We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's A Hampton Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$141 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
JAPAN
Level Contributor
299 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“It's A Hampton Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Quick synopsis because otherwise not much to say : Front desk staff : Great. Room : Hampton Inn. Guy at the Manager's reception between 5-7 p.m.: obnoxious. Music during Manager's reception : Good but too loud. Breakfast : Hampton Inn, but lobby too crowded, tough to get a table. Ice machines : Not working. Location : Convenient. P.S. There is a Pueblo Supermarket close by, nice to get a supply of sodas and snacks.
Quick tip : One thing that consistently bothers me when visiting San Juan, P.R. is the fact that nearly no hotel offers free shuttle service. It's like they are in bed with the taxi operators. For a three minute ride from the airport to the Hampton Inn the going rate is about $ 14.00 plus $ 1.00 per piece of luggage. If you check around you can find car rental for two days for about $ 10..00 per day, plus parking, which is $ 10.00/day at the hotel. That will bring you maybe a little bit over the taxi fare, but keep in mind you are free to drive to wherever you want, you are way more flexible.

Room Tip: I got upgraded to a pool room. It was raining most of the time, so we didn't experience any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    375
    91
    23
    10
See reviews for
300
299
48
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

booked a 2 night stay in King suite pool view room 10 months in advance, with request for quiet room, not near elevator. We checked in late evening and when we went to our room was dismayed to find it next to the elevator! As it was dark we could not see if there was a pool view, only the view of the front car park. We called reception and they said that we would have to wait until next day before another room became available and they could not explain why the room we reserved 10 months in advance was not available. The carpet in the lounge area was soaking wet, and when we got up in the morning we discovered that the refrigerator was not working and it had leaked all over the carpet. There was no pool view, only view of roof over front lobby and view of front car park. We were moved to another room the next afternoon, which was clean, spacious with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was average and was very busy, not enough seats, but at least it was included in price. A short pleasant stay after a poor start

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here on biz and was not disappointed. Property very clean and well maintained. Swim up Tiki Bar very cool and beyond what you find at a typical Hampton. The burgers are very good, although service could be better. Melissa at front desk is exceptional. Afternoon happy hour also enjoyable. Updated lobby/breakfast area decor, room, and bath. 5 min from airport, short walk to the beach. Room very quiet despite proximity to road and airport.

Room Tip: Don't miss Mia Casita, just up the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a nice place. Great location to food and beach, all of which are within walking distance. Room and entire facility is very clean. Internet is free. Free breakfast is okay, but not the greatest selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This Hampton is gorgeous - definitely not your average Hampton property. Swim-up pool bar, outdoor grille and bar, sparkling lobby.... I was here for business for a week and was very comfortable. They charge a resort fee on top of the standard rate, but I still think it was very much worth the price. 5 minutes from the airport, and on a safe and interesting avenue with lots of restaurants and hotels, with the beach on the other side of the road behind a line of condo towers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Just a short moment at the front desk, and I was all checked in. I was asked if I had been at this particular property before, and when I said no, was given all the info I could ever need. Free breakfast, Internet etc. Room was well prepared and clean giving a welcoming feeling. Coffee pot in room is almost a must for me and they even had a 4 cup as opposed to individual cup coffee maker. The usual amenities, dryer, water and the wonderfully fantastic Hampton beds ! I bookedmwith a combo of Hilton points and pay, so I had a superb deal. Would highly recommend this hotel. Walking distance to many things including some of the best food !

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel offered everything: clean rooms, really comfortable beds and bedding, amazing full free breakfast daily, 4 computers with free internet/wifi in business office, free drink in the evening with snacks, free massages in pool area, friendly staff, safe area, close to airport (noise not an issue), close to major highways for travel to other areas of Puerto Rico, free newspapers, protected parking, walking distance to fast food, Walgreen's, nicer restaurants, and the Isla Verde beaches. What more could you ask for? We loved this place!

Room Tip: Our room looked over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#4 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#7 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area of San Juan, Puerto Rico, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) and steps from Isla Verde beach. The hotel is located in the vibrant Isla Verde district, near Old San Juan and numerous historic sites, restaurants, nightlife, museums and shopping. Guests at this San Juan hotel can enjoy a variety of options for water recreation. Spend a day on the beach with free beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, toys and nearby sports vendors. Jet-ski in the surf or spoil yourself with a massage by the sparkling pool. Experience vibrant Puerto Rican nightlife, including live music in the resort or try your luck in the nearby casinos. Savor international cuisine, including classics, modern Caribbean dishes and delicious burgers - voted the best in San Juan - at the swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, or dance the night away in a nearby nightclub. Feel at home in a spacious and modern guest room or suite at this San Juan hotel, all with free WiFi. After a day of sightseeing or sunbathing, relax in the pool or amidst the tropical gardens and admire the San Juan skyline at sunset. Sip free Puerto Rican coffee at breakfast and unwind every weekday with a free cocktail at the hotel's evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.