We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We should have stayed in Florida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Isla Verde
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We should have stayed in Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The pool needs a major rennovation we should have stayed in florida or gone to another ritz- the pool is so dark and worn out looking that it looks like you are swimming in a dark lagoon vs a nice pool. The Italian restaurant is way overpriced and the kids club ridiculously priced. Would definitely book another island not here!!!! I will say the staff is far more attentive than at el conquistador though .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    836
    499
    303
    122
    79
See reviews for
395
697
38
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Signature beautiful Ritz Carlton property...with a casino! Woot woot! I recommend visiting the Club Lounge for the daily food presentations and alcohol...if we weren't at the casino, the beach or sightseeing in Old San Juan or El Yunque, we were definitely enjoying the comfort, privacy and luxury of the Club Lounge. The staff at the Club is soooo much fun and so helpful with anything and everything. The Club Lounge was definitely like the cherry on top during our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We knew we made the right choice when our cab turned in to the parking area. The place is amazing inside and out. The massive pool area was beautiful and scenic. The beach felt private and was very relaxing. They really care about satisfying every guest of the resort. It was our first time to the island and we didn't want to leave the resort for the first 24 hours of our trip. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best but definately not necessary. The worst room is better than most other resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
111223
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

very nice hotel on the san juan end of puerto rico
when you hear ritz you deffinetly think luxurious this was nice
not much of a night life or restaurants so you have to leave the hotel
the beach and ocean there are beautiful and the staff is amazing
deffinetaly would go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This property reminded me of another Marriott property that I love in Florida. It is right on the beach, the rooms are luxurious, and the amenities are plenty. Food and drinks are pretty expensive, but we especially enjoyed eating at one of the hotel's restaurants, Il Mulino. The wait staff was incredible and we very much felt pampered.
Even though you can see the airport from this hotel, it was very quiet and very comfortable. One downside is that there are not many nice restaurants within walking distance
Would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had a city view facing north, which is not the greatest view. I always ask for a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesport, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife & I were attending a wedding at The Ritz for very close friends of ours. We were also celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We arrived by limo and we're graciously greeted - the staff was just as we expected, PERFECT 10's... the front desk had 2 glasses of champagne waiting for us, since they knew we were celebrating ours 25th and they too were 10's.

We travel & stay at the best hotels in the world, however this was near the middle of the list surprisingly. Don't get me wrong, you won't disappointed because it is very nice, it's just that the rooms in our opinion are dated.

The CONS
#1 The hotel does not have a full back up generator, therefore when the power went out during cocktail hour the day of the wedding, the A/C had to be shut down in many parts of the hotel and the hall that we were gathered in became very uncomfortably warm - I didn't expect a company like this that caters to a higher end client, to be this unprepared. Especially because power outages like this happen on a frequent basis, due the geographic location. Shame on your guys!

#2 The pool area is very nice, but I thought we were at a Disney pool there were so many children and young teens. Not at all what we expected. Don't get me wrong, I love kids - we have 3 boys - but, we truly did not expect to floating in the pool and bumping into kids every 15 seconds and of course the noise level was that of a Disney location. If kids playing don't bother you at this price - then more power to you - you'll have a blast! We would rather float in peace & quiet and be among adults at The Ritz and reserve our time with kids for a more kid friendly atmosphere.


The PROS
#1 GREAT FOOD - don't even bother leaving the property, unless you travel to Old San Juan for some cite seeing or to a cock-fight with he locals.
We've eaten at il Mulino's in Vegas and it was exquisite dinning - the same goes for this location - 5 star all the way! Make reservations ahead of time - they get booked quickly.
BLT Steak - is a MUST for us carnivores. a GREAT Filet Mignon and very nice atmosphere - the waiters were very good.

#2 We did great at the casino $3,300.00
#3 the bar in the lobby was fun after the wedding

Like I said, you won't be totally disappointed if you are heading there for some particular event -- but I would not make it my destination for a vacation - there are so many other resorts for the same money or less that blow this place out of the water!

Room Tip: I would book the Executive Suite if you are looking to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel for 4 nights in early June. It was a lovely stay and I would recommend the hotel. Here are some things to keep in mind:

There are very few restaurants, bars, etc. within walking distance of the hotel. In fact, I wouldn't recommend leaving the hotel grounds on foot. You should plan to eat all your meals at the hotel or expect to pay $40+ for a round-trip taxi ride into Old San Juan. The food at the hotel is good, albeit pricey, but there are really only so many days one can eat burgers, chicken fingers, and fish tacos for lunch.

If you are awarded an upgrade while checking in, don't take this at face value. I had prepaid for a ocean-front room with balcony via Travelocity. At check-in, I was given an "upgrade" to a pool-view suite. When I complained about this "upgrade" the front desk admitted that there were no ocean-front rooms available. The situation was rectified to my satisfaction but I couldn't help but feel that they had tried to trick me into accepting a room of lesser quality than the one I had ALREADY paid for.

The beach is lovely and service is great. If you prefer to sit in the shade, like I do, snag some chairs under the palm trees. I noticed that if the weather was too windy, the staff would not put up umbrellas.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.