We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, poor location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 4th Night
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NYC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel, poor location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I definitly enjoyed this hotel, very clean and service was great.
It consisted of being both quiet, and full of life with entertainment and the casino kept us busy :)
The location was okay, but not much at all surrounding the hotel, be prepared to take taxis around to restaurants etc.
The beach was nice. I had a massage at the spa, it was relaxing and nice.
No complaints about the hotel and managment, they were great... just poor location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    592
    349
    135
    91
See reviews for
475
843
49
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

as i type this i am sitting in my room, leaving tommorow,, i read all the reviews for this place before i booked it..
we came here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary,,,, Dont come here if you expect quietness.

T147 Heulitt Rd
Colts Neck, NJ 07722

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel was up to ritz quality, but the location was unfavorable and the beach was average. Considering the beauty of the rest of the island, I question the choice to place this hotel adjacent to an international airport and packed into a less than attractive portion of the island. We hardly stayed around the area and spent most of the time on the east end of the island which is an hour away. I wouldn't stay there again. Also, the hotel was so packed on the weekend, there was barely room to squeeze in a couple of beach chairs and no room at the pool. The facilities were exhausted and understaffed.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Not sure what all the negativite comments are about, you are on vacation people, have a pina coloda and get some sun by the beach!

From check in, to restaurant staff, to housekeeping, to in room dining, to pool staff, to spa staff, everyone at the Ritz was incredibly courteous, polite and very helpful. The breakfast buffet which was included in our room rate was the same everyday, so I'd suggest add some variations to that. Also, to avoid locals from coming to the beach area or pool area, maybe give all hotel guests wrist bands so they can be identified. We ate dinner at the Italian restaurant one night- the service was superior. The check matched the service, it was very pricey, but you get what you pay for. The rooms were clean, the beach area was very comfortable- we got lounge chairs and umbrellas and delicious drinks everytime. Venture to Old San Juan for dinner or nightlife. All in all a great stay and will definitely return! Thanks for an amazing vacation!

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for a pool/ocean view room, it's not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from the Ritz Carlton in San Juan and I'm struggling to come up with the right words for the review. The hotel itself is wonderful. The staff (with only a few speed bumps) is outstanding and helpful. They are always asking what they can do for you. The casino is up to date and well kept. The lobby and grounds are well manicured. BLT steak is pricey but good. You can save a buck by doing the sunset menu before 7;30. Same with Il Mulino. Food and service were excellent. Front desk and concierge were all very helpful and friendly.

Now for the other half of the experience. The beach is a pubic beach. This has never been a problem for me in the past as many resorts beaches are public beaches. We're just back from 10 days in Hawaii and many of those resorts were public beaches. The Atlantis beach is public as well. But I have never experienced locals like this before on vacation. It's not that the Ritz doesn't try to make it a wonderful experience on the beach but when the locals show up with a cooler of beer and a boom box blasting it can ruin your vacation. And lets just say the 3 or so dogs each group arrives with doesn't help the atmosphere either. AND they use hotel lounge chairs. I don't know if they are friends with some of the staff who look the other way but I assure you they use the lounge chairs. Not all do, but I saw with my own eyes that some did.

To net it out, I would say yes I'm a little picky when it comes to taking a vacation after working hard to save for it. But not overly picky either. Some of the review talking about the hotel needing an update are a bit harsh. Yes, some of the hallway carpets have seen better days but lets face it, it is IMPOSSIBLE to maintain a 'just new' look every day. Things wear and then get replaced. Overall I will not travel back to San Juan. Not because of the Ritz but because of the overall experience which just made it not worth the money & time.

If this was just a review on the Ritz and it's staff, it would get 4.5 stars.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here with a group 7/20-24. Close to the airport, but you rarely hear it. Property is lovely (it's a Ritz, after all). Nice beach area with food/drink service - because having frozen drinks brought to you while you chill out on your cushioned chaise lounge is never bad. Chaises were always available, but I wish they didn't start taking them at 6pm. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. My only complaint was that the pillows were too soft. You get many, but multiple mushy pillows don't work either. Restaurants on the property are good. Il Mulino, however, has more waiters than you need (and charges you for it). Food was decent, not worth the overall price. Casino is the best in Carolina and better than other parts of the Caribbean, but it's not very big. There was a mix of guests here; couples, families, and friends. Apparently there was some celebrity from the DR there, but I had no idea who she was.

If you want to go off property, check out the tours early on. If you don't like what the onsite company offers, they can find you other options. Didn't find the folks at concierge all that useful, but other staff made great recommendations. Everything seemed to be a 15-20 min cab ride from the hotel. (All cabs were minivans.) Don't bother with Plaza America. Went on a rainy day. Just an American mall (except their Macy's did have a lot of good stuff.) There is also a Walgreens one block over with everything you need, including beer, wine and liquor. As for the other hotels nearby, the El San Juan's lobby bars were cool. That's all.

As for others' reviews - there were a few locals, but so what? In the water, I chatted with a nice woman who purchased a day spa pass to hang out while her mother played at the casino. She recommended some nice restaurants. There is music at the pool bar, but it certainly wasn't blaring. Never heard my neighbors. Heck, my room faced the airport and I never heard the planes.

Just go have fun.

Room Tip: City rooms face the airport, hills, and suburbs. Very pretty at night and had a moon view. Water v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been to many Ritz Carlton's - sorry to say this isn't up to Ritz standards. First the positive- rooms are very nice, roomy. Beds are very comfy. Door staff were welcoming. Website said the poolside restaurant was under construction. I specifically asked if there would be jackhammering & was told NO, that they were painting & doing floors. NOT TRUE. Jackhammering all day (except Sunday). Twice they ran out of towels at the pool, and it was not remedied timely at all. They seem to let anyone in to the pool- if we are paying Premium prices to stay here, that shouldn't be!There were plenty of people working, preparing chairs , umbrellas but it was not the "service with a smile" that we are accustomed to at a Ritz- many of the workers seemed angry, unhappy to be there. Drinks were good, over priced, but to be expected. Casino - black jack dealers were overly cranky and unfriendly. Don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.