We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"It's just ok"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
St. Croix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"It's just ok"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nothing really fancy about this place, my friend and I stayed at the Hampton Inn for 3 nights the hotel is just ok, taxi is available on site great places to eat fast food down the street Burger King,Panderosa,Denny's, a Mexican resaurant these has a great menu, Walgreens just across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    308
    75
    20
    10
See reviews for
233
231
40
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotel in San Juan (Isla Verde). Great location, free breakfast, near everything...like casinos, disco, beach, etc. The pool is great, with a pool bar, free massages (some days). and even free drinks by the pool! Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I must write this review due to the fact I am so pleased with the Hampton Inn here in Isla Verde. This hotel has it all, from the minute you arrive till you depart. The rooms are so clean, the free breakfast was unbelievable and the service was superior to any I have seen. They have happy hour on the house from 5-7pm, there is free coffee, tea, etc and snacks at night. There is a business center , free use of computers, printers. A great gym and laundry room.

By the pool the area is clean and always fresh towels. We all felt safe and comfortable in this hotel. I met the manager,Mr. Garcia, he came out after my request to see him, I had to tell him that after traveling here for 20 years, this small jewel was the best hotel in many ways. He told me many new changes are comming and welcomed any comments,he is the new manager young and willing to take care of any concerns. Cross the street you can gamble and go to the beach. The rooms have everything you may need and more. For my money is the place. A few minutes to the airport, and the staff is so professional and always smile, Come see for yourself , I will always stay here. From this location you can travel anywhere in the island. After 9 days I am leaving back to New York, but will return very soon.You do not have to empty your wallet to visit this beautiful island.

Marie T from New York

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and so clean, tell them what you prefer, they aim to please
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, Ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Husband and I spent 3 nights here Jan.16-19th before taking a cruise. Arrived at midnight. All front desk employees during stay were Excellent. Bedroom-samesize as all Hamptons. Window opened well for air. There were actually 2 windows that slide (to block any airport noise) Food was plentiful, hot and Hampton typical. Cab service excellent. City bus was across the street and we used it to Old Town for $ .75US. Well worth it. Walked Isla Verde Beach. This shouldn't even get on the compare list with beaches in Caribbean. Dirty, scary, and blah. The resorts on this beach are all barb wire fenced and graffiti is everywhere. Denny's, Walgreens across the street and we used both. The are several other PR. and Cuban places in this area and we tried them. Pool area very nice. Now for the rest of story. We washed clothes in their on site room Sat. am before our checkout. 2 dryers (1 had a 'not working' sign on it and the one we used ran 1 hr and didn't even come close to drying clothes) Room was not air conditioned. Very hot. Propped door with a chair. 2 other women were waiting for this lone dryer and our clothes were still wet. Refrig. in room froze the water in plastic bottles. Couldn't adjust it. TV cable channels were not working. Carpeting stained everywhere. Lots of visible mold in tile/shower. The table lamp next to bed was 'on' when we entered the room. That's because we it can't be turned off. Just pulled the plug and did without a lamp on that side of bed. The beds at the Hampton are Heavenly HiltonWestin beds with very comfortable pillow tops. That's the main reason that I booked the hotel. This is NOT the case at this hotel and we felt every turn and roll. This resort has a nightly Resort fee, but this is just a typical Hampton layout, no resort here. There were 2 rates booked months before arriving. $179.95 and $170.99. I took the lessor and regret it because we looked out our window with first impression of Puerto Rico to a Cockfighting Arena that went on until all hours of the night and then during the am. they put these chickens out in their parking lot to cock-a-doodle-do for hours. The second reason I booked this hotel was for a window that opened for air. Wrong choice again. One must get the inside pool view rooms to avoid this nightmare. Would I book here again? No, I'd go to the Embassy very nearby which has a free shuttle to their private area on Isla Verde beach with chairs/umbrellas and is guarded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I travel to PR for business. Excellent staff and service. There is a small bar by the pool. The food made here is very good. I tried the churrasco and steak sandwich and they were excellent.
This property is very close to the airport (5 minutes) and in a safe area. It is within walking distance of stores, bars, and restaurants. I have stayed here several times and always had good experiences.
They need to upgrade their TV offering. Not too many cable channels. Overall I would recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

this was a nice, quiet, clean place with friendly staff.
The rooms were large and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast was first rate. It is convenient to Old San Juan but not in the congestion of the old city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel in Jan. 2013. The staff were friendly, helpful, and efficient. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a little wear and tear but in a humid climate I'm sure it's hard to maintain and the only reason why this isn't a five star rating. A nice selection of food with the complimentary brunch with an abundance of seating. A great time to visit with people from many different places and experiences. The pool area was clean and the hamburger at the bar was delicious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Juan you can relax and enjoy our beautiful recently renovated pool and Jacuzzi® area. Indulge yourself at our Guacamayo Pool Bar & Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.