We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Ritz” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Motel Ritz”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Unfortunately this Ritz location is below par. Short staffed....service poor....restrooms unkept. Staff needs train.ING. yes you do give napkins and wipe tables. Have talked to other patrons all majorly disappointed. So disappointed. But weather perfect. One plus Pablo pool manager.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    526
    311
    125
    82
See reviews for
422
737
42
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I am looking for someone that can find something wrong here. This place was great and the staff is as excellent as they always have been. Great Job and keep it up. I was able to get the gym done in the morning and looked forward to the first class breakfast. There is no reason to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the balcony and you will be happy to wake each day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Can I please say one thing? Do not listen to any of the negative reviews for here! I read the reviews and was worried. I thought the ritz Carlton may be infested with bugs and that the whole building was about to fall apart. However My husband and I arrived Sunday and stayed until Tuesday. We then went to Fajardo. The staff at the ritz were so helpful especially a nice woman at the front desk, wish i remembered her name, went over our entire bill and made corrections where needed. We took a tour which we bought through our bank. I'm telling you do not take this tour. It's of the distillery,fort and of old san juan. It's basically paying for a cab ride. If you rent a car you will save so much more money. The beach at the ritz is beautiful. The breakfast buffet is great and corned beef hash is 100% real corned beef. I also loved that we were able to play tennis with no added fee. I can not wait to revisit this property. Oh and try the lobster sandwich.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from spending 6 days at the Ritz in San Juan and were very pleased with our stay. We were lucky enough to book our stay using Marriott points and received a modest room upgrade because of my husband's platinum status. (We were orginally assigned an airport view room, and were moved to a room overlooking the pool on a high floor.) The rooms are not as large or luxurious as some other Ritz hotels but they were nonetheless spacious and clean and more than met our expectations. The hotel's location minutes from the airport is very convenient and we did not notice any noise from arriving/departing planes. The staff are incredibly friendly. We were greeted with champagne as soon as we arrived and service at all of the restaurants and lounges, and even at the beach and pool, was efficient and pleasant, with the exception of one afternoon in the lobby bar. We ate at all of the restaurants on the property at some point and all were pricey, as you'd expect. BLT and Il Mulino are the most expensive, but we had nice meals at both and no trouble getting a seat at the bar when the latter restaurant was booked on a Saturday. We had a nice lunch at Mares and found it to be a better deal that the Ocean Grill (slightly better prices and more selection), and the Mares breakfast was fine but very crowded on the weekends and after 9:00. There are also some decent dining options within walking distance of the hotel and many in San Juan, so we had no trouble finding good and affordable food off-site, which we did for half of our meals. One simple but important detail to me was the bottled water provided in your room and near the front desk, along with the coolers of cold water spiked with orange or fresh fruit throughout the property. I so often find myself dehydrated on vacation and forgetting to buy, or not wanting to pay $5 in the hotel shop to buy, a bottle to keep on hand so this small touch was great. I had a pedicure and a massage at the spa and both were lovely. The hotel became quite crowded by Friday as a holiday weekend approached, but the hotel really staffed up to accomodate the crowds so we never felt overcrowded or overlooked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Everyone on staff was so kind, pleasant, and helpful. We felt warmly greeted from the moment we arrived and this continued throughout our stay. The pool is beautiful with statues of lions spitting water into the pool. The beach is calm and warm, no waves to speak of. The BLT Steakhouse and Il Mulino Italian restaurant were both wonderful. The breakfast was great. The only place we did not enjoy was the pool bar. The food was not good and they have plastic windows up so you don't feel like you are at the beach. We prefer an open beach bar. Another odd thing is that the pool opens at 5:30 a.m. Who gets up at 5:30 on their vacation? And, it closes at 6:00 p.m., way too early. Beach bar also closes at 6:00. However, the lobby bar is wonderful and the rooms are very nice, too. We had the city view and it was lovely. Very close to the airport. Would definitely stay again. We did go to La Concha o e evening for dinner and their waves are rocking on their strip of beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great pool and staff. Very attentive for drink service pool side. The beach staff was great as well but the beach itself leaves a little to be desired. Walking distance to many great restaurants which makes it nice. Great get away from just the wife and I, would not bring the kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel to get away for his 50th. We had a wonderful time, first off we arrived around 5:30 in the morning and they were able to give us a room until ours was ready which was very nice, it is very convenient from the airport and we found the neighborhood safe for venturing out, we usually went out to breakfast and would walk around early in the morning and people in the neighborhood were friendly, we also went out one evening and I didn't feel unsafe walking to a nearby restaurant. At the resort itself, yes the food, drinks, etc are expensive but honestly even at other nearby less expensive resorts it is about the same. Not a huge fan of the additional hotel fee $90 per day they should just roll that into the price instead of surprising people with it at the end, I knew about it in advance so not a shock but it did keep me from upgrading my room knowing about it ahead of time. BLT steakhouse was top notch. The employees we encountered were always polite, willing to help and each was nicer then the last. We walked the beach and it is immediately noticeable that the beachfront on the Ritz property is well cared for in comparison to the surrounding resorts. Only two things that are by no means a complaint but more of something that would have enhanced my personal experience, I wish they had some nice tropical music or maybe even some live music on the beach for a few hours in the afternoon, its lovely and peaceful but some soft music would have been a nice addition and some sort of nightlife at the resort aside from the lobby band and casino, there was a private function going on near the beach one night and had that been a night club I think it would have been filled with people like us looking for something fun to do without having to leave to go find it. Beach fare food was tasty and not having to leave the beach to eat or get drinks was exactly what we wanted, nothing like relaxing in the sun and having it delivered to you, it was busier on Saturday and they could probably use a few more waiters, our waiter on Friday Will was a gem, such a great guy and on Saturday Juan was also so calm and nice despite trying to accommodate a packed beach. Another great perk is that you can order food from any of the restaurants on site and they would deliver where-ever you choose to eat, meaning if we wanted to eat from BLT by the pool we could. We only stayed for a weekend but I would absolutely love to return and stay at the Ritz again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 9th floor with a pool view and partial ocean view, nothing special really but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.