We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Marriott, Not So Good Ritz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok Marriott, Not So Good Ritz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

In the world of hotels the Ritz Carlton, San Juan is four stars. In the world of Ritz Carlton's it's one or two. It is the attentive, caring staff that gives this hotel it's fourth star. As a Ritz Carlton it is sorely lacking and in need of some major renovation. It's just tired. Lobby bar furniture is worn. Pool grill furniture dinged up, crumbs in the glass table tops, faded worn wooden place mats. In the rooms, carpet is stained, furnishings are sparse. How about an extra picture on the wall and a table in front of the loveseat?

An early evening cocktail in the lobby bar is a time for most to sit, talk, review the days activities. Hard to do here with a DJ playing loud music you would expect to hear in a club at midnight not in a Ritz lobby at 5:30.

Breakfast at buffet with coffee and tip for two will run around $80. Ok. I get it. It's the Ritz. You expect expensive. But come on. When the breakfast tab starts approaching $100, you might be looking for something special. If the food is ordinary at least a spectacular presentation. And I always look for something special at a Ritz.

It was disappointing that one of the two fine ding restaurants did not offer menus with a local flavor, contemporary Puerto Rican cooking. Instead there is a steakhouse no better or worse than any other high end steak house. Nothing special here. The second is Il Mulino, an over rated New York Italian restaurant with a boring menu of classic Italian dishes you find at most Italian restaurants. Having said that, you do get a good meal at either one. Just not memorable.

The hotel caters to families so expect the pool to be jammed with kids. The pool and pool area is really too small for the size of the hotel. Drink and food service poolside is spotty at best.

Room wasn't made up until late afternoon each day and never received turndown service. Maybe because we returned to the room too early, usually around 9 pm.

The Ritz is part of the Marriott chain. Marriott hotels are known for dependable high quality. This hotel meets that Marriott standard. But as a Ritz Carlton, a step above, it misses the mark. Take down the Ritz Carlton name, call it a Marriott. Expectations met.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    616
    358
    141
    97
See reviews for
504
883
52
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We love this place. The rooms are very well appointed and the grounds while small are beautifully kept. What sets this apart is the amazing service and friendliness of the staff. I love the ease of getting from one place in the hotel to the other. Great experience. TE concierge was so helpful in finding fantastic restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I choose to stay at the Ritz because of the reputation, location and Kids Club. The hotel did not live up to our expectations. At check-in the hotel staff were not rude, but they were totally un-helpful. After pre-paying for the room we found we were on a lower level with a not so great view of the entrance awning. As a Marriott points club member with tens of thousands of points I thought I would be able to get an upgrade. I was told the hotel, on a Wednesday, was sold out????? I found out from another guest at the pool the next day (he complained about the same experiences as I was having) that an upgrade required a $50.00 tip to the front desk. Which he did, got the upgrade and still had to pay an extra $200 a night. Not what I would expect from the Ritz. As a Hilton Diamond member, that never would have happened there.

As far as the stay, the concierge will only provide you information on packages and excursions that they have “certified”. All this means is that they have a contract with the Ritz. Their rates are much higher than we found outside the hotel.

The casino is Ok, nothing special. My blackjack dealer wasn’t friendly or helpful.
The New York high dollar restaurant at the hotel was amazing.
The pool was fine, only 3 feet or so deep all the way around. It’s big.
Drinks and food are the most expensive I have EVER seen.
The room was very average, which for $300 a night I could get the master suite anywhere else.
Customer service was no better. We had to wait 45 min. for 3 spoons to be brought to the room, twice.
I was told there is a major fee for ordering room service. We didn’t order it, but I am sure the Ritz charges for the service.

All in all I would not waste my hard earned money staying at this hotel.

You can get a better deal at a Hilton.

Room Tip: Apparently you’ll need to slip the check-in desk at least a $50.00 for an upgrade that you still hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night for our wedding anniversary. We flew into SJ on a red eye from New England. We were shocked to be given an incredibly upgraded room and check in at 8am!!!! I think this was due to the fact that we only had a reservation for one night and it was the off season but we were still thrilled.

The staff are great! Very eager to help and very welcoming.

The beach is pretty. It was very windy, and the visibility in the water was about 3-4 feet. We brought our snorkeling gear but didn't use it as there wasn't a reef within swimming distance.

We were also surprised by a box of cookies and a handwritten note upon our evening return to our room.

We picked up wine and snack items at the Walgreens down the street, which was very reasonably priced. We also ate at Metropol down the street, which was just ok. I can't speak for the food/drinks at the Ritz as we really didn't partake. We did enjoy the fresh fruits and infused water by the pool and on the beach.

We would stay here again in a second!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel provides the luxury we expect from The Ritz in a beautiful setting on the water. The quality of the restaurants make it a challenge to leave the property! Old San Juan is just a short cab ride away for quaint shopping and historic sites.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The pool needs a major rennovation we should have stayed in florida or gone to another ritz- the pool is so dark and worn out looking that it looks like you are swimming in a dark lagoon vs a nice pool. The Italian restaurant is way overpriced and the kids club ridiculously priced. Would definitely book another island not here!!!! I will say the staff is far more attentive than at el conquistador though .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Signature beautiful Ritz Carlton property...with a casino! Woot woot! I recommend visiting the Club Lounge for the daily food presentations and alcohol...if we weren't at the casino, the beach or sightseeing in Old San Juan or El Yunque, we were definitely enjoying the comfort, privacy and luxury of the Club Lounge. The staff at the Club is soooo much fun and so helpful with anything and everything. The Club Lounge was definitely like the cherry on top during our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
19.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
#1 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
12.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#3 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.