviews for
299
298
48
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Croix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nothing really fancy about this place, my friend and I stayed at the Hampton Inn for 3 nights the hotel is just ok, taxi is available on site great places to eat fast food down the street Burger King,Panderosa,Denny's, a Mexican resaurant these has a great menu, Walgreens just across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotel in San Juan (Isla Verde). Great location, free breakfast, near everything...like casinos, disco, beach, etc. The pool is great, with a pool bar, free massages (some days). and even free drinks by the pool! Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I must write this review due to the fact I am so pleased with the Hampton Inn here in Isla Verde. This hotel has it all, from the minute you arrive till you depart. The rooms are so clean, the free breakfast was unbelievable and the service was superior to any I have seen. They have happy hour on the house from 5-7pm, there is free coffee, tea, etc and snacks at night. There is a business center , free use of computers, printers. A great gym and laundry room.

By the pool the area is clean and always fresh towels. We all felt safe and comfortable in this hotel. I met the manager,Mr. Garcia, he came out after my request to see him, I had to tell him that after traveling here for 20 years, this small jewel was the best hotel in many ways. He told me many new changes are comming and welcomed any comments,he is the new manager young and willing to take care of any concerns. Cross the street you can gamble and go to the beach. The rooms have everything you may need and more. For my money is the place. A few minutes to the airport, and the staff is so professional and always smile, Come see for yourself , I will always stay here. From this location you can travel anywhere in the island. After 9 days I am leaving back to New York, but will return very soon.You do not have to empty your wallet to visit this beautiful island.

Marie T from New York

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and so clean, tell them what you prefer, they aim to please
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Husband and I spent 3 nights here Jan.16-19th before taking a cruise. Arrived at midnight. All front desk employees during stay were Excellent. Bedroom-samesize as all Hamptons. Window opened well for air. There were actually 2 windows that slide (to block any airport noise) Food was plentiful, hot and Hampton typical. Cab service excellent. City bus was across the street and we used it to Old Town for $ .75US. Well worth it. Walked Isla Verde Beach. This shouldn't even get on the compare list with beaches in Caribbean. Dirty, scary, and blah. The resorts on this beach are all barb wire fenced and graffiti is everywhere. Denny's, Walgreens across the street and we used both. The are several other PR. and Cuban places in this area and we tried them. Pool area very nice. Now for the rest of story. We washed clothes in their on site room Sat. am before our checkout. 2 dryers (1 had a 'not working' sign on it and the one we used ran 1 hr and didn't even come close to drying clothes) Room was not air conditioned. Very hot. Propped door with a chair. 2 other women were waiting for this lone dryer and our clothes were still wet. Refrig. in room froze the water in plastic bottles. Couldn't adjust it. TV cable channels were not working. Carpeting stained everywhere. Lots of visible mold in tile/shower. The table lamp next to bed was 'on' when we entered the room. That's because we it can't be turned off. Just pulled the plug and did without a lamp on that side of bed. The beds at the Hampton are Heavenly HiltonWestin beds with very comfortable pillow tops. That's the main reason that I booked the hotel. This is NOT the case at this hotel and we felt every turn and roll. This resort has a nightly Resort fee, but this is just a typical Hampton layout, no resort here. There were 2 rates booked months before arriving. $179.95 and $170.99. I took the lessor and regret it because we looked out our window with first impression of Puerto Rico to a Cockfighting Arena that went on until all hours of the night and then during the am. they put these chickens out in their parking lot to cock-a-doodle-do for hours. The second reason I booked this hotel was for a window that opened for air. Wrong choice again. One must get the inside pool view rooms to avoid this nightmare. Would I book here again? No, I'd go to the Embassy very nearby which has a free shuttle to their private area on Isla Verde beach with chairs/umbrellas and is guarded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I travel to PR for business. Excellent staff and service. There is a small bar by the pool. The food made here is very good. I tried the churrasco and steak sandwich and they were excellent.
This property is very close to the airport (5 minutes) and in a safe area. It is within walking distance of stores, bars, and restaurants. I have stayed here several times and always had good experiences.
They need to upgrade their TV offering. Not too many cable channels. Overall I would recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

this was a nice, quiet, clean place with friendly staff.
The rooms were large and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast was first rate. It is convenient to Old San Juan but not in the congestion of the old city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#4 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#7 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area of San Juan, Puerto Rico, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) and steps from Isla Verde beach. The hotel is located in the vibrant Isla Verde district, near Old San Juan and numerous historic sites, restaurants, nightlife, museums and shopping. Guests at this San Juan hotel can enjoy a variety of options for water recreation. Spend a day on the beach with free beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, toys and nearby sports vendors. Jet-ski in the surf or spoil yourself with a massage by the sparkling pool. Experience vibrant Puerto Rican nightlife, including live music in the resort or try your luck in the nearby casinos. Savor international cuisine, including classics, modern Caribbean dishes and delicious burgers - voted the best in San Juan - at the swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, or dance the night away in a nearby nightclub. Feel at home in a spacious and modern guest room or suite at this San Juan hotel, all with free WiFi. After a day of sightseeing or sunbathing, relax in the pool or amidst the tropical gardens and admire the San Juan skyline at sunset. Sip free Puerto Rican coffee at breakfast and unwind every weekday with a free cocktail at the hotel's evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.