We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Get-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 4th Night
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Get-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

CHECK IN: we were taken care of very promply and were asked if we would like a beverage several times during the 10 min time we spent figuring out our rooms as we upgraded one room to a beach view. the hotel was accomodating in moving our second room on the same floor as the first.

ROOMS: a bit small but very comfortable. the beds are extremely comfortable and the alarm clock is equipped with an ipod dock to play and charge your ipod. the balcony outside of the beach-view room was comically small.

POOL: we did not spend much time in the pool but it was nice. you can reserve private cabanas but i'm not sure how much that costs. the layout of the paths around the pool and to get to the beach is a bit cramped/complicated but the palm trees are absolutely lovely. the towel attendents are helpful and there are always cool pitchers of lemon/orange water that you can refresh yourself with. occasionally there were cool aloe towels.

BEACH: the attendents were happy to take as many chairs and umbrellas as we needed and set them up on the beach where we wanted them. they also put the towels on the chairs including a rolled towel for a head rest. if you go later in the day you won't have a problem getting chairs but they might run out of umbrellas.

FOOD: the food/drinks at the resort are very expensive, but you know that going into it. The breakfast buffet is $25 and includes unlimited champagne. outside of that we ended up paying $35 for two drinks including tip so big drinkers, beware! we opted to dine outside of the hotel several nights. the name is escaping me but if you go out of the hotel and walk about 3 blocks to the right, past the CVS there is a good cheap restaurant that does mexican with a puerto rican twist. we also took a cab into town one night and discovered many "open air" cafes and restaurants.

SERVICE: Very friendly and helpful staff. No problems.

ACTIVITIES: There are surf lessons on the beach which can be accomodated to any group. I took a private hour long one while i was there and it was a blast. we also took a snorkeling trip that included a nice boat ride with rum punch. the hotel also includes a nice casino.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    592
    349
    135
    91
See reviews for
475
844
49
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We read the tripadvisor reviews before we went and, as usual, the positive reviews were more accurate than the people who use this site to grouse about the bumps in the road that are inherent to travel. Not sure what more people would want out of a beach, it was beautiful. Pool and tennis courts were tremendous. Restaurants were top notch. The room was standard size but pretty much exactly what we were expecting. We didn't stay in the most expensive rooms on the property (ours was "pool-view") so I couldn't comment on other room sizes. Other guests were very pleasant and all seemed to be enjoying their vacation. Staff was courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augusta, ga
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

After reading reviews from May 09 I was very worried about my trip to the Ritz Carlton. However, to my delight, this Ritz Carlton is superb!! It lives up to the standards of the other RC's that I have stayed in. The staff is most accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable. I am a travel agent and will never recommend any other resort in San Juan to my clients. The service could not be topped anywhere!! The Concierge, the doormen, the housekeepers, receptionists, waiters, waitresses, restaurants and spa were just magnificient. Do not worry about other reviews. This place is a must for anyone traveling to San Juan.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed here with my husband over Memorial Day weekend. The service was good. Other than that, what a disgusting place. The guests were mostly sloppy and messy and looked like day trippers going to a public beach to get out of their hot apartments. The rooms were so run down and small they were like cells rather than rooms. We were on the Club Floor and the lounge was disgusting and smelled like "old hotel." I dropped a string bean on the floor my first day there and it was still on the floor when we checked out 4 days later. Even the guests on the Club Floor looked like they belonged somewhere else. There was one couple who was there for every single food presentation loading up their plates with "snacks" and making it a meal that could serve 6. It was obvious they were not paying for any other meals on this vacation other than what they could stuff in their faces from the lounge. There was a computer in the lounge for people to use. Who would want to use it. There was one kid who was on it for hours and when he literally sneezed all over the keys his mother sat there and said "Bless You" like this is acceptable. Gross. Anyone who says that the beach is nice has obviously never been anywhere else. The beach was dirty and one block away from slums. I went for a walk and came across a shanty town right by the beach not more than 150 feet from the hotel. Il Mulino and BLT Steak are very nice restaurants which were the only good thing. They don't even belong in the hotel. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This ritz..definitely not up to ritz standards. Lots of rif raf allowed on to the property. TV does not work in room, Blow dryer need to be replaced. Service adequate at best. do not waste your money go somewher much nicer than this. Looked like a ghetto outside by the beach grafitti and dirty sand..u can much for your money somewhere else

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Our son got married here on May 23, 2009 and we went down for the wedding. Perfect wedding, I should add. We stayed at the Ritz for three nights, with family and friends, and had the most wonderful time ever. Jennifer, the wedding planner is awesome and the ceremony and receptions were the best I've ever seen. The hotel, as well, is top notch, and I give this resort 5 stars for service, accomodations, food, and beach!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This Ritz is in name only. The hotel is nice enough, though nothing great. Rooms are just average. The hallways are extremely noisy, both because of loud talking staff (housekeepers, etc.), and low class, inconsiderate guests. The hotel has lots of rooms and only 3 elevators. When we were there (5/21 - 5/25), only 2 were working. Thus, the waits for an elevator were endless, and then when 1 finally got to our floor, it was so packed, we couldn't fit in - so we walked down 8 flights more than once. The problem is if you want to be in Puerto Rico, the Ritz is probably the best of the worst.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.