We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful & Friendly staff & some nice extras.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$179 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Helpful & Friendly staff & some nice extras.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights pre-cruise. Front desk staff was great, room was excellent! Appeared to be recently renovated. Breakfast was great one day & disappointing the next. Nice pool & swim-up bar. Pool bar has a grill & I had the best hamburger I've had in years!! Who travels to San Juan for the burgers? This one was excellent! Thought this was the best value hotel in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    330
    82
    20
    10
See reviews for
252
264
42
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Puerto Rico is a beautiful place, this hotel is only a couple of blocks from a gorgeous beach which was great but the hotel itself is just ok in my opinion. I was upgraded to a suite which I thought was nice but the room was really run down, mold in that bathroom and rusty faucets. Very basic accomodations, although I did appreciate the complementary bottles of water. The hotel was probably about as clean as it could get but it is in desparate need of renovations. I liked the area, plenty of restaurants, hotels and casinos close by which made for a fun atmosphere. I also liked the fact that they were very close to the airport which was great after a long day of travel and I liked the pool area & grill. Breakfast was about what you would expect from a Hampton Inn but the pool grill had great sandwiches. If I come back to San Juan though I will stay at the Doubletree San Juan instead or someplace in Old San Juan unless they have a major renovation, I was not impressed with the rooms.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with a pool view are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

So as the title says I had used most of my points the previous weekend and wanted to extend my trip. I booked the Hampton in Isla Verde because it was in a nicer area. What I didn't know is that it was located next to a Cock Fighting area. So, when I opened my drapes, that was my view. Lol... My friend who stated with me thought it was quite humorous. Anyway, the hotel was nice. The lobby was breezy and light and the staff at the front desk were quite nice. The room was nice enough although after the Conrad, it was a teensy bit of a let down. The downside is the only place in the hotel to order food from is the pool bar. It was ok.. The plus, is across the street, there is a local cafe, Don Julio (I think) that was quite good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

There were no surprises with our stay. This reflects well on the management at the hotel and is not always been the case with other hotels in the same area. The room was comfortable and clean. Our room also had a workable safe and the door had dead bolt. The room had a real 4 cup coffee maker and was stocked with real Puerto Rican coffee. Our room had a clean workable refrigerator and no micro wave. The beds were comfortable and the TV worked well. The TV channels were provided by a local cable company but for non Spanish speakers had enough English speaking channels. There was free Wi-Fi in the lobby and room. Stayed there a few times because it's close to the San Juan airport and a good PR restaurant (Metropol).

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my father and son on dec 1st. The staff was friendly, and accommodating. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The pool is clean and if you are hungry the pool bar resturant has the best burgers I've ever had pool side! The breakfast is simple but good and it's included with your stay. The hotel also had pool toys and floaters for my son to play with which was nice because I didn't have to buy or bring it with me as he is three. The location is close to the beach a 5 min walk if that. There are several resturants and casinos within walking distance of the hotel if you want entertainment and dining. I've stayed at this location before three years ago and if you are looking for a clean comfortable hotel with close access to the airport, this hotel will not disappoint. Great value for the money with all of the amenities included.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I did stay for two weekends in this hotel, breakfast are complete with many choices, including hot protein, many cereals and sweets pastries. No egg Benedict, or fancy special options because this breakfast is FREE. I you are expecting those options go to a restaurant, some of the reviews here are ridiculous! The hotel is updated, plasma tv and great amenities in the room, including safe box and microwave. Very comfortable bed (Hilton standards) and pillows, very clean and smelling good. pool area is pretty, one block from isla verde beach. One mile away from the cultural venue (piñones), great restaurants and drugstore and supermarket near by. Nice gym facility, free water in the room and lobby. If you dont like it, there is a Ritz Carlton a cross the street!!! This Hampton is Very good hotel! I really recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a stop over stay after we returned from our cruise. We arrived at the hotel mid morning and even though check in wasn't until late afternoon, the staff stored our luggage, checked us in and allowed us to use the facitilites until our room was ready. Our room was clean and comfortable and staff delivered our luggage once we could get in our rooms. Breakfast was great and a quick option before we headed to the airport the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area of San Juan, Puerto Rico, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) and steps from Isla Verde beach. The hotel is located in the vibrant Isla Verde district, near Old San Juan and numerous historic sites, restaurants, nightlife, museums and shopping. Guests at this San Juan hotel can enjoy a variety of options for water recreation. Spend a day on the beach with free beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, toys and nearby sports vendors. Jet-ski in the surf or spoil yourself with a massage by the sparkling pool. Experience vibrant Puerto Rican nightlife, including live music in the resort or try your luck in the nearby casinos. Savor international cuisine, including classics, modern Caribbean dishes and delicious burgers - voted the best in San Juan - at the swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, or dance the night away in a nearby nightclub. Feel at home in a spacious and modern guest room or suite at this San Juan hotel, all with free WiFi. After a day of sightseeing or sunbathing, relax in the pool or amidst the tropical gardens and admire the San Juan skyline at sunset. Sip free Puerto Rican coffee at breakfast and unwind every weekday with a free cocktail at the hotel's evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.